Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mark Mullen League - starts Monday 20 June

• 20-06-2011 10:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭

Lads any more info on this than what is here. How long is tonights race and whats the circuit like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

kennyb3 wrote: »
    Lads any more info on this than what is here. How long is tonights race and whats the circuit like?
    kenny its the mark mullen league just come and race its all handicapped,
    the circuit is circluar couple drags tough enough ring gerard cambell he will fill you in no problem.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭shaungil

A few lads from Swords do this. Nice little circuit well handicapped from all account a good race. Give it a lash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭superlav

Think I'll do this tonight.

Circuit is rolling with a few short drags, 6 laps of 6.3km

http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/38193614

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

Are these open races or a club league of sorts?

CI Points up for grabs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

chakattack wrote: »
    Are these open races or a club league of sorts?

CI Points up for grabs?
    No cant imagine so, its the equivalent of the swords league really

Good workout tonight anyway. 5.5 laps of a quite rolling circuit. Started in the first group, think there may have been only 2 but not sure. First lap did some work and sussed out the course. 2nd lap had a big dig and got away with 4 others. 3 of us worked and an orwell lad sat in and sandbagged wouldnt even take one turn so i had a good verbal with him. I was convinced he d just sit in and sprint past us at the end if we stayed away.

We didnt work too well really, i was trying to get up and overs going but with 3 it wasnt really working. Tried the peel away method and that worked better for a while but it was really a case of who was feeling best taking their turn.

2nd last lap the eventual winner attacked and it was painful tracking him down. At the end of the lap i noticed the finish was on the biggest drag on the course so i was hopeful we would stay away and i could do something. Last lap i sat in a bit but trying to save legs let a gap open up on a hill despite the fact i was climbing slightly better than the other two - and bang i was gone on the descent - total schoolboy error. Anyway dropped the orwell guy as i chased on. Never made it but got 3rd. Happy days. Think the winner was by far the strongest anyway.

Absolutely chucked it down for last 2 laps so some scary corners. Up to the other group next week anyway. We had about 30 secs on them at the finish - not sure what we got at the start.

36km @ 35.2km/ph, which wasnt bad given there was only 3 of us working.

Would any of the droheada lads know where the photos are likely to appear?? There was at least one photographer out but i see the wheelers have no website or facebook page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭padjo5

Well Kenny, Good work in the race, fair play, I enjoyed the spin! Delighted with the finish too!

No idea of where you will find photos.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/93968977

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Swordsdave

Here is one of you kennyb plus your sandbagger! looks like yous had dropped the winner at this stage?
    http://i1214.photobucket.com/albums/cc489/swordsdave/DSC_0025.jpg

Swordsdave wrote: »
    Here is one of you kennyb plus your sandbagger! looks like yous had dropped the winner at this stage?
    http://i1214.photobucket.com/albums/cc489/swordsdave/DSC_0025.jpg
    I think he might have just been bridging across at that stage but not sure. Thanks Dave for that.

I was bridging across alright, under pressure too!

Swordsdave, have you any more snaps of the race for us?! Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

padjo5 wrote: »
    I was bridging across alright, under pressure too!

Swordsdave, have you any more snaps of the race for us?! Cheers.
    paddy is that you 4th man all in black good ride so.;)
    i told you you were to fast for us freds:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Swordsdave

put up few more didn`t really take many just went to see who was out!
    http://s1214.photobucket.com/albums/cc489/swordsdave/

Well, did anyone chance their arm on Monday night?? Missed it myself.