Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New anti-smoking campaign using subliminals

• 19-06-2011 8:54pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭

Has anyone seen the billboard ads for quit.ie?

Is it just me, or has anyone spotted the subliminal imagery?

I would tell you what to look for, but a) I want to see if you can spot it yourself and b) my tinfoil hat just slipped down over my eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

Doubtful, it's never been shown that subliminals in advertising has ever worked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

It's on ad for quitting so its hardly a conspiracy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

I've spotted it (either the initial one you're talking about or a completely new one).

Take a look at this picture:

video.jpg

What shape does the shadow behind the figure '2' take? Yep, it looks like a guy smoking a pipe.

Why would they do that? An image of a guy smoking a pipe is hardly an anti-smoking device.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Why would they do that? An image of a guy smoking a pipe is hardly an anti-smoking device.
    I'm still not seeing that.

I was going more down the line of the choice of actors, facial expressions and background settings.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

I'm still not seeing that.

I was going more down the line of the choice of actors, facial expressions and background settings.
    ah yes.

you mean using ugly people?

brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

I've spotted it (either the initial one you're talking about or a completely new one).

video.jpg

What shape does the shadow behind the figure '2' take? Yep, it looks like a guy smoking a pipe.

Haha, are you serious? I think you're all reading too much into this and seeing things that aren't there.
    I mean a shadow guy with a sherlock homes type old style pipe? And someone was paid to do this? For what purpose exactly???

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

al28283 wrote: »
    Haha, are you serious? I think you're all reading too much into this and seeing things that aren't there.
    I mean a shadow guy with a sherlock homes type old style pipe? And someone was paid to do this? For what purpose exactly???

well Duh - to appeal to grumpy old pipe smokin men, obviously

Duh.

(:D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Would the OP like to share the subliminal message that he's spotted, at all at all? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭Im Only 71Kg

it's a fair point. the pipe smoking shadow is a positive..yes?

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭leviathon

Well I'd say yer man looks a bit fecked - Big red sweaty bulb off him,grimacing a bit whereas yer wan is much paler, less stressed looking and smiling.

So I'm guessing yer man is meant to be the smoker

Oh just spotted too (and I say this is stretching it a bit but anyway) as his hand is very close to the flower it almost looks like he's pushing it... as in pushing up the daisys

• Registered Users Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭clintondaly

1 in 2 smokers wear sunglasses ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭Talk E

al28283 wrote: »
    Doubtful, it's never been shown that subliminals in advertising has ever worked

Yeah, they just use them for fun of course.

video.jpg

The number 1, Looks almost like he's holding it. Tapping it, like a shmoke man

• Site Banned Posts: 8,331 ✭✭✭Brown Bomber

Fair ****s to whoever it was that noticed this old geezer with the pipe

statler-and-waldorf.jpg

First reaction: happy enough couple relaxing in the park lovingly smiling at each other.

what I am seeing when I actually try to think about is the both results of the one in two chance of smoking.

On the left. The dying smoker.
    In discomfort, Unkempt, high blood pressure, sun in bloodshot eyes, spotty, thyroid problem. I'm no expert but if you zoom on fried breakfast mans right eye region it looks like they've been messing about with his face. The creases in his eyes and his nose look completely unnatural and it looks like his eyelash comes down all the way to his lower eyelid. I could be way off.

On the right the gloating healthy smoker. Sinisterly smiling right in the face of the dying smoker because she is in the 50% of smokers who won't die of tobacco related causes.

Moral of the story. Smoking - you might get away with it, so smoke.

Of course that probably say more about me than anything else. :pac: Going for a smoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

You can see all the billboard ads on their facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/HSEquit

It was the second billboard ad in the series that caught my eye (the two bald guys).

Although you probably can't see it in the on-line photo, if you see this ad on the big bill boards around town look out for the subtle shade of yellow that the teeth of the guy on the left have been stained.

On the same ad, check out the face-palming woman in the background of the guy on the left. Also the guy on the left is very full-faced while the guy on the left looks like a cancer victim - check out that weird and probably altered jawline on the left side of his face.

The couple ad is also very interesting. The dude looks far from health, blotchy, red skin, very dark areas under eyes and if you put your hand over the right hand side of his face it looks like he is contorted in pain.

There's also the visual metaphor of 'pushing up daisies' (check out what his right hand is doing), I'm glad I wasn't the only one who spotted it.

Advertising agencies don't let copy out without almost checking that everything is pixel perfect, especially with big billboard campaigns such as this.

Such practises wouldn't be tolerated if this was an ad for a soft drink or washing powder.

Smokers are obviously considered fair-game!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,229 ✭✭✭✭King Mob

The couple ad is also very interesting. The dude looks far from health, blotchy, red skin, very dark areas under eyes and if you put your hand over the right hand side of his face it looks like he is contorted in pain.
    Or it could be that it's a slightly candid photo with a less than healthy guy who has the sun in his eyes.
    There's also the visual metaphor of 'pushing up daisies' (check out what his right hand is doing), I'm glad I wasn't the only one who spotted it.
    So why would they bother with this "subliminal" metaphor when they say that 1 in 2 smokers will die is plain white text?

It seems like your looking too deep into something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭ed2hands

Would the OP like to share the subliminal message that he's spotted, at all at all? :)

:)Yea am curious too.

They say that smokers, when they see gross images of black lungs and stuff, immediately want to "light up" to ease their stress. Kind of ironic.

Those Big Tobacco ads from the old days are mental. Just goes to show how much big business had/has their way without regard to the common good.

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=2381319551154599703#

• Registered Users Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

The two girls in the facebook poster second from the left are my sisters. Both smokers unfortunately.

You can see all the billboard ads on their facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/HSEquit

It was the second billboard ad in the series that caught my eye (the two bald guys).

Although you probably can't see it in the on-line photo, if you see this ad on the big bill boards around town look out for the subtle shade of yellow that the teeth of the guy on the left have been stained.

On the same ad, check out the face-palming woman in the background of the guy on the left. Also the guy on the left is very full-faced while the guy on the left looks like a cancer victim - check out that weird and probably altered jawline on the left side of his face.

Advertising agencies don't let copy out without almost checking that everything is pixel perfect, especially with big billboard campaigns such as this.

Such practises wouldn't be tolerated if this was an ad for a soft drink or washing powder.

Smokers are obviously considered fair-game!
    So where is the subliminal stuff??? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 25,067 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I can see this whole campaign being super ineffective.. if people haven't copped or accepted by this stage that smoking greatly increases your chances of dying younger then it's safe to say that they never will. An all round waste of money.

I'd love to know how much was spent on these poxy ads.. nevermind the subliminals!

I can see this whole campaign being super ineffective.. if people haven't copped or accepted by this stage that smoking greatly increases your chances of dying younger then it's safe to say that they never will. An all round waste of money.

I'd love to know how much was spent on these poxy ads.. nevermind the subliminals!
    But you can bet if they stopped making them, loads of dying smokers would claim that they were never warned and blame everyone else as they croaked it.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,067 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

But you can bet if they stopped making them, loads of dying smokers would claim that they were never warned and blame everyone else as they croaked it.

Ah I dunno about that.. not in this day and age. You'd need to be a fairly ignorant or dumb person to not realise that smoking was bad for you. There's warnings on the packets already, and laws forbidding shops from displaying them. In NI they put graphic images of people with cancer on the packs too.. I'd say that would be more effective than some short-lived ad campaign.

I smoke by the way.. and am under no illusions about the dangers of it.

Really, if they wanted to get people off the smokes they could do a multitude of things which would be more effective than this campaign. Up the price to 10+ euro, or make them available only in off-licences. The revenue stream generated on the back of tobacco products is worth too much to the exchequer for that though.

Ah I dunno about that.. not in this day and age. You'd need to be a fairly ignorant or dumb person to not realise that smoking was bad for you. There's warnings on the packets already, and laws forbidding shops from displaying them. In NI they put graphic images of people with cancer on the packs too.. I'd say that would be more effective than some short-lived ad campaign.

I smoke by the way.. and am under no illusions about the dangers of it.

Really, if they wanted to get people off the smokes they could do a multitude of things which would be more effective than this campaign. Up the price to 10+ euro, or make them available only in off-licences. The revenue stream generated on the back of tobacco products is worth too much to the exchequer for that though.

Which reaffirms the point I have made on this forum many times.
    We are worth more dying/ill than we are healthy.

The revenue stream generated on the back of tobacco products is worth too much to the exchequer for that though.

I'd say their revenue would go down much further because they'd be increasing the value of smuggling. We'd be looking at a Laffer curve-type effect.

Talk E wrote: »
    Which reaffirms the point I have made on this forum many times.
    We are worth more dying/ill than we are healthy.
    If you aren't working, you're an economic drain. The ideal for society would be that everybody would be healthy and able to work.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Fair ****s to whoever it was that noticed this old geezer with the pipe

T'was me:cool:

If you aren't working, you're an economic drain. The ideal for society would be that everybody would be healthy and able to work.

It's not economics lol, it's bigger than that, evidently. And keeping people sick is big industry, very big. :)

Yes, the concept of socio-economic Darwinism in action, a policy last seen enacted by the German National Socialist party in the 1930's I believe.

Are you seriously advocating euthanasia for the physically and mentally disabled?

Yes, the concept of socio-economic Darwinism in action, a policy last seen enacted by the German National Socialist party in the 1930's I believe.

Are you seriously advocating euthanasia for the physically and mentally disabled?

I can honestly say that that was the weirdest leap of the imagination that I've ever had in response to one of my posts. Bravo, sir!

Talk E wrote: »
    It's not economics lol, it's bigger than that, evidently. And keeping people sick is big industry, very big. :)

An industry bigger than the whole economy? That's a big one indeed! :)