Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking for some Pheasant Shooting.

• 18-06-2011 7:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12

Hi looking to take a few days pheasant shooting this year! can anyone recomend anywere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

I heard that Coolatin in Co.Wexford was the bees knees last year, €250 for a walked up day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

Heard of a shoot in Donegal thats meant to be quite reasonable,anyone know where i'm on about ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭td5

Have a look at www.drumbanaghershoot.co.uk Its in Armagh

• Site Banned Posts: 179 ✭✭JasonBourne

that looks like and awesome place. anyone been or know of other places like it? how much does something like that cost?

Heard figures of €1,000 per day for a few like it in this country :cool:

€1,000 per person or for a small group?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Sika98k

€1,000 per person or for a small group?

Per person.

Sika98k wrote: »
    Per person.

Yeah :D per person :cool:

And I believe they do not allow semi-autos & pumps and will just about tolerate over & unders :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

hello there all big game shooter my self ive been all round the world argentina shooting doves all day and shooting pheasnt as well but i have to say nothing like walking your own ground with dog no money needed just good few cartriges well thats my opionion any way

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 184 ✭✭custom 7mm08

anyone shot deer up here if so what was it like and how much did it cost

Yeah :D per person :cool:

And I believe they do not allow semi-autos & pumps and will just about tolerate over & unders :)

No Jack Pyke camo wearers need apply either:eek:.

Saying that,who ever has the money at the minute wins.I'd imagine if you rang and said that theres 6 of us with semi autos,we have Cash,we'el be all wearing jack pyke camo,and weel be requireing coolers for our cans of Bavarian Crown at our pegs,you'd probably get,certainly sir,woul you like some strippers to load for ye ?:D:D:D.

a grand a man??? think ill stick to my permissions! though would love a day doing something like that, i think youd need a big cigar and fine cognac too! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Shane.sf

Coolatin is the best place in Ireland!!

I was there 3 times last year at driven shoots and it was brilliant.

Duck or pheasant a full day with about 300 birds for everyone is about 600 max or you can share a gun and split the Price.

It's the only place I would concider spending my money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

http://www.glennooshoot.com/

I did some walked up last year. Gun supplied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

HERE HERE,B12B,BEST TYPE PHEASANTING SHOOTING THERE IS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 ranger679

thanks guys for your recommendations. have a few days booked now so i hope it goes well ;)

ranger679 wrote: »
    thanks guys for your recommendations. have a few days booked now so i hope it goes well ;)

I take it you done considerable research,where did you find the best value ,as a few of us are tinkering with the idea of a days driven/walked up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

Have to say i shot glennoo last month for walked up partridge, was pay per bird shot 26 between two of us , the two guys running it are spot on, i recommend it thoroughly

well i have quite a few days booked now, shot during the week at a shoot near strabane in co tyrone, on pheasant only- 1 of the guys i shot with there has invited me to share his gun on a shoot in donegal tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭beretta686s

u can beat free shooting i work in the agri sector an have got 600 plus acres in the last few weeks u cant beat that with a big wad of cash..........:D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

wanna be best mates beretta686s:P.. you always were my fav on here:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭beretta686s

Alchemist2 wrote: »
    wanna be best mates beretta686s:P.. you always were my fav on here:P

last year i was swapping a days shooting with lads,i bring lads here and they return the favour mite do it again this year ya never know so watch this space:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Halicarnassus

Guys, I've shot a semi-driven day in loughcutra last year, I thought it was better than a walk up, next best thing to doing a fully driven shoot. I shoot days in the UK also and they tend to get you in on a low fee but then hit you with an astronomical per bird fee after you go over 200 birds. I wasn't charged 1000 got it for around 800 for the day per gun, we had a bag of 240 thereabouts and I use a silver pigeon over and under, side by side also fine, semi-autos are not allowed. I have booked two more days this season with a few mates and got a good deal..... No strippers but a good deal none the less!! :)

hi guys, shot partridge and duck at the weekend at brackenhill shoot in co donegal. great high birds and found it very reasonably priced, compared to some. would definately reccommend it, going back to try the pheasants in late november.