Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are weddings bad for your health?

• 21-06-2011 9:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭

any wedding invited or hear about usually something bad happens at last moment or at the after meal,then couple can barely afford to get married,or the mother or father in law might not agree on who their sons and daughters are marrying..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Remind me not to invite or tell you about my wedding......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Wut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

Why?
    Is it a shotgun wedding?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Has anyone really been far as decided to use even go want to do look more like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

just heard on the news on newstalk that the average price of a wedding in ireland last year was 29k. bad for your health alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

I go even yet married no time when settled ending divorce not yet hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I cant imagine drinking 6 pints, 4 glasses of champagne, 4 shots jeigermeister and having unsafe sex with a bridesmaid is too healthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I cant imagine drinking 6 pints, 4 glasses of champagne, 4 shots jeigermeister and having unsafe sex with a bridesmaid is too healthy.

Find a cleaner bridesmaid and you'll be fine :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭greenybaby

A wedding is what you make it, price is usually 75 - 90% covered by gifts anyway, my uncles wedding cost them just over 20k but they got 18k in gifts(both money and gifts that couls be sold :rolleyes:) so not a bad result in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

...especially if you're the groom....

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

jd007 wrote: »
    Has anyone really been far as decided to use even go want to do look more like?

Selection of random words causes eyes to bleed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Im getting married in just over 3 weeks.

Thanks for the thread.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

greenybaby wrote: »
    A wedding is what you make it, price is usually 75 - 90% covered by gifts anyway, my uncles wedding cost them just over 20k but they got 18k in gifts(both money and gifts that couls be sold :rolleyes:) so not a bad result in my opinion

Classy.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Not nearly as bad for your health as actually being married

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I didn't have any grey hairs before i got married.

stevejr wrote: »
    Classy.....

meaning? don't post half arsed posts and expect people to know what you actually mean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

I imagine that would be for the selling gifts part.
    Now that's bad form if if someone puts some thought into a gift for you it should be appreciated and not sold on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

just heard on the news on newstalk that the average price of a wedding in ireland last year was 29k. bad for your health alright!

LAST year?? What the feck used it cost during the 'boom'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Daegerty wrote: »
    Not nearly as bad for your health as actually being married

Apparently, according to some survey I read married people are more content and healthier than unmarried people - I can't remember where I read it though, and I can't remember if married people were healthier than people in relationships but who weren't married or single people - so lets face it. I'm vague on the details here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

Luxie wrote: »
    LAST year?? What the feck used it cost during the 'boom'?
    Our wedding last year for 90 people came in at about 8 grand in total.
    Helped alot to have it during the week, saved money by having it the day before Paddy's day to minimise the amount of time people had to take off
    Was a really good day, had a blast as did everyone else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

One of my best friends over here is getting married on St.Patrick’s day and I’m going to be the only Irish person at the wedding. A free bar on St.Patrick’s day is defiantly going to be bad for my health!

red menace wrote: »
    I imagine that would be for the selling gifts part.
    Now that's bad form if if someone puts some thought into a gift for you it should be appreciated and not sold on

ok got it, but i mearly meant gifts can be sold,let's say you got a duplicate gift of, for arguments sake, a microwave, would you keep 2? no. did not say they actually sold any, just pointing out the fact that you don't really have to be out that much money with weddings if you keep them small and simple as you get it back in money/unwanted gifts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Weddings.....bad for your wallet and your health. Irish wedding are just very expensive piss ups.(savage craic though!)

Weddings are just raves for adults with less ecstasy and more bad dancing.

heard that only a few hours ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Shivers26

Currently planning my own wedding, also I'm a bridesmaid in 2 weddings this August. Never been so stressed in my life.
    Our wedding is coming in around the €17k mark.... fupping madness! I wanted to go to Spain and do it cheap but himself wanted his day out

meaning? don't post half arsed posts and expect people to know what you actually mean

Meaning don't post full-arsed posts expressing the opinion that a wedding is some type of business venture.

No offence intended but since you took it that way; I meant it that way.

ok got it, but i mearly meant gifts can be sold,let's say you got a duplicate gift of, for arguments sake, a microwave, would you keep 2? no. did not say they actually sold any, just pointing out the fact that you don't really have to be out that much money with weddings if you keep them small and simple as you get it back in money/unwanted gifts

But that's not what you really meant is it?

Backtrack if you want but try to be believable when you do it. No-one could realistically hope to hope to recoup the cost of a wedding (even partially) by selling thier duplicate gifts.

It's an unrealistic statement considering what you said earlier:

A wedding is what you make it, price is usually 75 - 90% covered by gifts anyway, my uncles wedding cost them just over 20k but they got 18k in gifts(both money and gifts that couls be sold rolleyes.gif) so not a bad result in my opinion

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

If you're female, wedding rings have a serious negative effect on the libido. I think it's metal poisoning or something, accumulates after the first year or two.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

If you're female, wedding rings have a serious negative effect on the libido. I think it's metal poisoning or something, accumulates after the first year or two.

NTM

nah, they just become less impressive and shiny looking. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Selection of random words causes eyes to bleed

As does the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

I don't see the big deal about marriage myself, moving in together or having a kid are much bigger steps to take.

How true is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

galwayrush wrote: »
    I didn't have any grey hairs before i got married.

I didn't have grey hairs before I had kids. :pac:

stevejr wrote: »
    But that's not what you really meant is it?

Backtrack if you want but try to be believable when you do it. No-one could realistically hope to hope to recoup the cost of a wedding (even partially) by selling thier duplicate gifts.

It's an unrealistic statement considering what you said earlier:

A wedding is what you make it, price is usually 75 - 90% covered by gifts anyway, my uncles wedding cost them just over 20k but they got 18k in gifts(both money and gifts that couls be sold rolleyes.gif) so not a bad result in my opinion

not backtracking at all, as i stated in my first post gift that could be sold not gifts that WERE sold, i shall ask him to list what they received in money shall i??? now i am sorry if you can't tell the difference between the two, i have no reason to lie about it, but in saying that it's the internet, do i care if you believe me? not in the slightest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

not backtracking at all, as i stated in my first post gift that could be sold not gifts that WERE sold, i shall ask him to list what they received in money shall i??? now i am sorry if you can't tell the difference between the two, i have no reason to lie about it, but in saying that it's the internet, do i care if you believe me? not in the slightest!

Being angry on the internet at this hour of the morning is bad for your health. Its not a good way to start the day. Smile and ignore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

I haven't been to a wedding in years :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

watna wrote: »
    Apparently, according to some survey I read married people are more content and healthier than unmarried people - I can't remember where I read it though, and I can't remember if married people were healthier than people in relationships but who weren't married or single people - so lets face it. I'm vague on the details here!

Wait until the divorce bill arrives!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Why does a bride smile when she's walking down the aisle?

She knows she's given her last blow-job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Ticktactoe

A wedding is what you make of it and what you spend on it.
    Whether its good or bad for your health depends on how you want to react to it ;)

Thanks for clearing that up for me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Weddings are definately bad for my health. For some reason I always come down with a bad flu a few days before one...;)

I hate weddings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

I love weddings, gonna be a bridesmaid for the 2nd time in 2013 :D

As they say always the bridesmaid never the bride :rolleyes: