Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drum brakes.

• 20-06-2011 6:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭

I thought drum brakes were a thing of the past. The last car I owned with them was a 96 Carina E and thats a long time ago.

Anyway a guy I know just got a brand new Ford Focus and it has drum brakes on the back. I couldnt believe it and when I looked at another Focus (2010) it had drum brakes too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I think you'll find a lot of small-medium sized cars in the €10k-20k bracket have drums on the back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I think you'll find a lot of small-medium sized cars in the €10k-20k bracket have drums on the back.

Really? I thought they were standard equipment with years..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I'm always staring at brakes for some reason. :P Lots of them still do seem to have drums. My mothers 08 Fiesta has them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,794 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Pretty crap alright. Its not like they could be much cheaper to produce either. Jesus, I would have to read a couple of books first if I was to attack drum brakes of any type. Never been anywhere near them.
    No excuse really for still fitting those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

They last a hell of a lot longer than pads, thats for sure! Although the cylinders can leak over time. If you put two Focus's beside each at 100kph and stepped on the brake there would be little difference between disks and drum type. Although I still would prefer disks.

mickdw wrote: »
    Pretty crap alright. Its not like they could be much cheaper to produce either. Jesus, I would have to read a couple of books first if I was to attack drum brakes of any type. Never been anywhere near them.
    Only reason is price, they are less than disk brakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Plug wrote: »
    They last a hell of a lot longer than pads, thats for sure! Although the cylinders can leak over time. If you put two Focus's beside each at 100kph and stepped on the brake there would be little difference between disks and drum type. Although I still would prefer disks.

I didnt think the stopping power would be as good! I would prefer disks too.Drums look Meeh.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

-Corkie- wrote: »
    I didnt think the stopping power would be as good!

You don't need very aggressive brakes on the back ...most of the brake force is in the front.
    In fact you do not want to over-brake the back or it will fishtail.

Drum brakes are plenty good enough for your average car and much cheaper in the long run, both to build and to service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I was told a drum brake will stop a car quicker than a disk in a "slam on pedal" situation. But they are worse for fading and slipping when they get wet.

Better handbrake with drums too. They look sh1t though on modern alloy wheel clad cars.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Better handbrake with drums too. They look sh1t though on modern alloy wheel clad cars.
    I have these on my car laaaad.
    enkei_11.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

I thought you had a drum for the handbrake behind the disc? Brake shoes fit in there in mine. They suck compared to conventional drums though.

Some cars do but alot now use the actual disc pads for the handbrake too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

no need for rear discs on most cars.

corktina wrote: »

No need for leather seats, air con or cruise control either :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

But your average Joe will actually notice/use these on a daily basis... Average Joe won't be pushing his car to the point that he thinks... "damn, that would ave gone better with disc breaks on the back" Actually most average joe's probably couldn't tell you the difference..:rolleyes:

nice to have them if you like that sort of thing and they might make your journey more comfortable, but rear discs wont make a jot of difference to most drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

-Corkie- wrote: »
    I thought drum brakes were a thing of the past. The last car I owned with them was a 96 Carina E and thats a long time ago.

Anyway a guy I know just got a brand new Ford Focus and it has drum brakes on the back. I couldnt believe it and when I looked at another Focus (2010) it had drum brakes too.

FORDS!!! The cheaper end models of fords comes with rear drum brakes . My aunty and her daughter both have a focus HB s one has drum other has disc.

bbam wrote: »
    But your average Joe will actually notice/use these on a daily basis... Average Joe won't be pushing his car to the point that he thinks... "damn, that would ave gone better with disc breaks on the back" Actually most average joe's probably couldn't tell you the difference..:rolleyes:

No doubt but my comment was in response to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭sentient_6

My yoke has discs front & back for regular brakes & the handbrake works independently on rear drums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Most citroen saloons going back as far as I remember had discs all round ( as far back as the bx we had)

Xantias handbrake works on all four wheels :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

landyman wrote: »
    Most citroen saloons going back as far as I remember had discs all round ( as far back as the bx we had)

Well, they had 180 bar of pressure circulating in their hydraulic suspension system anyway, so I guess they figured they could spare some for brakes :D

They also had the least travel on brake pedals ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

I was allways under the impression that under average driving conditions drums are more efficient , its only when cars are pushed that there is a need for disks as disks are much better at dissipating heat and give better consistent stopping power under heavy use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

mickdw wrote: »

Jeez, you young uns, ye dont know yere born:D.I grew up with them.Drums are better for the handbrake than disks I reckon. Cars used to have drums all round, you know:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

jimmyw wrote: »
    Jeez, you young uns, ye dont know yere born:D.I grew up with them.Drums are better for the handbrake than disks I reckon. Cars used to have drums all round, you know:P
    And they were absolute pants..... for feel and reaction time they were way worse than modern discs. maybe they have improved drums, but they were crap. I hate the sight of them and went to the trouble to change a back axle to get rid of them on my old Audi 80 ;)

I hate the sight of them and went to the trouble to change a back axle to get rid of them on my old Audi 80 ;)

My first car was an audi 80 with discs all round. The self adjusting handbrake was the business and is still the business today really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

I think the setup on some cars that have a mix of drums and disks on the rear are good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

i have all discs on this astra compared to the last, they take a bit of getting used to at the start because its like hitting a brick wall the first few days. im sure someday i will be very glad i have discs all round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭richardsheil

landyman wrote: »

Xantias handbrake works on all four wheels :)

Xantia handbrake works on front wheels only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Xantia handbrake works on front wheels only.

I stand corrected. I knew there was something different about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭kirving

Rear discs aren't really going to make much of a difference unless your really really pushing them. They do look much better though.

I know with bicycles, the theoretical quickest way to stop is by pulling the front brake as hard as possible with the rear wheel just about to lift. The same would be true for cars - the harder you brake, the more the braking capability of the front wheels matter. Braking the rear wheels is nessecary though to keep them in line, and for ESP. This is really in lab conditions, and wouldn't translate exactly, but similar principals should apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

[QUOTE=Kevin Irving;72884284
    I know with bicycles, the theoretical quickest way to stop is by pulling the front brake as hard as possible with the rear wheel just about to lift.
    [/QUOTE]

I think you are incorrect in here.
    The quickest way to stop on the bicycle, is to move yourself to the back of the bicycle as much as you can to move the weight to the rear wheel, and then apply both brakes (front and rear) as strong as possible without locking wheels if on solid surface).

The same would be true for cars - the harder you brake, the more the braking capability of the front wheels matter. Braking the rear wheels is nessecary though to keep them in line, and for ESP. This is really in lab conditions, and wouldn't translate exactly, but similar principals should apply.
    On average car 70% of braking force comes to front wheels and 30% to rear wheels.
    In cars weight is much better distributed over front and rear than in bicycles.
    Hence that if you slam on front brakes on the bicycle, you might flip over to the front.
    No matter how much you slam on the brakes in the car, you won't flip over to front.

So both front and rear brake is important.

For average driver it would make no difference if there are drum or disc brakes.
    They all would have enough braking force in emergency (f.e. stopping suddenly from 130km/h to 0.
    But I remember doing some tests on Fiat Cinquecento. I was accelerating to 150km/h and braking to 0, and then againg to 150 and again to 0.
    First 2 times were OK. By the third time braking distance increased a lot.
    Next try there was barely any braking.
    In that car you have discs in the front, and drums in the back.
    I doubt that if there was discs as well in the back woudl it make any difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

a lot of trucks and vans use drum brakes on the rear , not sure if its a cost issue or something to do with weight.

sentient_6 wrote: »
    My yoke has discs front & back for regular brakes & the handbrake works independently on rear drums.

im pretty sure theres a regulating valve in the set up to make sure you dont have regular brakes all round. about 60/40 in favour of the front brakes is common I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Idleater

I know with bicycles, the theoretical quickest way to stop is by pulling the front brake as hard as possible with the rear wheel just about to lift. The same would be true for cars - the harder you brake, the more the braking capability of the front wheels matter. Braking the rear wheels is nessecary though to keep them in line
    Motorbikes moreso I'd say. I rarely use the rear brake while moving. 90% front brake and perhaps 10% rear for stability. The rear is handy for easily dragging the bike down a notch in a bend where applying the front would completely destabilise the bike.
    This is also illustrated in the fact that many bikes and certainly the sporting variety have large twin discs up front and tiny single rear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭sentient_6

im pretty sure theres a regulating valve in the set up to make sure you dont have regular brakes all round. about 60/40 in favour of the front brakes is common I believe.

But the back discs then are still working when braking just not as hard as the fronts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭kirving

Sorry yeah, it's different with cars since more weight is at the back. But the point rings true, the rear brakes are much less relevant than the front as the weight shifts forward. So it makes sense to use drums even if they're not quite as good since they last longer and are cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Drum brakes, memories of adjusting all 4 wheels on me old mini every month or so, pretty feckin hateful..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Drum brakes on the rear are good enough for a basic family saloon car.

And for the two Civic Type R's parked down the road from my house, apparantly - drums are a fetching shade of red too:D