Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which of the following sporting achievements would mean more to the nation?

• 17-06-2011 9:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528
    ✭✭✭

Winning another 6 Nations Grand SlamorQualifying for the football European Championships?I'm posting it on here as opposed to the sports section as I daresay the majority are casual/fairweather sports fans. :)

?? 118 votes

Rugby is ghey
    0% 0 votes
    Soccer is ghey
    44% 52 votes
    biko is ghey
    55% 66 votes

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 Dunjohn
    ✭✭✭

The football one. The rugby team's good enough but I was raised during the Charlton years damn it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 GavRedKing
    ✭✭✭✭

European championship.

More teams, tougher competition to win and you have to qualify for it.

Those egg chasing lads have it easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 jimthemental
    ✭✭✭

The grand slam, the heart and pride is gone from Irish football in my opinion with all the absenteeism over the last month. Rugby is just a better sport too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 IRISHSPORTSGUY
    ✭✭✭

The European Championships, of course. Like it or not (and I love it!) football is the global sport, rugby isn't played or watched on anywhere near the same scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 Opelfruit
    ✭✭

Godot. wrote: »
    Winning another 6 Nations Grand SlamorQualifying for the football European Championships?I'm posting it on here as opposed to the sports section as I daresay the majority are casual/fairweather sports fans. :)
    Depends on your sporting preferences really! If I had to choose I'd pick the rugby, but only because I prefer that sport over soccer and I hate plastic hammers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 orourkeda
    ✭✭✭✭

The grand slam, the heart and pride is gone from Irish football in my opinion with all the absenteeism over the last month. Rugby is just a better sport too.

No it isnt. Its the most most mentally retarded sport ever invemted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 kfallon
    ✭✭✭✭

Qualifying for the Euro's!

Couldn't give a monkey's about the rugby.....Westbrits :pac:

*dons tin hat*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 Celly Smunt
    ✭✭✭

grand slam,professional football is pants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 phasers
    ✭✭✭✭

The European Championships, of course. Like it or not (and I love it!) football is the global sport, rugby isn't played or watched on anywhere near the same scale.
    Well, the sports guy has spoken. Lock the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 IRISHSPORTSGUY
    ✭✭✭

The world disagrees. ;)

• Ahhh....how about none of them as in reality sport is irrelevant to the actual well being of a nation and its people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 squod
    ✭✭✭

Why only two sports ball games OP. How about something we're traditionally good at? Horse racing, boxing etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 token56
    ✭✭✭

Glad Slam,

maybe getting the quarters in europe would be better but just qualifying I wouldn't rate as highly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 stovelid
    ✭✭✭✭

I would imagine that Liverpool finally winning the Premiership would bring unmitigated joy to the hardcore scousers of Skibbereen, Boyle and Belturbet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 Kojak
    ✭✭✭✭

What about winning the World Gurning Championships?

Surely that would put a smile on eveyone's face...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 mailforkev
    ✭✭✭

I have no interest at all in the soccer (to the point where I don't generally even know when Ireland are playing) but even I reckon that qualifying for the European Championship would mean more to more people.

I can remember previous WCs and ECs and the buzz it created around the place.

✭✭

The world disagrees. ;)
    You mean the Third World disagrees. Soccer is in terminal decline in Europe and other first world countries. The reasons it became popular in the first place no longer applies there. Soccers day is over, the sports of the next century will be tennis, basketball, rugby etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 Seachmall
    ✭✭✭

orourkeda wrote: »
    No it isnt. Its the most most mentally retarded sport ever invemted.

I don't follow sport and only watch the odd rugby or soccer game but even I can see there is some amount of technique, tactics and strategy involved in rugby. It's not a game where you can have one solid player and let him support the team, the whole team needs to know exactly what's going on and work together.

With soccer you could have one player doing all the work (which happens a lot imo) but the real beauty comes when they all are perfectly in sync and have a proper plan (as oppose to "pass to [insert over-payed metrosexual here]")

Both games are great when played well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 Guill
    ✭✭✭

Thread lacks pool

1) Ruggers

2) Soccer

3) Football

4) Football is for lads that can't play hurling

5) Dungeons and Dragoons

✭✭✭✭

Seachmall wrote: »
    I don't follow sport and only watch the odd rugby or soccer game but even I can see there is some amount of technique, tactics and strategy involved in rugby. It's not a game where you can have one solid player and let him support the team, the whole team needs to know exactly what's going on and work together.

With soccer you could have one player doing all the work (which happens a lot imo) but the real beauty comes when they all are perfectly in sync and have a proper plan (as oppose to "pass to [insert over-payed metrosexual here]")

Football is a team sport as is rugby. By its very nature some players will be more influential than others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 mackg
    ✭✭✭

I will put it this way, I follow both sports and have lived through some great seasons for Irish rugby Grand Slams, Triple Crowns, Heineken Cups. But I would trade all that for a night comparable to making the quarter finals in Italia 90.

✭✭✭✭

Opelfruit wrote: »
    You mean the Third World disagrees. Soccer is in terminal decline in Europe and other first world countries. The reasons it became popular in the first place no longer applies there. Soccers day is over, the sports of the next century will be tennis, basketball, rugby etc.

Ah hahahahahahahahahahahahaha.....pure comedy gold :rolleyes:

Association Football will always be the world's most popular sport because it is the best!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 TheZohanS
    ✭✭✭✭

Winning the 6 Nations and Grand Slam of course.

How on earth could that compare to merely qualifying for the Euro's? We're too used to having a great rugby team, that's the problem.

✭✭

kfallon wrote: »
    Ah hahahahahahahahahahahahaha.....pure comedy gold :rolleyes:

Association Football will always be the world's most popular sport because it is the best!
    Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair!

A dying sport.

✭✭✭

orourkeda wrote: »
    Football is a team sport as is rugby. By its very nature some players will be more influential than others.

It's far more clear in soccer. Rugby is less individual skill and more team effort (that is what is was designed for isn't it? To be all inclusive and be less focused on individual skill).

I'm not criticizing either sport, I was responding to the quoted comment that Rugby is for retards.

✭✭✭✭

TheZohan wrote: »

How on earth could that compare to merely qualifying for the Euro's? We're too used to having a great rugby team, that's the problem.

Most of us are used to have a relatively poor rugby team....it's only the blow ins from the last 6 or 7 years who are used to success.

Most of them couldn't tell you who Tony Ward, Ralph Keyes, Eric Elwood, Simon Geoghegan or Brendan Mullin are!

✭✭✭✭

Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair!

A dying sport.

So you're saying Rugby is more popular worldwide and indeed in this country???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 biko
    ✭✭✭✭

Poll added

✭✭

Most of us are used to have a relatively poor rugby team....it's only the blow ins from the last 6 or 7 years who are used to success.

Most of them couldn't tell you who Tony Ward, Ralph Keyes, Eric Elwood, Simon Geoghegan or Brendan Mullin are!
    Irish outside backs of the 90s didnt know who Eric Elwood was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 Kojak
    ✭✭✭✭

Why is this thread limited to Soccer and rugby?

Surely other sports should get a mention, for example the performance of the irish cricket team at the last world cup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 Quazzie
    ✭✭✭✭

Poll is multiple choice. Woohoo. I wouldn't have voted if I couldn't also say that Biko was ghey!

✭✭✭

In recent years we have seen the emergence of Austrailia, New Zealand, North Korea, South Korea etc etc etc begin to field better and better international teams along with the rapid growth of the game in Africa. As well as the fact that peripheral european nations getting stronger. This the first I have heard of this decline. More than likely a joke post but just in case....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 Kidchameleon
    ✭✭✭

Seachmall wrote: »

Therefore your opinion doesn't count.

✭✭

So you're saying Rugby is more popular worldwide and indeed in this country???
    No, soccers popularity in many countries is in decline as participation in other sports increases. Soccer could be played anywhere by anyone. This was not true of rugby, basketball, volleyball etc as you needed certain equipment & numbers to play. In Europe and the rest of the first world this is no longer an issue. Basketball wasnt even played in Europe 50 years ago, now its the second most popular team sport. The world changes, soccers decline is part of that change.

✭✭✭✭

TheZohan wrote: »

Irish sports fans follow success.

When our soccer team were qualifying for world cups in the nineties our rugby team were an embarrassment. Which team were the most popular back then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 Snickers Man
    ✭✭✭

Irish outside backs of the 90s didnt know who Eric Elwood was!

A tad unfair but very funny. :D

Actually I think that would be more appositely said about Barry McGann or Mick English. But then you have to be REALLY old to remember either of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 Snickers Man
    ✭✭✭

The world disagrees. ;)

The Irish public doesn't.

More people go regularly to see Munster and Leinster play in the Magners League (or whatever it will be called next year) than to see Ireland (or at least the southern three quarters of it) play the world cup semifinalists in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ejmaztec
    ✭✭✭✭

Kojak wrote: »
    Why is this thread limited to Soccer and rugby?

Surely other sports should get a mention, for example the performance of the irish cricket team at the last world cup?

...or face-palming sports like female boxing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 Sanjuro
    ✭✭✭

I fail to see the appeal in football. 22 mentally undevelloped millionaire sexual deviants desperately trying to kick a ball at a net. Sorry. Just don't get it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,537 ancapailldorcha
    CMod ✭✭✭✭

Rugby, on account of it actually being a sport.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

✭✭✭

Therefore your opinion doesn't count.
    I don't follow sport and only watch the odd rugby or soccer game but even I can see ...

Reading comprehension is a fantastic skill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 macman2010
    ✭✭

playing football is great i play for a team, but its like watching paint dry (unless its barca)
    + you have all the sheite that goes with it. Giggs, Sepp blatter, Rooney swearing into the camera. I for one would not want my children looking up to these overpaid morons. Lets face it half of the premiership footballers would be on rogue traders if they didnt know how to kick a ball.

i for one have become completely disillusioned with professional football ( as have many of my freinds).

Rugby is getting very popular in Ireland due to the success of the national & provincial teams and rightly so IMO.
    Professional rugby is better is now better than football.
    Ireland winning the RWC in September would be the highlight.

✭✭✭✭

More people go regularly to see Munster and Leinster play in the Magners League (or whatever it will be called next year) than to see Ireland (or at least the southern three quarters of it) play the world cup semifinalists in Dublin.

If it was a WC Semi Final the place would be packed, I bet I could pick some Magners League games involving Connacht where the attendances are pretty poor.

It all depends on the context and opposition in the games. The Uruguay match was a friendly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 Kevin Duffy
    ✭✭✭

It's kinda depressing that you can't really discuss sport in Ireland without quickly becoming an airing of mindless prejudicies - your sport is ghey! No, yours is! Yore ma is ghey! Yore ma is sporty! I play something or other therefore it is the best! So do I so my opinion counts more!.....yawn.

I'll take both Ireland winning the 6 Nations (actually, Grand Slam, we're due) and the club competitions in rugby, plus qualifying for Euros 'cos that me holliers plan for next year. I know the question was either or, but I don't care! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 roryc
    ✭✭✭

Soccer is not declining, quite the opposite in fact. You are basing your opinion on absolutely nothing. Particpation in Asian and African countries, as well as soccer shooting up the rankings in America is causing the membership of the game to increase exponentially (approx 3.5 billion fans worldwide - thats HALF the worlds population). It is both the most played, and most watched by a considerable amount.

Basketball isn't even in the top five by estimated number of fans

http://www.mostpopularsports.net/

Back up your opinion with some facts from reputable sources, or admit you are making this up because you don't like football.

✭✭✭

Play an Ireland soccer match in Thomond park and i will go to it. Its unfortunate that the cost of accomodation, travel and tickets for international soccer make it a fairly big stretch in terms of cash for all the fans outside of Dublin and its surroundings, on top of the fact many games are played midweek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ClashCityRocker
    ✭✭✭

Don't be silly :rolleyes:

Everyone knows Ralph and Tony are commentators on rte.

✭✭✭✭

Sanjuro wrote: »
    I fail to see the appeal in football. 22 mentally undevelloped millionaire sexual deviants desperately trying to kick a ball at a net. Sorry. Just don't get it.

As opposed to rugby where you are not allowed pass the ball forward and the highlight for many player is squeezing an opposition players bollox in the scrum :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ejmaztec
    ✭✭✭✭

Soccer players wouldn't play rugby because their make-up would get ruined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 loobylou
    ✭✭✭

Pains me to say it but the Yanks have been right all along. Soccer is a girls game.

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.