Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does it bother you when others break the law?

• 21-06-2011 6:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭

For me it doesn't, unless someone is being murdered, robbed or getting the sh1t kicked out of them I coulsn't really give a toss. The law has been expanded a lot in recent decades to cover a lot of mostly victimless crimes.

Even if someone does somethign illegal that is a minor inconvenience to me (like blocking my driveway) I quickly forget about it and move on rather than waste my time complaining to Joe or ringing the guards about it.

In particular I have a lax attitude towards things like
    -Tax evasion
    -Selling drugs
    -Gun ownership
    -Various safety & environment related laws
    -Laws to regulate the internet (against hacking, "illegal downloading")
    -Traffic/car law, like driving without NCT or insurance, drink driving, speeding

Drink driving is a strange one although you are statistically more likely to kill someone while doing that, if you sit down infront of a bunch of people and say 'yeah I had 4 pints but I felt alright and I wasn't far from home so I chanced it' they are unlikely to say anything to you. But post it in the Motors forum on boards.ie and they'll get on the high horse and tear into you like you're the worst person in the world.

I don't really feel the need to do any of these bad things myself so its not out of being rebellious but just that I realise a lot of laws exist to appease a certain group of people or the EU or out of political correctness that a Government can't be seen vouching for certain behaviour so something needs to be done about it. I always remember a blog post from a few years ago that sums things up fairly well
    June 1st, 2007 Welcome to our latest law in a long stream of idiotic laws.
    It is now illegal to buy or sell packs of ten cigarettes. Even those shops that still have packs of ten in stock can’t sell them. So any child who used to but a 10 pack will now buy a 20 pack instead.
    Congratulations legislators, on your incredible bid to increase under-age smoking.
    This law ranks up there with the law that bans the burning of wood in a garden, yet you can get a grant to install a wood burning stove in the house!!!!
    Fifty years ago, I was unaware of the law in the course of my daily life. I was aware that there were laws about theft and damage to property. And of course, murder was frowned upon. But as I was brought up not to kill, steal or vandalise, these laws didn’t bother me.
    There was the time I trespassed to collect conkers: the police just reminded me that it was private property, and that I should ask permission first. That was the way it was. If you broke the law, you were given a rap on the knuckles. Unless of course it was a really serious offence.
    In our day to day lives, we cycled without helmets. We roller-skated without protective clothing. If we went boating, we never bothered with floatation jackets. We could buy a single cigarette. The only place I remember smoking being prohibited was downstairs on the bus.
    We saw the law as something serious, but it was for criminals. The rest of us respected one another and if we harmed ourselves, that was our problem.
    Now there is legislation governing just about every aspect of our lives. And what’s worse, the authorities are determined to catch us out. They install speed traps, closed circuit cameras and smoke detectors. They deliberately set out to catch people breaking laws. The law is no longer there to protect – it is there to control.
    As a result, the man in the street [like me] feels like he can’t be trusted. He is being treated like a child and every move is being watched ‘for his own good’. And it is in the nature of the child to rebel, and to push the boundaries.
    I am a citizen of this state and as such I am entitled to my liberties. And those liberties include the right to make my own mistakes, and to harm myself, provided of course, I am not harming others.
    Doubtless they will bring in legislation at some stage to outlaw unprotected sex or the use of DIY tools. Maybe a law prohibiting the wearing of shoes with the laces undone? Or the amount to food we can eat? Where does it stop?
    The child in me is rebelling. I give two fingers to a lot of the laws because they are trying to control me, not protect me. I am old enough to know myself what is good and what is bad.
    I know it will only get worse. The government wants to control the people and there is little I can do about it.
    I will continue to object.
    Until blogs become illegal of course.
    (source)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 airyChinesekid

hmmm slight sense of sarcasm detected

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

If it bothered me I'd have a massive problem living in most places in Ireland let alone Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Daegerty wrote: »

-Tax evasion
    -Selling drugs
    -Gun ownership
    -Various safety & environment related laws
    -Laws to regulate the internet (against hacking, "illegal downloading")
    -Traffic/car law, like driving without NCT or insurance, drink driving, speeding

Tax evasion - Im for it, Motor tax in particular!

Selling drugs - if they didnt sell them, I wouldnt have them, so im for it as long as "the man" says i cant buy them in a shop.

gun ownership - Not sure how owning a gun is breaking the law?? licencing is bang on here.

Environmental laws - I burn rubbish and cut turf, the e.p.a can eat my ass.

Internet laws - Depends on what the hackers are messing with.

Traffic/Car laws - Hmmm... I think you're starting to troll here, insurance is a good law, insurance companies and their extortionate premiums is the problem, drink driving is plain wrong (Ryan Dunn???) NCT is a joke..

Speeding - Meh the facts are the facts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

look at my face, am I Bovvered? I aint bovvered, face, bovvered, is it? I AINT BOVVERED. unless they nick my stuff, then I'm a bit bovvered.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,067 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

You have a problem with people being robbed but yet you see no problem with tax evasion ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Daegerty wrote: »
    Drink driving is a strange one although you are statistically more likely to kill someone while doing that, if you sit down infront of a bunch of people and say 'yeah I had 4 pints but I felt alright and I wasn't far from home so I chanced it' they are unlikely to say anything to you.
    (source)

Depends who you sit down with, I suppose. Drink driving is just plain nuts. Get a taxi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Bitta drugs among mates would be the "biggest" thing I'd be ok with, wouldn't call it dealing really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Tax evasion - Im for it, Motor tax in particular!

Selling drugs - if they didnt sell them, I wouldnt have them so im for it as long as "the man" says i cant buy them in a shop.

gun ownership - Not sure how owning a gun is breaking the law?? licencing is bang on here.

Environmental laws - I burn rubbish and cut turf, the e.p.a can eat my ass.

Internet laws - Depends on what the hackers are messing with.

Traffic/Car laws - Hmmm... I think you're starting to troll here, insurance is a good law, insurance companies extortionate premiums is the problem, drink driving is plain wrong (Ryan Dunn???) NCT is a joke..

Speeding - Meh the facts are the facts.

can i ask why motor tax in particular?
    just seems an odd one,thats all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Only when I can't keep up to them after they whizz past me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

If it hurting other people, making life more difficult for everyone, putting a strain on the system or just generally being annoying, yeah it pisses me off big time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

A guy in England who mowed down a young kid last week and just drove off ( after stopping a few miles down the road to check the damage ) had his car reg indentified by cctv camera and was arrested today .You can only hope and pray that the full weight of the law is thrown at him and not have some soft judge go easy on him .Somebody getting of lightly with serious assault ,murder rape robbery , time and time again bothers millions of people , yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

It bothers me a great deal when othes break the law, mostly because the cops are completely useless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

I could care less. The people who implement these new "laws" are the people you need to worry about. The real horrors you don't hear about too often. Unless it's something very grave, I won't bat an eyelid. Their choice, not mine.

cruiser178 wrote: »
    can i ask why motor tax in particular?
    just seems an odd one,thats all

Well I dont really condone other types of tax evasion - well the odd 'nixer' for cash in hand is acceptable (imo) but not all of the time - i.e: taking the piss out of social welfare.

I dont like paying car tax to be honest, and rarely do. I Think it just helps to perpetuate the fact that the gardai are glorified tax collectors at times, and also creates many, many unecessary public sector jobs.

The fuel should carry the tax, not the windscreen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Since when is gun ownership against the law??
    I'm fooked so:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Well I dont really condone other types of tax evasion - well the odd 'nixer' for cash in hand is acceptable (imo) but not all of the time - i.e: taking the piss out of social welfare.

I dont like paying car tax to be honest, and rarely do. I Think it just helps to perpetuate the fact that the gardai are glorified tax collectors at times, and also creates many, many unecessary public sector jobs.

The fuel should carry the tax, not the windscreen.

Appoliges i picked up your first post wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭sinjin_smythe

Basically any topic that's mentioned on Joe Duffy, couldn't give a flyin fuk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

There's two things on your list that I would be against in certain circumstances.
    1) Selling drugs: my main problem with someone selling drugs is that it's not regulated & can be mixed with any concoction of sh!t.

2) Traffic laws: By all means screw someone who is driving like a lunatic but leave the eejit caught doing 10mph over the speed limit.
    Motor tax: I think it should be including in the price of petrol/ diesel. It breaks my heart to pay it.
    Drink driving: Someone who is mouldy drunk driving a car should be prosecuted. Someone who has had 2/ 3 pints & is capable of driving without any ill affects should be left alone.
    NCT: One of the greatest money rackets known to man.
    No insurance: Pay for insurance or stay off the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Ally Dick wrote: »
    It bothers me a great deal when othes break the law, mostly because the cops are completely useless
    Not the biggest fan of gardai but in fairness its the legal system thats to blame, in particular judges.

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Not the biggest fan of gardai but in fairness its the legal system thats to blame, in particular judges.

Judges aren't the ones sitting in the station eating doughnuts when you ring them to tell them of antisocial behaviour going on outside your house

Id say most of the time they dont bother coming out to calls of anti-social behaviour, is because of the Joe Duffy crew calling them every time a group of young people walk past their house... shame when there is actually antisocial behaviour going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

until it affects me directly its not a crime

so thus far social welfare fraud, driving without insurance and theft is the only thing I have a problem with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Naikon wrote: »
    I could care less.

Why? Which crimes bother you so much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

deathrider wrote: »
    Judas Priest

The duet version is better ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

I wont live in a country which robs a man of his right to marry his cousin!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I love comments like this. What were you caught for ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I'm against any crime that affects other people. Which is most of them really. And that includes paying taxes, though some people here have pointed out that a fuel tax would make more sense than a car tax, which sounds fair enough to me (I'm not a motorist.)
    But I know lots of people in real life who don't really know what taxes are for, and that they're(supposed to be) reinvested in providing public goods. They just have a very reactionary anti-government view that they're all out to rob us (though many politicians don't help changing their point of view).
    Selling and taking drugs I don't mind so much, but I do see a big difference between selling drugs to someone who knows what they're doing, and selling to an somone who's clearly an addict, which is much worse.
    Drink-driving I've no tolerance for. Even if you've only had one or two and feel ok, I still don't see how you'd feel comfortable getting behind the wheel. Maybe I'm a spoiled city boy who's used to having many ways to get home, but I don't see going to the pub as a necessity anyway so I don't see any excuse.
    The dispiriting thing about this country is that you can never be sure that the criminals will be properly prosecuted, especially if they're wealthy or "well-respected."

I love comments like this. What were you caught for ?

Nothing :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

until it affects me directly its not a crime
    Crime affects everybody ,directly or indirectly and nobodys immune to it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭robman60

Some so called "laws" are pretty ridiculous, and are designed to make ****loads for the government eg dog licences.

I don't mind tbh unless it adversely affects another person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

robman60 wrote: »
    Some so called "laws" are pretty ridiculous, and are designed to make ****loads for the government eg dog licences.

I don't mind tbh unless it adversely affects another person.

Your user name is a clue to that ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Nope don't mind the people who are up to eyes in debt getting bailed out by taxpayers and free to go whilst laughing in our faces :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭kkdela6

nct is a joke

'why should we make our cars fit for the road, when the roads aren't fit for our cars?'