Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Park hit n run help

• 21-06-2011 7:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭

Hey,

I parked my car in a shopping center car park, there was no one parked either side of me, anyway, came out 10 mins later and there was a deccent enough dent and scrapes, and white paint marks (its a bluey colour car).
    I'm gutted cause its a new car, I had a look around the car park and there was a white car with scratches on its rear bumper, the same height as the damage on my car, and parked a few spaces up. So i took its reg as I had a gut felling. I went into the shopping center and talked with security to see if any cameras were pointing that way, but no luck.
    So now I'm left with a nasty dent and scrapes on my front drivers side wheel arch, so I get to look at it everytime I get in the car, nice...:mad:

Is there any point going to the gaurds, as I'm sure theres nothing they could do, no video, 5% chance someone saw anything as I'd say whoever just reversed into a space, hit my car, and just went f**k and drove out and parked a few spaces away.

Whats the best way to go about sorting this, before the corrosion starts kicking in.

Will I lose my no claims bonus?
    Will I go to the gaurds, if I robbed a couple a hundred euro I'm sure they'd be hunting me down, so why not in a situation like this.

What would guys do, or what have ye done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

Most likely not a lot. Sorry to hear about the damage its a bitch when it happens. The garda will take some details but won't pursue any further without any leads.

Pm paint doctor he's good at repairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

It's very very annoying. I'm almost afraid to park in car parks anymore. Don't go near your insurance company. Worst case is to repair and paint the arch. Shouldn't be too expensive at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Why didn't you call the guards straight away to come over and check with the other driver if he didn't do it?

If he really done it, when he comes out of supermarket and there's a gards waiting for him asking if he done it, I can't really believe he wouldn't confess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Ring the Gardaí immediately with the reg of the other car - they can take paint samples from both cars and see if they match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭BornToBe?

CiniO wrote: »
    Why didn't you call the guards straight away to come over and check with the other driver if he didn't do it?

If he really done it, when he comes out of supermarket and there's a gards waiting for him asking if he done it, I can't really believe he wouldn't confess.

I was thinkin the same thing, but anytime I ever had to call the gaurds, even with a guy lyin in a pool of blood, it was well over half an hour, it's just how quick do ya think they'd call out to a situation like that, I wish I called and they were doin nothin in the area and were straight over. I said the same thing " that they'd confess if the gaurds were standing behind there car " to the security gaurd but the car was gone by then, I took the reg tho, so the gaurds could still check up on it, that was my justification in my mind for not doing it straight away, and doing my own investigation.

I know its possible to take paint samples, but unless the car was involved in a fatal accident, I'd doubt they go to the effort or cost, unless I rang " Joe Duffy" with the gaurds are doin nothin!!

The panel on the arch was dented and scrapped but they also caught the bumper too, so its a 2 panel job, not that cheap, and its like, why do i gotta pay a couple of hundred quid that I don't have, cause someone else can't drive, and to make it worse, the gaurds wouldn't even bother wasting there time.

Well, at least I know somethin out of this, that If I ever backed into someones car, I'd leave a note to contact me, and sort it out for them, I'd hold my hand up and say, My bad, sorry, Such a small but ****ty thing to do to someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭BigCon

Anan1 wrote: »
    Ring the Gardaí immediately with the reg of the other car - they can take paint samples from both cars and see if they match.

Haaaaaaaaaaahaaaaaaaaaa :D
    That's the best laugh I had all day. I'm assuming you're joking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

BornToBe? wrote: »
    I was thinkin the same thing, but anytime I ever had to call the gaurds, even with a guy lyin in a pool of blood, it was well over half an hour, it's just how quick do ya think they'd call out to a situation like that, I wish I called and they were doin nothin in the area and were straight over. I said the same thing " that they'd confess if the gaurds were standing behind there car " to the security gaurd but the car was gone by then, I took the reg tho, so the gaurds could still check up on it, that was my justification in my mind for not doing it straight away, and doing my own investigation.

I know its possible to take paint samples, but unless the car was involved in a fatal accident, I'd doubt they go to the effort or cost, unless I rang " Joe Duffy" with the gaurds are doin nothin!!

The panel on the arch was dented and scrapped but they also caught the bumper too, so its a 2 panel job, not that cheap, and its like, why do i gotta pay a couple of hundred quid that I don't have, cause someone else can't drive, and to make it worse, the gaurds wouldn't even bother wasting there time.

Well, at least I know somethin out of this, that If I ever backed into someones car, I'd leave a note to contact me, and sort it out for them, I'd hold my hand up and say, My bad, sorry, Such a small but ****ty thing to do to someone.

To be fair you didn't exactly make any effort. You didn't call the guards, you didn't wait for the other driver and confront them... Did you take pictures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

BigCon wrote: »

What's so funny about it.
    That should be the normal procedure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

dont be daft, the gards wont waste time doing that, and in any case ,there will be thousands of cars that would match the paint sample.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Watching way too much tv. A phone call would end up in a 2+ hour wait, with much arse scratching when they get there if they get there.

Never had your car smashed up proper and seen the speedy response and resolution?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

corktina wrote: »
    dont be daft, the gards wont waste time doing that, and in any case ,there will be thousands of cars that would match the paint sample.

Yes but there would be likely paint matching the OPs car on the suspected one as well, an unlikely scenario except if that did hit the OPs car.

But even if they could do that, it would have to involve someone being killed before they would even bother thinking about that, not a scratched/dented car in the car park.

BigCon wrote: »
    corktina wrote: »

Watching way too much tv. A phone call would end up in a 2+ hour wait, with much arse scratching when they get there if they get there.

Never had your car smashed up proper and seen the speedy response and resolution?
    I don't know how you lot relate to the Gardaí, but they're generally pretty helpful to me. My mother had her car marked by another car once and the Gardaí came out and took paint samples from both cars. They then had a word with the offending party, who promptly paid up. Of course sometimes people prefer to whine and moan than to help fix things, if that's your bag then don't mind me.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

I don't know how you lot relate to the Gardaí, but they're generally pretty helpful to me. My mother had her car marked by another car once and the Gardaí came out and took paint samples from both cars. They then had a word with the offending party, who promptly paid up. Of course sometimes people prefer to whine and moan than to help fix things, if that's your bag then don't mind me.;)

If the other person had denied it was them, it would have gone nowhere. You happened to get a clever gardai promptly who was smart. Rare enough to find.

Gardaí are people, and they respond to attitude in much the same manner as anyone else. Go in with a bitchy head on you and they're most likely not going to pull out all the stops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭BornToBe?

gpf101 wrote: »
    To be fair you didn't exactly make any effort. You didn't call the guards, you didn't wait for the other driver and confront them... Did you take pictures?

I did wait around and searched the area for cameras and after awhile went to the security and talked to him, we walked out to the car by then, the other car was gone, and read my post, it explains why I didn't call the guards straight away,

and you can't just go up to someone and start accusing them with circumstancle evidence, even if you did, they're natural reaction would be to deny it, defence mechanism,

I was thinking of sticking up a few posters around the car park and offering a reward for any witnesses, if someone gets back to me with a description of the car, and it matches the one I think it is that I have the reg, then I'll have details and a witness, then I can give the gaurds something to work off, and maybe whoever might feel guilty and contact me. Prob the only thing I can do.

BornToBe? wrote: »
    I was thinking of sticking up a few posters around the car park and offering a reward for any witnesses, if someone gets back to me with a description of the car, and it matches the one I think it is that I have the reg, then I'll have details and a witness, then I can give the gaurds something to work off, and maybe whoever might feel guilty and contact me. Prob the only thing I can do.
    Look, you have the reg of the car you think hit yours, and you think that your paint is on their car and theirs is on yours. Stop faffing around with talk of posters and call the Gardaí!