Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

so I did my first 80km today.....

• 19-06-2011 10:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭

bollo**ed. has to get easier??!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

Well done dude, yes it does get easier. Next trip the same if not 5 Km more. Keep it up even through the winter.
    This time last year i had only just started doing around the 80 Km mark and yesterday done the 160 Tour de Burren fairly comfortably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭cantalach

"It never gets easier. You just go faster." --Greg Lemond

(Well done though!)

Haha - beat ya ;)

(The above was a reference to a deleted post!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭thehamo

cheers lads. was a much hillier route than ive ever done too so I was properly wrecked after it. Cramp in my thighs last 10 km was unreal.

Onwards and upwards though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

80km :eek::eek::eek:

I started with a 18km yesterday(first ever spin on a roadbike) and 'me howl' is killing me!!:rolleyes:

well done!

GT_TDI_150 wrote: »
    I started with a 18km yesterday(first ever spin on a roadbike) and 'me howl' is killing me!!:rolleyes:

I don't know if Lemond ever said much about arses (though he has plenty to say about a certain Texan arsehole) but I can assure you that that particular aspect of cycling does get easier.

cantalach wrote: »
    I don't know if Lemond ever said much about arses (though he has plenty to say about a certain Texan arsehole) but I can assure you that that particular aspect of cycling does get easier.

pfffew!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭Lemag

Well done OP.
    GT_TDI_150 wrote: »
    80km :eek::eek::eek:

well done!
    You've got padded shorts, right? With them, 18km shouldn't do much damage to anyone's hole no matter how wet behind the ears they are. You may also find that you'll go through about 10 different saddles before you find one to suit your arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Well done!

I did my first 80K last week too, last Wednesday - even got a bit of a farmers tan in the process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭corblimey

Jumping on the bandwagon (and I wish I had a bandwagon yesterday), I did my first 70km yesterday. I feel okay today, mostly cos it wasn't a very hilly route (thanks mapmyride) but I was seriously bonking by the end of it - the last 5km was done at a snails pace. Was considering keeping at the same distance for a little while until i got more used to the distance, but I think the best advice is to keep upping it by 10% each time.

Lemag wrote: »
    Well done OP.

You've got padded shorts, right? With them, 18km shouldn't do much damage to anyone's hole no matter how wet behind the ears they are. You may also find that you'll go through about 10 different saddles before you find one to suit your arse.

I've got the padded shorts alright, the road is rough in places though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

First time is always sore, you get used to it though and it's grand after

(like a lot of things :pac::pac:;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭Lemag

First time is always sore, you get used to it though and it's grand after

(like a lot of things :pac::pac:;))
    Like marraige ? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

corblimey wrote: »
    Jumping on the bandwagon (and I wish I had a bandwagon yesterday), I did my first 70km yesterday. I feel okay today, mostly cos it wasn't a very hilly route (thanks mapmyride) but I was seriously bonking by the end of it - the last 5km was done at a snails pace. Was considering keeping at the same distance for a little while until i got more used to the distance, but I think the best advice is to keep upping it by 10% each time.

well done, bring a banana or 2 with you next time, and maybe a couple of nutrigrain bars, and at least 2 bidons of water, or energy drink, you need to eat little and often and drink to avoid the bonk, if you feel you are getting serious bonk, stop somewhere to get something to eat and drink Coke, not the healthiest option, but it works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

Being new to the whole cycling epidemic, I've found by far the most effective way to motivate myself is to sign up for events for which I am in no way prepared. From a young age I've realised that fear was the key to my achieving anything, fear of my parents, fear of failing exams, fear of my employers, and it really has motivated to do a great many things. I've applied the same technique to cycling and as I sit here smoking, drinking cocktails and enjoying the sun in the Algarve I'm occasionally struck by mild panic at the thought of the Sean Kelly 160k looming on the horizon. That said when the time comes I will use that sense of panic to get me on my bike night after night regardless of the weather or my lack of inherent motivation. It's like the 'carrot and the stick' approach but without the carrot and with a bigger stick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭thehamo

xz wrote: »
    well done, bring a banana or 2 with you next time, and maybe a couple of nutrigrain bars, and at least 2 bidons of water, or energy drink, you need to eat little and often and drink to avoid the bonk, if you feel you are getting serious bonk, stop somewhere to get something to eat and drink Coke, not the healthiest option, but it works

I did this yesterday me self. Stopped off at the side of a road to eat a banana and orange I brought with me. Two loads flyin along on their bikes stopped to ask me if I was alright. To my embarrasment I just had to say yeah im just wrecked :o I ran out of water half way through and the route I took hadnt got a shop for feckin donkeys. Eventually got to one about 15km to go and nailed an apple a nutrigrain and a bottle of Lucozade. I wreckon that saved my life:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭corblimey

xz wrote: »

I had enough food and water, and if it'd been any longer than 5-10km from home, I'd have stopped and opened the bottle of lucozade I brought as a last resort, but I figured press on for home and have that donut I'd been saving :P