Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starting Herb Garden in Cork

Options
  • 17-06-2011 8:43pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭

Hey guys,

So i'm a total novice. I'm doing alot of healthy cooking. So I'd like to start using fresh herbs rather than dried stuff. I'm living out in the country. Nice big garden....also have a million of planters outside the door.

Half barrels, plastic planters, and some nice oriental planters...

What i'm interested in would be chives, oregano, basil, rosemary, lemon grass and maybe even some spring onions.

I need advice on what kinda planter would be best....how deep should they be, what direction should they face, soil, gravel needed?

grow from seed vs planting young plants? Should i buy the plants from garden centre or will tesco ones do?

Come winter what should i do?

Comments

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭slowburner

Chives will do very well in a planter as will Rosemary and Oregano. We don't have the climate to grow Basil outdoors, unfortunately, but it will do fine on a window sill. Thyme will do very well in a planter too. All the above need full sun. Parsley likes a little bit of shade.
    A planter with at least 8 inches of good free draining soil would be ideal for herbs. A gravel mulch helps to keep the herbs clean.
    It is much better value (and more enjoyable) to grow herbs from seed.
    Most common herbs are frost hardy. Although I think there were reports here in another thread, of Rosemary not surviving the last two winters. My own Rosemary struggled, but made it through in the end.