Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stealer Dealers

• 21-06-2011 8:09pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 84 ✭✭

They've managed to sum up an hour long show in about 100 words! :D

Linky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

100 pointless words? Wasn't funny, or relevant ... I'm confused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

100 pointless words? Wasn't funny, or relevant ... I'm confused.

So am I..:confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 84 ✭✭magunkey

Much as satire should never need explaining...it pretty much sums up the fact the Mike Brewer and Ed China lost money on every "classic" car they "kept on the road" if they factored in the labour cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Well that was crap.

And still manages not to be funny. At all.

And the reason they don't factor labour in (For the umpteenth time on here) is that they get paid a wage from the show, and the show's supposed to be akin to you or I buying a car in need of TLC and doing it up. You or I wouldn't charge labour either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

magunkey wrote: »

Linky

I want 2 minutes of my life back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

its just a show, it isnt meant to be a documentary of a real business. Just take it on face value and enjoy it or dont watch. Its probably quite informative for a beginner and if it encourages people to have a go themselves, then thats good

And still manages not to be funny. At all.

And the reason they don't factor labour in (For the umpteenth time on here) is that they get paid a wage from the show, and the show's supposed to be akin to you or I buying a car in need of TLC and doing it up. You or I wouldn't charge labour either.

Spollocks! The show proports to be a reality based buy em cheap, do em up, sell em for a profit proposition.

Like it or not, that's the premise, even though we all see through it.

Yeah ... and they do make a profit most of the time. Sometimes it's 1 pound, sometimes it's a thousand. Your point is?

Honestly....what part of the word profit don't you understand?

(Profit: The difference between the purchase price and the costs of bringing to market.)

So let me get this straight. They buy a car for x. Repair it for x+y. Sell it for z. If z is more than x+y, they make profit. Which is pretty much what happens on every show. They only made a loss on one IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Feck it everyone knows that they don't factor in the labour. It's still a very entertaining show, I wouldn't be too harsh on it. Ed does so most of the labour himself anyway so if you were as handy as him you could probably turn a bit of profit yourself. They're hardly going to clock up 90 hours labour per show and make thousands of pounds loss every week. That'd be no fun!

So let me get this straight. They buy a car for x. Repair it for x+y. Sell it for z. If z is more than x+y, they make profit. Which is pretty much what happens on every show. They only made a loss on one IIRC.

Lets say X is the cost price.

Y is the cost of the parts.

Z is the resale value.

If X & Y add up to less than Z then you make a profit.

But then you need to factor in W.

W is the cost of labour. An average mechanic will charge about €50.00 an hour. Not Ed tho. Ed could probably charge €250.00 an hour and get it.

So say Ed spends an average working week on your cheap Interceptor. He's a mate and charges you €50.00 per hour. That's 2K.

All of a sudden you need 2K more to make a profit on your rusty, no aircon "classic" Interceptor.

But wait, that's exactly why all the other cars Mike looked at were TOO expensive. So he bought a pony, did a half arsed job, excluded the labour cost and told you that he made a profit.

If you think they made a REALITY penny on any car they sold you're in LA LA land.

BTW: It is TV, so all profits from Discovery commissioning the series are excluded from the debate.

Maybe you've missed it the few times myself and others have posted it above, but the show doesn't include labour. It's two lads in a shed doing up cars. It's meant to be a tongue in cheek representation of maybe two lads who are handy with cars making a few quid on the side. It's not a representation of a garage who charges labour. They do up one car at a time, like 2 lads in a shed would, not 5 cars a week like a garage would. If you bought a Yaris tomorrow which needed an oil service and new bumpers for 500, did the service at home on your drive and spent maybe 250 on used parts and service parts and sold it on 3 days later for a grand, you'd be a happy man. You wouldn't say 'well, I spend 4.3 hours doing the bodywork, and 90 minutes doing the service at 50 euro an hour' - amateur blokes doing that sort of handy spanner work don't charge labour. They just put the time in as a hobby.

It's the most tired argument I've come across, and done to death. It's nearly as depressing having to discuss this again as the 3 minutes I lost reading the terrible attempt at humour you posted at the start of the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Most people come home from work and scratch their bollix and watch **** on TV.

You could use the designated Bollix scratching time to "do up" a car (if you have the skills, IMO there are ALOT of very talented lads with cars who are no mechanics).

Since Bollix scratching time isnt generating money, you could write this time off, and use it to make money, this is where the labour cost goes.

What gob****e buys a car and gets somebody else to fix it, and expects to make a profit?

Why cant people grasp this?

3 minutes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

magunkey wrote: »

Linky

Jesus that site is absolutely Godawful. Whoever threw good money after bad registering the domain and paying site designers in order to churn out that crap should be embarrassed.