Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does this sound dodgy?

• 22-06-2011 11:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭

Hey all,

Currently selling my car, and yesterday I had 2 guys call over to view it. They seemed like sound lads, I drove the car out of the underground car park to meet them. All they did was pop the bonnet, checked one or two small things, and without even test driving it they paid me a deposit.

Im due to meet the guy today to collect the full payment and hand the car over to him. He's going to call me with the location at which to meet him.

Now the car is immaculate, spotless inside and out, full dealer service history etc etc, but I was shocked when he didn't even take it for a test drive. He literally decided in 5 minutes and paid me a deposit.

This is the first time I will have sold a car privately.

Obviously I will have to be very wary of the meeting location but does this whole thing sound a bit dodgy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I tend to know by the time I get within five feet of it whether i'm going to buy a car or not, but i'd still do all the checks. Are they paying cash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭PaddyFagan

Hi

It does sound a little iffy, but not unbeliveable either. I'd suggest that you try and meet near a bank (outside!) and lodge to cash straight away so a) you know it's not funny money! and b) you're not a risk of a mugging shortly afterwards....

Paddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Not necessarily dodgy
    Quandary wrote: »
    Hey all,

Im due to meet the guy today to collect the full payment and hand the car over to him. He's going to call me with the location at which to meet him.

^ But this is the bit to be alert to. Meet in a public place which is likely to have people around, bring at least one person with you.

If you're expecting to receive cash it is no harm to invest in one of those pens that react to counterfeits.

If you're receiving a draft meet near an appropriate bank to confirm its authenticity.

If you're receiving a cheque - well...just don't do that !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Hey all,

Currently selling my car, and yesterday I had 2 guys call over to view it. They seemed like sound lads, I drove the car out of the underground car park to meet them. All they did was pop the bonnet, checked one or two small things, and without even test driving it they paid me a deposit.

Now the car is immaculate, spotless inside and out, full dealer service history etc etc, but I was shocked when he didn't even take it for a test drive. He literally decided in 5 minutes and paid me a deposit.

This is the first time I will have sold a car privately.

Obviously I will have to be very wary of the meeting location but does this whole thing sound a bit dodgy?

If he is the buyer then he should be meeting you at a location of your choice. You don't know this person from adam so for piece of mind i would bring along at least two other people or even one if you can, do not go alone. Honestly though if it was me i wouldn't be meeting him anywhere, if he wants the car that badly then he can come back to yours and collect it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭Quandary

My thoughts exactly Paddy.

I almost had the car sold to another buyer but he was unable to give me a definite answer until today. When I told this lad the other buyer would be deciding today he said he'd pay me the deposit straight up to hold it for him. Obviously I accepted (bird in the hand and all that).

I also have a pen to check counterfeit notes, so all should be grand there.

Any other precautions I need to be taking here?

I'm probably just being paranoid, but better safe than sorry

Anan1 wrote: »
    I tend to know by the time I get within five feet of it whether i'm going to buy a car or not, but i'd still do all the checks. Are they paying cash?

Yep, I think cash is the payment method.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

PaddyFagan wrote: »
    Hi

It does sound a little iffy, but not unbeliveable either. I'd suggest that you try and meet near a bank (outside!) and lodge to cash straight away so a) you know it's not funny money! and b) you're not a risk of a mugging shortly afterwards....

Paddy
    Have a mate that always does that every time he sells a car, buyer has never had a problem meeting at the bank and lodging the cash.

I think this is the safest option to go with alright.

I wont have anybody with me when meeting him so I'm far better off to do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Be careful some of the counterfeit notes can escape the pen test. And make 100% certain you meet in a very public location. Outside a bank where you can lodge the money is a good one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭brian2me

Pens are not fool proof, there are very easy physical tests on notes security measures which can be done (such as the Braille features). Check on-line for these, but as stated previously if the transaction can be done at a bank where you can lodge the money before handing over the keys.

Years ago I met a lad in a shopping centre car park, he had a quick peak at the car and agreed to buy it (€3500). Agreed to meet there a few days later to actually sell it to him. I was thinking it was well weird as he hadn't test driven it and also didn't even want to go for a spin in it.

All went well though :)

I wouldn't be too keen on meeting someone at a place they nominate though so I would be cautious enough if I was you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

Another thing to bear in mind is the amount in cash you are receiving. There are rules and regulations in amounts over €5k. For example, if you lodge that amount and over in your bank account, you could be asked for receipts etc.

If you are happy with the deal, make sure you get them to sign the appropriate documentation for transfer of the car. I would type up a receipt, if I were you and get them to sign it and get an address.

Definitely, bring someone with you.

dont give any sort of reciept!

No? Why not?

Yep, I think cash is the payment method.
    Meet the buyer at a branch of your bank and lodge the cash straight into your account so.
    You really think a buyer will or should pay cash for a car without getting a receipt?

If anything happened they could say you are a dealer sure look he gave me a reciept and everything! you could however get him to sign a note stating the date and time ie. i joe blogs bought toyota @ 13.30 on 1/1/11.

You will have his adderss and name on the log book which you have to post off after the sale

Meet the buyer at a branch of your bank and lodge the cash straight into your account so.You really think a buyer will or should pay cash for a car without getting a receipt?

Actually, is it my legal responsibility to provide the buyer with a receipt?

I wasn't aware of this. I thought I just get him to sign his name and address on the back of the VRC and then this gets posted to the dept of transport?

No legal responsibility to give any sort of reciept

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭bastados

Bring a friend if you're a bit nervous otherwise people buy cars like that everyday....esp young people.

If anything happened they could say you are a dealer sure look he gave me a reciept and everything! you could however get him to sign a note stating the date and time ie. i joe blogs bought toyota @ 13.30 on 1/1/11.

You will have his adderss and name on the log book which you have to post off after the sale
    That holds no water, private individuals issue receipts all the time. The buyer will quite reasonably want a receipt for cash, as otherwise they'd have no proof whatsoever that they'd paid the OP for the car. Your advice is setting the OP up to be told to fvck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

BS!

What's to stop a seller reporting a car as stolen?

Every buyer should demand a receipt and any honest seller will provide one.

(What's a "receipt and everything!" ?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

I think they like car ,this [SNIP SNIP] dodgy.They pay you cash or cheque.so it is safest to.

Wow!!! Ninja spammer ;)

That holds no water, private individuals issue receipts all the time. The buyer will quite reasonably want a receipt for cash, as otherwise they'd have no proof whatsoever that they'd paid the OP for the car. Your advice is setting the OP up to be told to fvck off.
    Not really, i never give a reciept for cars i sell and never ask for one ether if i buy unless from a dealer. in fact i dont think iv ever been asked for a reciept for anything iv ever sold privatly! no probelm with a note saying he bought the car at such a time from me in fact that came in handy when i got an eflow bill from the last car i sold.

If you were paying cash, wouldn't you want a receipt? Otherwise you could just bin the old VLC, apply for a replacement, and deny that the whole transaction had ever taken place. So far, it sounds like your buyer has been very straight with you. I'd take all reasonable steps to protect yourself (ie lodge the cash before releasing the car), but you need to take the seller's reasonable concerns into account too. A good sale is where both parties feel that they've been treated fairly.

If anything happened they could say you are a dealer sure look he gave me a reciept and everything!

Riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight...no actually that's nonsense, presuming you arn't a dealer. The main indicator of being a car dealer is dealing in cars. Not issuing receipts.
    you could however get him to sign a note stating the date and time ie. i joe blogs bought toyota @ 13.30 on 1/1/11.

The technical term for this document is a 'receipt'.

Although it should also refer to the amount of money paid. And it should also say 'car is sold as is and buyer has inspected same and been given the opportunity to have same inspected on their behalf'.

Would you prefer him to be in a position to say untruthfully that he gave you twice as much as he did for a car which you promised was in perfect working order failing which you would refund his money or take care of any repairs necessary within the first 12 months of ownership ?

To be fair im not really nervous, just cautious as its the first time i've sold privately. I don't want the buyer to feel uncomfortable either so i'm trying to set it up so that it suits both parties.

Unfortunately, I'm a bit of a billynomates today so I have to meet the buyer on my own. This doesn't bother me too much though.

If ye don't hear from me by 5 or 6 this evening, just assume i've been stuffed into the boot of my own car while the perp speeds towards the Wicklow mountains to bury my body :D

If you have to meet on your own park the thing a decently short walk away, meet him with the keys, take the money/draft and check it out, then give him the key when you're happy and walk him to the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭garhjw

if he is paying cash, arrange to meet him at a bank during business hours and lodge the cash to your account. you will then have confirmation from the bank the notes are genuine......

Ok, just did up simple statement of sale stating I agreed to sell the car reg XXXXXXXX to the below buyer on the specified date.

Signature of buyer__________________

Signature of seller__________________

that should keep everyone involved happy. I get him to sign the VRC, send it off to dept of transport and we're all done.

Also, I just arranged to meet him at a nearby AIB branch which he agreed to,so in fairness to him, my paranoia is looking a bit misplaced.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Also, I just arranged to meet him at a nearby AIB branch which he agreed to,so in fairness to him, my paranoia is looking a bit misplaced.

Nah, there going to use your motor as a getaway from the bank job they have planned :pac:

Seriously tho', you can never be too careful so think nothing of questioning the sale. I'd say its common enough for someone to get a rush from having a confirmed sale with potential cash in hand and this can make people lax.

I suppose theres nothing like a healthy smattering of

Paranoid.jpg

Ok, just did up simple statement of sale stating I agreed to sell the car reg XXXXXXXX to the below buyer on the specified date.

Signature of buyer__________________

Signature of seller__________________

that should keep everyone involved happy. I get him to sign the VRC, send it off to dept of transport and we're all done.

Sounds good to me. I always put something like 'Car sold as tried & tested, no warranty given or implied' on the receipt too, although the odd person here has advised against that. I would, however, make it clear at the time of sale that your responsibility ends when he drives off in the car. You'd be surprised at the amount of people who'd think that it's your fault if something falls off the car in a week or a month's time - better, IMO, to be clear on that right from the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The problem as I see it is the VLC needs to be signed so you will have this with you along with everything else you are giving to the new owner like 2nd key and servicd books and as such the perfect time to steal the car from you as a potential resale of your car will be easy for them. Having said that someone could just wait at their local NCT centre and could be sure every single driver their has the VLC with them. Id meet at a public place during daylight and if possible at s location of you rd choosing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

If ye don't hear from me by 5 or 6 this evening, just assume i've been stuffed into the boot of my own car while the perp speeds towards the Wicklow mountains to bury my body :D

Now might be a good time to check all those posts you wrote and see if there's any embarrassing ones in there...you know..just when we're doing up the RIP Quandary thread that your family don't find anything embarrassing.
    Also any last words? Something wordly etc

There's an interesting discussion in the feedback forum on it

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056304156

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

If i ever sell a car privately, i will meet them in a gardai station carpark :)

Ok folks,

back in one piece, sale went fine. Got the money and checked with the counterfeit pen. All sound as a bell

No problems!......................... until next time :cool:

phill106 wrote: »
    If i ever sell a car privately, i will meet them in a gardai station carpark :)
    There's an awful lot of needless anxiety going around here - I've bought and sold many cars over the years, almost all of them from either my or the seller's kitchen table.:)

Ok folks,

back in one piece, sale went fine. Got the money and checked with the counterfeit pen. All sound as a bell

Great! Just one question to tie up loose ends............did you issue a receipt? Just as a point of interest for those of us who may be going down the same route as yourself in the future?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Ok folks,

Or else they got your login details before dropping you off in the mountains.

robbie7730 wrote: »
    Or else they got your login details before dropping you off in the mountains.

:D they tried, the dastards but I said I'd die before compromising the security of Boards! They were so impressed with my steely resolve that they let me go!
    suitseir wrote: »
    Great! Just one question to tie up loose ends............did you issue a receipt? Just as a point of interest for those of us who may be going down the same route as yourself in the future?:)

I wouldn't call it a receipt per se. Just a simple typed statement with todays date saying that I had agreed to transfer the ownership of the vehicle into the buyers name. We both signed the document.

The buyer seemed happy out with it. I also filled out the VRC with the new owners details after he signed it. This will be swiftly posted tomorrow to ensure I don't get penalty points, because if the new guy is heavy footed then the first few months will be spent racking them up.

All in all, twas a smooth transaction. The buyer got himself a great car, which I am sorry to see go if truth be told, and I got a quick clean sale.