Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Embarrassing Sleepwalking

• 19-06-2011 6:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

My first thread on boards... Basically I've had a problem where every so often I've gotten up in the middle of the night when I stay in other peoples houses and I've done or said stupid things while asleep. Just last night I was on a night out with friends, had a couple of drinks, nothing too heavy, decided to stay in a friends house as my car was there. I woke up and my t-shirt was soaked, and strangely enough my shirt which I wasn't wearing was soaked aswell. I checked the matress I was sleeping on and it was damp, flipped it over and it was soaked on the other side. I have absolutely no idea how it happened, but I'm pretty sure in my sleep I got up and urinated on both the matress I was sleeping on, and the floor beside it where my shirt was, then climbed back into the bed and went back to sleep. Something similar to this has happened about three years ago, and my friend was awake at the time and saw it happen, and later told me I was sleep walking. I basically just got my soaked things and left this morning before anyone else woke up but I'm mortified thinking that maybe they heard something or that maybe they'll smell it or see the stains. As I said this isn't something that happens often, I've stayed in this friends house probably twice or three times a week for about a year with no issues, but even once is bad enough, and now I'm afraid it'll happen again.

What I want to know is, does anybody else have similar issues? And if so is there anything I could do prior to sleeping that would minimise the risk of this happening again? Before anybody asks, I wasn't remotely locked, it was quite late though and I was very tired going to sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭I am a friend

Go back, own up and clean up your mess first of all.... :eek: I would go mad if someone peed on my matress and floor and just left it there...

Sounds like you are under some heavy mental stress. Have you talked to a doctor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

OMG I am actually stunned that you did a runner after urinating all over your friends gaff. Go back there immediately and apologise and clean up after yourself :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I basically just got my soaked things and left this morning before anyone else woke up but I'm mortified thinking that maybe they heard something or that maybe they'll smell it or see the stains.

There's no 'maybe' about it. They will smell and see it. And they'll think a lot worse of you for pissing and then pissing off than anything else. You need to go back with rubber gloves and cleaning products and hot water and make the room good again. That really is the priority. You're not a child so face up to this and sort out the room.

As for the sleepwalking problem. Perhaps you could see a Doctor to get some advice. That is if it's not down to the drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Rocket19

Omg..I have to agree, GO BACK and tell them what happened.

Yes, its mortifying, but (ew) they're going to smell it! It won't just go away! You're not 6, tell them what happened, apologise and clean it the hell up! What you did (by leaving it there) was totally disgusting.

As for what happened, I guess the only thing you can do is make sure you empty your bladder before sleeping. Kind of annoying if you've been out for a few drink, but I guess you'll have to put up with the inconvenience. I know it doesn't happen often, so you'll just have to make a conscience effort to pee before you go to bed (especially in other people's houses).
    As for the 'root' of the problem; are you stressed out? Sleepwalking usually stems from this.
    I would consider talking to my GP if I was you, even it was an irregular occurance, sounds like a really annoying problem.

Again, TELL YOUR FRIEND.Are you just hoping they won't notice? :confused: Yeah, they'll probably be kinda grossed out, but it will just be a funny story after a while. Leaving it there is just totally scummy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭snugglebear

oh my god definitley go back and own up and then maybe go and see a docter just in case
    when I was younger I had a house party in a flat I was renting about 10 years ago- some guy that was sleeping in the sitting room did urinate and worse all over the room in a number of spots- I've never forgotten it even though he did own up and clean up after himself- it would have been much worse if he had just bolted - I think as difficult as it may be honestly is the best policy in the long-term

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

Just last night I was on a night out with friends, had a couple of drinks, nothing too heavy,

There's your problem though. Time to take responsibility rather than making excuses. It doesn't matter if you were drunk or not, maybe it was the combination of alcohol and strange surroundings .. either cut out the alcohol or don't stay over at a friend's house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

I can't believe you did a runner after pissing all over your friend's bed. That's disgusting. I'm sure they would understand if it's an accident and you tell them about it and clean it up, but to run off and pretend nothing happened? That's just gross. Grow a pair and go back and sort it out.

This is Personal Issues... And him leaving isn't the issue. He asked about anything he could do before sleeping that could minimise the risk.

I honestly don't know OP.. In terms of sleeppissing, maybe stop drinking liquids a couple of hours before sleeping in a friend's house and always empty your bladder before bed. As for sleepwalking, I've no idea. Google is your friend with that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭I am a friend

This is Personal Issues... And him leaving isn't the issue. He asked about anything he could do before sleeping that could minimise the risk..

So you are giving out to people cos we are focussing on him leaving (the only sin as far as I am concerned...). What you are saying above is that he has posted this is in PI to get advice about something he could do to minimise the risk of it happening again...

Then your insightful input was....
    I honestly don't know OP.. .
    As for sleepwalking, I've no idea. Google is your friend with that one.

OP as everyone said, straighten out your friends house first.. Thats the most immediate problem here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Tuesday_Girl

A friend urinated on my couch last year while crashing here one night and did a runner next morning, it's a cream-coloured couch so the massive yellow stain was clearly visible and I had to get a company into steam clean it. It cost a lot but I was more annoyed with him for running off without even letting me know, the damage would have been less cos I didn't spot until that evening when it was dried in and I would also have appreciated his honesty. If this only happens when you're drinking, stop drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

This is Personal Issues... And him leaving isn't the issue. He asked about anything he could do before sleeping that could minimise the risk.

I honestly don't know OP.. In terms of sleeppissing, maybe stop drinking liquids a couple of hours before sleeping in a friend's house and always empty your bladder before bed. As for sleepwalking, I've no idea. Google is your friend with that one.

Him leaving is an issue because it is now an issue for his friends who have to deal with a couch that has been pissed on.

As for his actual issue of going to the bathroom while sleep-walking, well the obvious thing here is that he's been drinking. Obviously he's got a large volume of liquid in him before going to bed, and then he doesn't get up at night to pee in the bathroom. So the solution here is (a) don't drink as much and (b) if you are drinking, don't stay in a friend's house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

FFS the guy didn`t set out to pee on his mates gaff will yis lay off! How would you feel if you woke up and had peed on everything? He clearly feels bad enough to have posted here to get help of you lovely bunch.

Anyway Op I had a friend who did this few years ago, we were living in the same house, he was eventually diagnosed with alcoholism. Sorry if I`m of base but is there any chance Op that your drinking is worse than you think? Are you overly stressed? Do you feel anxious sleeping somewhere strange or have any other sleeping problems?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Could be much worse, a friend of mine once got out of the bed ans peed on his girlfriend, all while sound asleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Op,

Frequent peeing like this in your sleep can be an early sign of diabetes. It can also be a sign you're drinking too much. How much is "not too heavy" in your opinion? You should see your doctor about this and you should stop staying in friends house and buy a mattress protector and drink less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

Lots of men do this and it is the beginning of much bigger problems in terms of alcohol abuse/misuse. First they P in the bin or the dishwasher or dryer. Next they don't bother getting out of the bed and just let it go there and then.

Seriously consider your alcohol intake OP, maybe get yourself to AA or something if you find you can't stop. You're at the start of a very slippery slope which I am very familiar with.