Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junior Cert 2011: Home ec

• 16-06-2011 3:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭

Friday 17th June 2011.
    Evening 2:00 - 4:30

Am I the only one doing it or something? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

I'm doing it. I couldn't care less what I get in this exam to be honest...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Indiego

haha yay im not alone :L I never see it mentioned on here so i assumed i was the minority :L

i actually love home ec, and im aiming for an A in it, though my practical was a bit of a mess XD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭P H A 7V T O M

For our home ec exam we (well I) made Napalm using Tropicana Orange Juice and , Styrafoam and Petrol. Hardly going to end up on Masterchef, but maybe I'll get a C for "creative'

Oh wait, I don't do Home Ec....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Doublechinlolz

For our home ec exam we (well I) made Irish Stew out of apples, mouldy bananas, and old school uniforms. Hardly going to end up on Masterchef, but maybe I'll get a C for "creative'

MarkD09 wrote: »
    For our home ec exam we (well I) made Irish Stew out of apples, mouldy bananas, and old school uniforms. Hardly going to end up on Masterchef, but maybe I'll get a C for "creative'

D for "duplicated post (lol?)"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭juncert

Home Ec for me tomorrow,project and cooking went well made Quiche and raspberry buns:)
    Any hints on what you think will come up?going to look over meat,fish etc fabrics,think budgets will come up.Should be ok for the body with science.Whats everyone looking over?

juncert wrote: »
    Home Ec for me tomorrow,project and cooking went well made Quiche and raspberry buns:)
    Any hints on what you think will come up?going to look over meat,fish etc fabrics,think budgets will come up.Should be ok for the body with science.Whats everyone looking over?

The section "Being an Effective Housewife" is the best one for revision, it comes up a lot - chapter 23 in Home-Ec Matters Textbook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 AnnKiins

:¬|

ANYWAYS!
    Don't worry you'll be grand!
    Home.Ecs pretty much revision of everything we did in 1st year so I'm show you'll be just fine :D

AnnKiins wrote: »
    :¬|
    Doesn't that smiley represent anxiety? Maybe I'm wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭SChique00

I'm starting to study it (and maybe learn something) for the first time! Our teacher did absolutely NOTHING with us over the past 3 years; it's up to me to scrape myself a pass. What I do know about HE is pieced together from Business, Science (even though they're both compulsory, it's a bit of a blessing in a disguise; at least I don't have to look over the body or budgeting) and a little bit of Technology.
    Does anybody have any predictions on trends or questions that always show up? We had to buy exam papers but we've only done 1 since September. I actually did out several others, but when I asked her to correct them she wouldn't! What am I to supposed to do? Good luck everyone who actually HAS a decent teacher :L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭juncert

Textiles seems to come up nearly every year so going over that.Technology has'nt come up for a while.Going to look over consumer,budgets and meal planning.Its great that 50% of the marks are already done so get half the exam right and should get a good honour.Good luck tomorrow.Great to be finished :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭rorrissey

I got a B in the pre with no study so I'm fairly easy going about the exam tomorrow. My cooking practical was pretty bad though, I didn't finish my washing up in time.. And the cushion I made is desperate! BUUUT whatever. I hate home ec, I don't plan on keeping it up for LC.

Main reason I hate it is because ALL the home ec teachers in my school are horrible.. Everybody I've ever asked even from other schools have said they have mean home ec teachers too. Is it just a given that every home ec teacher is evil?! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 dieselbabe

rorrissey wrote: »
    I got a B in the pre with no study so I'm fairly easy going about the exam tomorrow. My cooking practical was pretty bad though, I didn't finish my washing up in time.. And the cushion I made is desperate! BUUUT whatever. I hate home ec, I don't plan on keeping it up for LC.

Main reason I hate it is because ALL the home ec teachers in my school are horrible.. Everybody I've ever asked even from other schools have said they have mean home ec teachers too. Is it just a given that every home ec teacher is evil?! :P
    oh dont worry about the washing up..as long as you had your evaluation done your fine. thats where the bulk marks are. I HATE home ec. im a complete C student no matter how hard i try. that and maths are the two subjects i just dont get:mad: ah well.. im definately not keeping it on for the L.C :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 dieselbabe

Indiego wrote: »
    Friday 17th June 2011.

Evening 2:00 - 4:30

Am I the only one doing it or something? :(
    i wish..:p :(:confused:

Weeell, good luck lads! :L I might do some studying now before the exam. I'm fairly good at bull****ting home ec though! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

Ummm is it bad that I was finished after forty minutes?

The thing is, I felt like I did pretty well. Like, not A standard, especially not with my practical, but that exam went fine. The short questions were grand, didn't love the long questions but I got by graaand and even did an extra one, despite never having used a sewing machine I made up some crap. Totally ignoring home ec worked fine...

And I'm finished now. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭DaNiEl1994

Slow Show wrote: »
    Ummm is it bad that I was finished after forty minutes?

The thing is, I felt like I did pretty well. Like, not A standard, especially not with my practical, but that exam went fine. The short questions were grand, didn't love the long questions but I got by graaand and even did an extra one, despite never having used a sewing machine I made up some crap. Totally ignoring home ec worked fine...

And I'm finished now. :D

it was simple and i left after 40 minutes aswell higher level is a joke ha :D does anyone know did we have any percent going into the exam?

I did 5 questions and left within 40 minutes as well. :L so easy!
    I'm free for the rest of the summer now. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭shadowninty

Hope ye all did well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 polkadotfluff

Yeah, twas purdy easy but I thought I had written enough with half a booklet and then some girl wrote a booklet and a half!!:/ At least I'm done now :D

Is the part where you cook like Masterchef? Sounds like fun, though my culinary skills stretch as far as Pot Noodles and Baked Beans...

Dinner is served!