Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Burglar Alarms....Do U check them out?.

• 20-06-2011 11:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭

A girl I work with has a phonewatch alarm.it has been going off over the last week or more.A few of us in the job suggested that ,they were probably setting it off, so that she would turn it off.
    Last night it went off again ,fed up she got up and turned it off.This morning when she woke up ,she found the back window removed and her jewelery missing.:(

Knowing that burglars are using this tactic of setting of alarms continuously.
    Would you check it out,when your neighbours alarm keeps going off ?.Or would you get pissed off.Would you ask them to turn it off,if it kept going off?.The reason I ask ,is recently I have started checking it out.Previously I just ignored alarms.Hopefully they will reciprocate if mine goes off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

Look out window see scum robbing house one bullet bang bang problem solved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭meemeep

i'd always have a look into the neighbour's house - just a look over the back wall and in through the front windows - might be useless but that's what I'd do. interesting to hear that this is a ploy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

Bazzy wrote: »

one bullet .... bang bang ??? very confusing !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

YES....because we all have a pistol under our pillows:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

YES....because we all have a pistol under our pillows:rolleyes:

I do! I just make sure the barrel is pointing to the other side of the double bed.

Most of my valuables are inside my bedroom, which is locked from the inside each night. Since all the other valuable electronics belong to my landlord (who lives downstairs), I'm not really worried.

My landlord is one of thoes people that thinks he'll never get burgled because he lives in a 'nice' area. He hasn't armed the security alarm in 15 years.
    His security is horrendous at best. I once came home to find the front door wide open and nobody home. 5 mins later, he arrives back to say that he'd just popped down the shops and didn't feel it was necessary to close the door!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

A girl I work with has a phonewatch alarm.it has been going off over the last week or more.A few of us in the job suggested that ,they were probably setting it off, so that she would turn it off.
    Last night it went off again ,fed up she got up and turned it off.This morning when she woke up ,she found the back window removed and her jewelery missing.:(

Would you check it out,when your neighbours alarm keeps going off ?.Or would you get pissed off.Would you ask them to turn it off,if it kept going off?.The reason I ask ,is recently I have started checking it out.Previously I just ignored alarms.Hopefully they will reciprocate if mine goes off.

Having lived in Dublin for a few years, yes I would check it out.
    Just so I could help the burglars get inside, on the condition they turn the %^&%$& alarm OFF!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

there are no burglar alarms where I live thank god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Daegerty wrote: »
    there are no burglar alarms where I live thank god

Where U living Daegerty?.Obviously not in Dublin.;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

meemeep wrote: »
    interesting to hear that this is a ploy.
    That's an old one m. Scummer(usually two scummers) throw tennis ball or the like at window to see if there's an alarm and if it's on. Then if it goes off they wait to see the response. If there's a response they will do like paddy was saying keep triggering the alarm until the owner switches it off. Then it's out with the window.

That's another problem. Old stylee single glazing was a little harder to bypass without making some noise. The majority of double glazing is stupidly easy to remove. Take of the strip around the glass and presto the whole pane can be lifted out. I mean what hammerhead thought being able to remove a window from the outside was clever design? You can get security double glazing and all they do is reverse that and load the pane from the inside. You could do what I did and use silicone to "glue" in the pane. If a pane breaks you can still remove it, but its difficult and some inbred scummer with a stanley blade is gonna be slowed right down. Sliding patio doors are another easy one to bypass. Try and break into your own house. In most cases you'll find it stupidly easy.

Easy answer; big dog, better yet two big dogs. A lot harder to bypass.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭brianwalshcork

I do! I just make sure the barrel is pointing to the other side of the double bed.

Most of my valuables are inside my bedroom, which is locked from the inside each night. Since all the other valuable electronics belong to my landlord (who lives downstairs), I'm not really worried.

My landlord is one of thoes people that thinks he'll never get burgled because he lives in a 'nice' area. He hasn't armed the security alarm in 15 years.
    His security is horrendous at best. I once came home to find the front door wide open and nobody home. 5 mins later, he arrives back to say that he'd just popped down the shops and didn't feel it was necessary to close the door!

Well, if he hasn't armed the security in 15 years the we can assume that he hasn't been burgled in 15 years. That's not to say that he will never be burgled, but it's a fair enough to draw the conclusion that the chance of being burgled is low.

I wonder who has sleeps easier? The person who doesn't worry about security, or the person who keeps all their valuables in their bedroom, with the door locked from the inside!!

I was burgled a few years ago. Was living in a ground floor fat at the time, sandwiched between two other flats, with duplex apartments above... so no shortage of neighbours.

The alarm was set, and was going off when I arrived home, so it didn't deter the burglers at all. They took their time going around the appartment and took easily portable electronics from the living area, (laptops, digital camera, a new car stereo) and jewellery and other valuables from one of the the bedrooms.

I knocked to all the neighbours to see did they see anyone or anything, which they didn't... but all of them that were in heard the alarm going off!

What would they have done if they had seen someone climb in my back window? They wouldn't & shouldn't confront them - the best thing you could hope for is that they call the AGS - but the chances of them getting there before the burglers head off again are very slim.

In conclusion - alarms are useless, Eircom phone watch alarms are expensive & useless!

Brian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

These are the exact reasons you would use Eircom phonewatch. The monitoring station would respond and do something about it. If it's a recent installation (ten years) it'll be dial-in and remotely viewable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Unfortunately I generally don't, there's so many alarms that go off in the area I live for no reason. There's the usual reason with them going off when the electricity goes (which happens a lot), but they also often go off for no reason, and unfortunately now a lot of people just leave them off. They seem to have been very badly wired when the houses were built.
    Like car alarms before them, house alarms seem to be becoming nuisances people ignore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I don't see the point in bugler alarms, Every night I put on my ninja Gi, my katana rests by by side, I adopt the lotus position and begin my ninja meditation where I become the house and it's walls become my skin, as soon as someone steps inside the perimeter of the abode I instantly know I can feel them move through the house. I slowly draw them towards my room of destruction using my ninja mind powers, when they enter the room my body becomes blades and death the enemy watches it's body become pieces and only dies when I give it permission to do so. Either that or smoke a big spliff and hide under my bed.

These are the exact reasons you would use Eircom phonewatch. The monitoring station would respond and do something about it. If it's a recent installation (ten years) it'll be dial-in and remotely viewable.

I will have to check with her again,but I know when it went off last week,the call centre did ring her back.Don't know if they kept ringing her every time it went off.I assume they did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

I'm with Wibbs, on this one. My 'Burglar Alarms' have long, white, pointy teeth and have often been seen to very visibly alarm potential burglars who've appeared at my gate.

But, never mind the Dogs. It's their owner ye'd really need to be worried about :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

I always thought that the price of an eircom phonewatch alarm was robbery in itself.

With burglars you have a chance of being robbed.

With Eircom you have a 100% chance of being robbed.

Big dog seems best choice, if you like dogs.

As to your question, I never check alarms, I just get annoyed and hope it will stop ringing all over the estate p**sing everybody off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Knew a couple of lads when we were younger that were doing robberies. Nothing to do with me mind. Remember one of them bragging about how he could tame dogs very easily. Alarms are a deterrent in some ways, they know nobody will come but someone might look out their window just out of frustration. Best solution is proper windows and doors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Fran1985

In fairness, Eircom are usually good. We've had them a while and alarm has been activated twice. First time, a woman who used to come clean once a week was there and we forgot to leave the alarm off but didn't give her the code. Cops came, saw shadows and immediately hoped a 10ft wall to get into the back garden, while one stayed in the front. They watched every movement she made. Luckily she was just putting stuff away, but if she had have opened a press and took anything out (even if it was just polish etc) they would've forced their way into the house. I got home to turn it off before they did that.

Second time it went off they sent the fire brigade. Not sure what logic was behind that but good service none the less! So while ya pay through the nose for it, the fact that someone will check on the house, instead of looking out their window and giving it a filthy look, is worth paying up for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

PCPhoto wrote: »
    one bullet .... bang bang ??? very confusing !!

I guess you're not a d'unbelievables fan then?

Multi stage bullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Guns are all well and good if you have them or are awake by the time they're standing over you. A few have been doing the kettle trick, holding a kettle of boiled water over someone and waking them up; where's your car keys etc? job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PVPSizAcqeA&t=2m30s

She needs a Dog. A large Dog. With big teeth. Or a small dog....with a big bark. She needs a dog of some kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Well, if he hasn't armed the security in 15 years the we can assume that he hasn't been burgled in 15 years. That's not to say that he will never be burgled, but it's a fair enough to draw the conclusion that the chance of being burgled is low.

I wonder who has sleeps easier? The person who doesn't worry about security, or the person who keeps all their valuables in their bedroom, with the door locked from the inside!!

I was burgled a few years ago. Was living in a ground floor fat at the time, sandwiched between two other flats, with duplex apartments above... so no shortage of neighbours.

The alarm was set, and was going off when I arrived home, so it didn't deter the burglers at all. They took their time going around the appartment and took easily portable electronics from the living area, (laptops, digital camera, a new car stereo) and jewellery and other valuables from one of the the bedrooms.

I knocked to all the neighbours to see did they see anyone or anything, which they didn't... but all of them that were in heard the alarm going off!

What would they have done if they had seen someone climb in my back window? They wouldn't & shouldn't confront them - the best thing you could hope for is that they call the AGS - but the chances of them getting there before the burglers head off again are very slim.

In conclusion - alarms are useless, Eircom phone watch alarms are expensive & useless!

Brian

He hasn't been burgled, but 2 houses 2 streets away have been. But, ignorance is bliss, and he probably sleeps quite soundly...as do I.

I was also burgled a few years ago. Bastard actually came into my bedroom and stole some of my clothes!! Hence I like knowing I'm a bit more secure now.

Leftist wrote: »
    Knew a couple of lads when we were younger that were doing robberies. Nothing to do with me mind. Remember one of them bragging about how he could tame dogs very easily .

Did they tell U how to do that?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I've just landed in Spain and forgot to lock my front door

Can someone pop round and do it for me?

Oh **** wrong thread!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

I have the best thing to protect against burglars, a random schedule and housemates up at different times , theres pretty much always somebody in the house and someone awake. That and my house looks like sh*t from the outside anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

My dog would probably help the burglar into the house, he has a fierce bark but my god he is a harmless idiot.
    However if strange noises happen during the night he is handy to bring my attention to it. Just last week he started barking in the kitchen at 4.30 am like a lunatic. So I naturally got up, armed myself with a large carving knife I keep in my bedside locker (don't ask) & gingerly crept into the kitchen waiting to be raped & murdered at any moment.
    After checking the house & found that all was well I eventually found out what he was barking at.
    I opened the back door, the sensor lights were on, only to find three rabbits staring at me mid play. My useless little fcuker had somehow figured out they were out there & felt it his duty to alert me to the 'intruders'. I wouldn't mind but he didn't even catch them after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Irish Fire

easyeason3 wrote: »
    My dog would probably help the burglar into the house, he has a fierce bark but my god he is a harmless idiot.
    However if strange noises happen during the night he is handy to bring my attention to it. Just last week he started barking in the kitchen at 4.30 am like a lunatic. So I naturally got up, armed myself with a large carving knife I keep in my bedside locker (don't ask) & gingerly crept into the kitchen waiting to be raped & murdered at any moment.
    After checking the house & found that all was well I eventually found out what he was barking at.
    I opened the back door, the sensor lights were on, only to find three rabbits staring at me mid play. My useless little fcuker had somehow figured out they were out there & felt it his duty to alert me to the 'intruders'. I wouldn't mind but he didn't even catch them after that.

So I take it it's rabbit stew for lunch tomorrow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Irish Fire wrote: »
    So I take it it's rabbit stew for lunch tomorrow?

Nah.
    He's not quick enough to catch them & I'm not able to shoot properly so we'll just slum it with a steak or something :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

From what I've seen, the sliding patio door is often the weakest link.
    Very easy to get past these

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

mikemac wrote: »
    From what I've seen, the sliding patio door is often the weakest link.
    Very easy to get past these
    The overuse of the glass sliding door in such a cold country just boggles the mind

Where U living Daegerty?.Obviously not in Dublin.;)

Hang on a second there and I'll make a list of all the burglar alarm-free areas for you to pillage.

Once I was staying in Dublin and there was one going off all day. Don't understand why people put em up in Dublin; most don't know their neighbours, many will report their neighbours to the Law for doing the slightest thing not by the book. Feck it a lot of the time they won't even say hai to them while walking down the street. Yet they expect them to risk running into a bunch of burglars and stop them or at least call the guards after some annoying alarm goes off

and those Eircom ones - they could empty the house and strip all the paint off the walls before someone's sent out lest Eircom lose a few cents in revenue sending someone out when there's no need.

Daegerty wrote: »
    Hang on a second there and I'll make a list of all the burglar alarm-free areas for you to pillage.

Thanks Daegerty,given my current financial situation......that would be most appreciated.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭superfish

meemeep wrote: »
    i'd always have a look into the neighbour's house - just a look over the back wall and in through the front windows - might be useless but that's what I'd do. interesting to hear that this is a ploy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭JuneBug29

I am currently out of work and live in an area where, during working hours, an alarm is going off every few minutes. I have an alarm system fitted myself and make sure it's always armed when i'm not around. It's annoying though that there are so many faulty alarms around. When i do hear an alarm i generally ignore it, however, if the alarm sounds as if it's near, i will look out the window to see if it's a neighbors alarm going off for no reason or if it's actually going off because something is happening.

So long story short, alarm in the distance, i ignore it, alarm up close, i will check it out. When so many alarms are going off though, you can't check them all out. To even go around dropping notes in peoples letter boxes to say you think their alarm is faulty would become a full time job. It's a weigh up really, if it's not close, i just turn up the music :P