Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does your OH play golf?

• 17-06-2011 12:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭

Mine doesn't. She may take it up when she's an awl one, that's seem to be protocol.

My mate who just got married has a golf playing wife. She's off 12 compared to his 19. As part of their honeymoon they headed off to Kerry in a camper van and played 6 or 7 rounds.

I'm not jealous at all :rolleyes: but it has got me thinking whether I'd like her to take it up sooner rather than later.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

My girlfriend ;) doesn't and she never will take it up. I like the fact it's my thing. We spend most of time together bar when I am golfing and she is out but I just couldn't be one of those couple's that seem to do everything together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭the anser

Mine does'nt either- though I think it would be a great thing if she did, I like the idea of getting some golf in on holidays (even though it would be mixed fourball- not the favourite format), good social aspect to it also.....benefits outwiegh the disadvantages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

No, nor will she ever get any encouragement from me to do so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭strokes1

f22 wrote: »

Couldnt agree more, jaysus the thoughts of it! Golf is my 4 hour weekly break from the "crazy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Irishvillian

Mine doesn't either,she's to busy cleaning my clubs and balls (golf balls):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,647 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

My Time = Golf Time
    Potential minefield if she ever took it up started golf.
    Women compete for enough attention never mind having the "why don't we go out for a round instead of you and the lads" battle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Young_gunner

i'm single but there's nowt more attractive than a fine bird with a great golf swing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

I'm not hitting my target audience, if she was to take it up, would you prefer she start sooner and be half decent in the future or take it up when she's in her fifties and be muck + nag you to play with her and to help her improve.

For those that don't have a bird, this is a hypothetical Friday afternoon situation like you've never seen before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭strokes1

Lock it down Licksy, lock it quick!!!

strokes1 wrote: »
    Lock it down Licksy, lock it quick!!!

Go home yourself and do what you're told :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,647 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Whyner wrote: »
    I'm not hitting my target audience, if she was to take it up, would you prefer she start sooner and be half decent in the future or take it up when she's in her fifties and be muck + nag you to play with her and to help her improve.

For those that don't have a bird, this is a hypothetical Friday afternoon situation like you've never seen before

Would you prefer to play with a fractured leg or a broken one:D
    In my case and the majority of other posters, it's like asking a vegetarian, would you like beef or lamb...
    I'll stop now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

i'm single but there's nowt more attractive than a fine bird with a great golf swing...

Sadly they're more likely to be 50+, 3 foot tall, 3 foot wide and you could easily accomodate their swing inside a wheelie bin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

I love this.

I do have a "ahem" bird, although she prefers the term "wife", and she doesn't play golf. She was very supportive of my joining a club early last year and really didn't mind me heading off early on a Sunday morning - especially as I get the kids up, dressed and fed before I go, giving her a bit of a lie-on. She's not as happy now, but puts up with it to be fair.

But back to the question, would I like her to take it up?

Yes, I would. I think it would give her a better appreciation of what its all about - why it takes me five hours between leaving the house in the morning and returning after "just one round" (She thinks its like my going out for "a" pint that manages to take up several hours...); why I'm out chipping in the front garden in the evenings; why I can easily spend an hour and a half "just hitting balls" at the range (which I do with a good mate every couple of weeks), sometimes up to 10pm on a weeknight; and why I can sit watching it (e.g. the US Open last night) for hours on end...

I would enjoy bringing her along to play, especially when we go away for a break and all that goes with that. It would make socialising in the clubhouse a lot easier too.

In terms of when would I like her to take it up, I find that difficult to answer to be honest. With small kids, its not going to happen anytime soon though...

C'mon Licksy, tell us what you think.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭xgtdec

i know a lad in the club whose wife is also a member, he was asked to play in a 4 man team and of course he agreed with pleasure!!

from across the bar his wife informs him that he cant because she is using "their" driver and putter that day but if he want to tee and putt with a 2 iron he can....needless to say he is still be ridiculed to this day!!!!

sharing a driver and putter is yet one more reason why your wife should never play golf!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭judosean2005

HA HA HA,did i mention ha
    Will i ask my wife to play golf with me??heeeellll no,
    Im terrible.she'll beat me around the course one way or another.

If i win,i better be running from a smack of an iron,
    If i lose,ill be mortified the rest of my life.

Sean----Sean do u remember in 2011 when i kicked ur arse at golf.do ya ??

Sean respectfully declines

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

mine wife has 0 interest in golf thank flock, golf course is my sanctuary!!

Most answers are what I expected. We'd be too embarrassed and they'd wreck our heads. Yeah?

Going back to my mate and his wife, I think it's deadly they can head off and enjoy different courses together. She gets on with the lads and enjoys a scoop like everyone else

I think it boils down to how you both get on, maybe this belongs in personal issues...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

where would i find them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

is this not trolling?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Myself and the Missus were in Kerry for a long weekend last summer and I brought her for a round with me as my "caddy"...
    She couldn't understand why I was bothering with a putter, she though it would be much handier to just hit it into the hole with my first shot and not have to putt at all......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭carnsoreboxer

My husband plays golf! It works very well for us. We do have terrific golfing trips away together and, when abroad, have usually been paired with 2 other lads which doesn't bother me.

One of the things that really works for us is that we are members of 2 different clubs so we get to have our own time apart and different golfing pals. However, the benefits are that we play in each others opens/invitationals and are equally known in each others clubs.

Works for us and I wouldn't have it any other way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

No one's bird plays golf. Never has, never will.
    Wives though, do play the game, taking it up after the youngest child starts school and they 'need to find something to do'.
    And become the bane of most golf clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭upthe19th

Not as yet and I would have said it would never happen.....but last week she asked if she could come to the range with me to see what all the fuss was about.

My thoughts immediately turned to all the Paula Creamer gear and to be honest lads I just don't like sharing my gear.:D;)
    Haven't slept a night since. Panic attacks. Sweats. The works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

My girlfriend plays golf. I got her going last year when got her set of clubs for her birthday. She is pretty decent considering she is only playing a few months. She picked up a TM Corza Ghost a few weeks ago she is mad to improve at the putting. Keeps up no problem and learning all the rules. Think a lot of people don't give young women a chance to get into the game TBH.

It's brilliant watching her crack drives out their past the fellas at the range. They do be absolutely mortified.

I actually enjoy playing with her TBH. If she played as much as I do I would imagine she would be very good probably better than me. She is very competitive also so have a few mixed fours I need to perform in later in the year :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

Whyner wrote: »
    I'm not hitting my target audience, if she was to take it up, would you prefer she start sooner and be half decent in the future or take it up when she's in her fifties and be muck + nag you to play with her and to help her improve

If she leaves it too long she'll end up with one of them swings that resemble a 1980's Japanese robot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭MiniGolf

k.p.h wrote: »
    I actually enjoy playing with her TBH.

You left yourself wide open there..... ;)

It was actually my wife that took the game up first, then I said I would give it a go and now I play more than her!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

My wife has expressed an interest but mostly because of a (now ex) co worker who was a lady captain in her club one year.

She see's the social aspect as much as golf but I have tried to encourage a form of outdoor activity that she hasn't grasped................yet............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Would you rather play around or play around with your better half? Mine took it up a couple if Years ago and is very handy. Member of different club as Carnsore has said helps and Whyer we will have you in mixed if she ever takes it up 

k.p.h wrote: »
    I actually enjoy playing with her TBH. If she played as much as I do I would imagine she would be very good probably better than me.

Might as well take the full sentence out of context while your at it MIni ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Beaulieu

Good test of a relationship. One of my best memories when we were "going out" was my wife parring a tricky Par 3. Sealed a brilliant weekend and we're still a decent pair ;) 15+ years later.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

I would like my missus to take up the game. I wouldn't envisage that we'd play much golf together because I tend to prefer competitive rather than social golf, although if she got into it she might get competitive too.
    It could mean some nice trips around the country with the clubs in the boot. We played that nice little course at Parknasilla years ago...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

Mine liked the idea at first, nice way to be outdoors with friends and all that.

Got the clubs from her mother, bought some cool shoes, joined a club (Celtic tiger), played 9 holes with a friend, had tea and scone in the clubhouse, never darkened its door again.

Game over ! Golf isn't for everyone.

(McIlroy back to -13 - come on !)

My girlfriend here with me now watching the golf. She pure glued to it. Probably going to hit the range tomorrow and get a game if weather not too bad. She never played or watched any sports before golf. Just go's to show some would like it if introduced. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭coleen

From the female's point of view:
    We both play and have now for the past 15 years. Himself off 10 and myself off 18. We do have our own playing groups he has 4 ball partners every sat morning and plays in the men's comp on Sunday. I play some sat and in the competitions on Sunday. It is very good when we head off for a weekend as we always bring our clubs and places are choosen for the golf courses . We would often play a round after work during the week in the summer time. I have more of an understanding when a round goes from 4 hours to 6 hours for different reasons and also when he feels the need to tell me about every shot I can pretend to listen and make the right noises, (I hate it when anyone male or female wants to tell you about their round shot for shot).
    I took it up when chicks were small but now are off doing their own thing so it works fine now. I think it is important to have seperate golfing partners and then have some social golf together. I have some friends who have taken up golf just to sit in the club house and chat and never want to play competitive golf and thats fine also.
    We have now been sitting since 7pm watching golf and urging Rory on so 5 hours of golf on the TV would drive a non golfer mad so that another plus.
    So it has lots of positives but keeping your own space is important too.
    So no fear boys !

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

If I was to call Mrs. Clareman my bird I'd have to get my golf bag removed from my **se

And no, she doesn't play, she shops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Surely Its clarewoman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

My wife comes from serious quality golfing stock (scratch and +1 handicaps) but has never played and no desire to. We stayed at Rathsallagh a few years back and she walked around with me when I played the course. From 160 yards out I knocked a 7 iron onto the green and then gave her the club, dropped a ball and told her to give it a bash.

She hit it over the green, so no, I don't want my wife to take up the game - she'd make me look like muck. And she's the only person I've met who has not an ounce of competitive spirit in her body.

Took her to play pitch and putt once. She parred 5 of the 9 holes.

That was the end of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,672 ✭✭✭Oblomov

Got a friend who introduced his wife to golf.

Won the Ladies tournament, plays off a low scratch figure and looks wonderful swinging the club..

Apparently, it's helped the relationship no end.. good luck I say.

My wife comes from serious quality golfing stock (scratch and +1 handicaps) but has never played and no desire to. We stayed at Rathsallagh a few years back and she walked around with me when I played the course. From 160 yards out I knocked a 7 iron onto the green and then gave her the club, dropped a ball and told her to give it a bash.

She hit it over the green, so no, I don't want my wife to take up the game - she'd make me look like muck. And she's the only person I've met who has not an ounce of competitive spirit in her body.

If you thought she'd be good why not encourage it?

Surely you get lonely in that campervan? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭joanmul

My husband tried for years to get me to take up golf ( when it was cheaper to join, sadly). He even bought me a full set of beginners clubs. While the kids were small I couldn't even think of going off for 8 hours - the time it takes to get to the club, change, play for 4 - 5 hours, change, have a meal or a drink and then home. The kids had drama, swimming lessons, parties, piano lessons, guitar lessons and I work part-time. Need I say more?

Finally, I took it up when I was 49 and the kids were old enough to look after themselves and go places themselves. I could see that if I could have taken it up at a much younger age I would have become a better golfer quicker.

As for our relationship - it is great having it as a common interest. We have gone on several golfing trips in Ireland together and separately. He goes with his friends on weekends or longer trips and I go on mine with my friends. We have gone abroad together and separately on golf trips too. (I'm organising one for 12 of my friends in July.) We were up till all hours last night watching Rory McIlroy shoot the lights out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭judosean2005

joanmul wrote: »
    My husband tried for years to get me to take up golf ( when it was cheaper to join, sadly). He even bought me a full set of beginners clubs. While the kids were small I couldn't even think of going off for 8 hours - the time it takes to get to the club, change, play for 4 - 5 hours, change, have a meal or a drink and then home. The kids had drama, swimming lessons, parties, piano lessons, guitar lessons and I work part-time. Need I say more?

Finally, I took it up when I was 49 and the kids were old enough to look after themselves and go places themselves. I could see that if I could have taken it up at a much younger age I would have become a better golfer quicker.

As for our relationship - it is great having it as a common interest. We have gone on several golfing trips in Ireland together and separately. He goes with his friends on weekends or longer trips and I go on mine with my friends. We have gone abroad together and separately on golf trips too. (I'm organising one for 12 of my friends in July.) We were up till all hours last night watching Rory McIlroy shoot the lights out.

Thats pretty awesome story. Im kind of in same boat,Im 26,have 18 month old twins,so i guess im lucky to have4 hours to play at all,:) But i would like my wife to eventually play goldf if she was interested,but i wanna practise a little first :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭getoffthepot

My missus plays and so does my son. I play as much as I like as a result which can be 3 to 4 times a week in the summer, sometimes more. My mum and dad also played. Again we don't play together that much. I'd recommend it, the more they know about it the easier it is to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭kob29

where would i find them?

Give us 6 months and look here ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭I am a friend

f22 wrote: »

Is this 'after hours' or a sporting thread? It is heartening to know the
    misogynist is alive, well and living in Ireland... :mad:

Would it not be nice to have something in common other than kids? I dont play much now as I am expecting but my parents both play (mid 60's) but seldom golf together unless on holidays as they have their own friends to play with... The point is that its a joint interest and they have great chats about the golf, their games and are both Sky Sports 2 addicts... They have a much better relationship because of it...

Misogynist? That's a pretty outrageous judgement based on one sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,672 ✭✭✭Oblomov

Different horses for different courses.

Misogynistic, maybe it's the same as not wanting your wife to have the same hobby, the same interests, the same taste in films, the difference choice of colours.. but

It's nice that no two people are the same