Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joe Duffy Fiver Friday?

• 16-06-2011 2:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 49

I wasn't sure where to post this, as it's part question, part deals.
    Joe Duffy is on at the moment, and they're talking about "Fiver Friday", Which is set for July 1st.
    The idea, i think, is to encourage people to spend an extra Fiver on that day, to help the economy, by offering something that wouldn't normally be €5, for €5.

E.G. One guy in Finglas is offering a car tune-up for a Fiver, instead of the €45 regular price.

I thought it might be good if people could post the offers that they have heard about already into this thread. I only caught the one deal, and i am about to listen to the Podcast and will post more as i hear them.
    I'm not sure how long this has been going, so maybe there's a lot more deals on offer then just what is on todays show.

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/

Fiver Friday Podcast - pod-v-15061115m35slivelinefiver-pid0-935568.mp3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

about as much use as Earth Hour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

How much are we paying Joe that day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,283 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

I don't get it... Wouldn't it be better for the guy to charge €50 instead of €5 so more tax is paid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭pissed

Heard a bit of the show today while out driving. Think the opticians in charlestown finglas are doing an eye examination for a fiver. Best to ring first and confirm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭iisollie

Joe Duffy - enough said ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭conorcan2

There's a site up now for details. See my signature. (BTW, it's not affiliated with Joe Duffy).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭soc

conorcan2 wrote: »
    There's a site up now for details. See my signature. (BTW, it's not affiliated with Joe Duffy).

The site says:
    The first Friday of each month is 'Fiver Friday', when people all over Ireland spend 5 euro extra buying Irish products or services

I'm confused :confused:

If something WAS €45 and is being offered for €5, how is that spending €5 EXTRA when you're getting a reduction of €40 on something?

How is this kick-starting the economy? Sure, you're getting people to buy things that they probably wouldn't have bought, but how does the business taking the hit for price reduction benefit the economy? They still have their own 'keep-lights-on' costs, salaries, etc... unless of course, salaries & the likes only cost business a fiver as well on the day ;)

IMO this is a silly idea, and whoever dreamt this up should get a slap in the side of the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭10green bottles

soc wrote: »
    The site says:

If something WAS €45 and is being offered for €5, how is that spending €5 EXTRA when you're getting a reduction of €40 on something?

How is this kick-starting the economy? Sure, you're getting people to buy things that they probably wouldn't have bought, but how does the business taking the hit for price reduction benefit the economy? They still have their own 'keep-lights-on' costs, salaries, etc... unless of course, salaries & the likes only cost business a fiver as well on the day ;)

IMO this is a silly idea, and whoever dreamt this up should get a slap in the side of the head.
    Repeat buisness!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

The site says:

who cares - this is the bargain section and it's a bargain to get the car tune up for €5 so more power to the fiver friday thingy :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

The site says:

Higher turnover, smaller margin, easily can mean the same or greater profit.

Business not a strong point?

The site says:

Me too! :confused: When Fiver Friday started out I thought it was about getting people to spend 5 euro where they mightn't ordinarily have spent it, it wasn't about deals at all!

But then the emphasis changed somewhat (or maybe I'm wrong with the original premise) and business owners started advertising deals/bargains.

With FiverFriday.com, I'd like to get away from the idea of 'deals for a fiver' and on to 'spend a fiver supporting Irish business'.

The word 'extra', i.e. 'extra fiver' highlights the fact that it's not just about a fiver only, it's about making a bit of an effort to buy more Irish products. It's as much symbolic as anything else.

Then again, the original intention might be different. If you know, PM me!

Well, it's not my idea, but I shall slap myself on the side of the head nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Access

i love the idea, dont get me wrong, but some of the businesses coming on had great ideas like mini valets for €5, but some were just ****e like stating they were going to do 6 chicken fillets for €5??? - any butchers round here do that anyways.

I will be spending on the day anyways,

One a side note, i would love to get on liveline this week to state that i will be doing breast examinations for a fiver!

:D:D:D

Access wrote: »

One a side note, i would love to get on liveline this week to state that i will be doing breast examinations for a fiver!

:D:D:D

Did you leave that comment? You're making my interweb site look very classy :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Access

conorcan2 wrote: »
    Did you leave that comment? You're making my interweb site look very classy :eek:

yeah, sorry i had too! :D you can take it down if you like, will put up a nicer one. fair dues though, hopefully this will take off and maybe could be done a day a month for the future?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

The whole original idea was for every person on this day that has become known as fiver Friday to spend €5 on Irish locally produced goods or services to give the Irish economy but more importantly small local business a bit of a boost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Stupid idea tbh. Just go out and buy Irish products if you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

I'll just drink an extra pint

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

JustEat.ie confirm they will have €5 meals this friday the 1st in the Dublin region.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

Grand, so rather than spending 10.20 on Burger and chips and Coke , I buy it for a fiver..

Spend an extra 5 by all means, as the extra tax etc...buy why decrease the price?

Stupid Idea, who thought of this.....

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Cionád

Grand, so rather than spending 10.20 on Burger and chips and Coke , I buy it for a fiver..

Spend an extra 5 by all means, as the extra tax etc...buy why decrease the price?

Incentive.

I think the aim is to get people who were not planning on getting a take-away to get one on impulse... like the national fish and chips day, they must have sold 5 times as many fish + chips that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 ck2

Seriously scary comments here . its not rocket science! forget the fact that its discounted. if you were not planning on, for example, buying a chipper dinner, getting your eyes tested, valeting the car, but the fiver friday thing is making you get one of these services, then its a success.

Why discount? because if you wont take the chipper dinner for 10.50 that equals no sales for the chipper but if 10 people take the chipper dinner for a 5 that equals 50 quid sales. its far better to have your business full to the brim with people spending a fiver then empty while asking a higher price.

The thinking is you are spending AN EXTRA fiver on something you would not normally buy so an extra fiver is in the economy. i dont understand all the bah humbugs i think its a great idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

snubbleste wrote: »
    JustEat.ie confirm they will have €5 meals this friday the 1st in the Dublin region.

Not only for the 1st of July, for the MONTH of July :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

snubbleste wrote: »
    January wrote: »
    Not only for the 1st of July, for the MONTH of July :D

Typical Dublin bias! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Seperate

ck2 wrote: »
    Seriously scary comments here . its not rocket science! forget the fact that its discounted. if you were not planning on, for example, buying a chipper dinner, getting your eyes tested, valeting the car, but the fiver friday thing is making you get one of these services, then its a success.

Why discount? because if you wont take the chipper dinner for 10.50 that equals no sales for the chipper but if 10 people take the chipper dinner for a 5 that equals 50 quid sales. its far better to have your business full to the brim with people spending a fiver then empty while asking a higher price.

The thinking is you are spending AN EXTRA fiver on something you would not normally buy so an extra fiver is in the economy. i dont understand all the bah humbugs i think its a great idea.

It's actually scary that you think like that. If a chipper dinner sells for €12, lets assume the chipper is making 40% profit on it. That means it costs them €5.20. Lets say the world goes mad and they sell DOUBLE what they normally would in a day. For arguments sake, lets say the average for the day would be 100 sales. So normally, they'd have €1200 takings, the stuff has cost them €520, so a nice healthy profit of €680.

Now, double the sales @ €5 a go = €1000 takings. The stuff has cost them €1040. A loss of €40, the staff have worked twice as hard and potentially loyal customers have walked away because of the huge queues, and may think twice about coming again tomorrow.

They'd be far better off selling at a normal price and making money, then discounting to get the sales, and not actually making a cent!

It's well and good for Hutton & Meade to offer the €5 valet, because their main revenue stream is selling cars and the valeting is more a convenience to customers then anything else.

Separate, get real. we are talking about a 2 spuds and a lump of fish €5.20 cost to the chipper???? i take you dont own a chipper or you dont visit one often. someone else mentioned the national fish and chip day, half price and you couldnt get into the chipper. not 100 sales in a day but in an hour. you can be sure that even at a fiver they are making a profit but that aside, a lot of the offers are service based like the valet, eye exam etc which dont have much outlay apart from the people power and the overheads which a company will have anyway whether they charge 5 euro or 50 euro. the only difference is the place will be mobbed for the 5 euro offer.

i myself have booked my better half in for an eye test. why pay 15 euro when i can pay 5. and if it turns out glasses are needed well chances are that i would buy from them, dont you get it? its a chance for businesses to reach people they wouldnt normally get in with a chance of an add on sale or repeat business. like i said before i think its a great idea and feck the begruders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

i myself have booked my better half in for an eye test. why pay 15 euro when i can pay 5. and if it turns out glasses are needed well chances are that i would buy from them, dont you get it? its a chance for businesses to reach people they wouldnt normally get in with a chance of an add on sale or repeat business. like i said before i think its a great idea and feck the begruders.

Buy glasses online, waaaay cheaper :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

Joe should offer a deal of a €5 to punch him in the head....the country would be out of debt in no time!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Joe says he'll work for a fiver this friday and every friday and give the rest back to the taxpayer.. (no not really)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

No wonder the country is in ruins when it's obvious people haven't a clue what business is...

Some of the replies in this thread are down right stupid.

Incentive and future revenue are two words that spring to mind, why people are getting worked up over a bargain alert, I don't understand

Oh and I agree with lafors :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

Jaysus, cancel that test!
    They'll definitely leave you if they see the state of ya! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

about 80% of the country is eligile for free eye testing

just sayin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Seperate

Separate, get real. we are talking about a 2 spuds and a lump of fish €5.20 cost to the chipper???? i take you dont own a chipper or you dont visit one often. someone else mentioned the national fish and chip day, half price and you couldnt get into the chipper. not 100 sales in a day but in an hour. you can be sure that even at a fiver they are making a profit but that aside, a lot of the offers are service based like the valet, eye exam etc which dont have much outlay apart from the people power and the overheads which a company will have anyway whether they charge 5 euro or 50 euro. the only difference is the place will be mobbed for the 5 euro offer.

You're the one who doesn't get it. Commercial rent and rates in this country are astronomical. So is insurance. So is electricity prices. So is employers PRSI. So is phone charges. So is health and safety plans and fire extinguisher services. So are credit card machine charges. So are banks charges for business in general. So are accountant fees. So is the minimum wage. It's not just the price of a couple of spuds and a burger that you're paying for. If you think they make more then €6 out of a €12 sale, you're mistaken.

You're second paragraph just reiterates what I said, they can do the 5eur eye test without any major problems as they make most of their money on the glasses anyway. Most places do free eye tests nowadays too, so fair play to you putting up the fiver in the first place.

Where does free eye tests?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Seperate wrote: »
    You're the one who doesn't get it. Commercial rent and rates in this country are astronomical. So is insurance. So is electricity prices. So is employers PRSI. So is phone charges. So is health and safety plans and fire extinguisher services. So are credit card machine charges. So are banks charges for business in general. So are accountant fees. So is the minimum wage. It's not just the price of a couple of spuds and a burger that you're paying for. If you think they make more then €6 out of a €12 sale, you're mistaken.

You're second paragraph just reiterates what I said, they can do the 5eur eye test without any major problems as they make most of their money on the glasses anyway. Most places do free eye tests nowadays too, so fair play to you putting up the fiver in the first place.

I've highlighted all the fixed costs there. You pay those regardless of what you sell the chips for, and they won't see any significant effect from an increase in sales.

Operating at full capcity? That's what you pay. Operating a 30-50% capacity, you pay the same.

On a unit turnover basis they may appear to imply that selling at lower revenue would lead to a loss, but increase turnover significantly, increase units sold and suddenly because the fixed costs are fixed, and presumably contribution margin is positive (which it has to be if you're talking about a chipper), you become more profitable than you were in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Fair amount of begrudgers alright, take the €5 fish and chips.Now if I turned around to people in my house and say that thats what I'm doing for dinner,I can guarantee that someone will want chipper aswell,thing is I'm the only one that eats fish.So say they get a burger and chips and we both get a drink each surely thats what the associated organisations are relying on???

Added sales plus if I like the food I might go back there again in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Tallon wrote: »
    Where does free eye tests?

Tesco do apparently :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭mgsrocks

Pizza Hut are doing €5 for a medium pizza tomorrow.

http://www.pizzahutdelivery.ie/mailer/public/archive.php?id=36:322

January wrote: »
    Tesco do apparently :eek:
    Yeah, I just heard this last night off a friend.. She wen to the new one in Naas for milk, came out with an eye test and glasses :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

Yeah, I just heard this last night off a friend.. She wen to the new one in Naas for milk, came out with an eye test and glasses :p

....flatscreen tv, car insurance and a mobile phone...

@ Hanley - thanks, thats my point exactly, those fixed costs remain the same and have to be paid regardless of business being full or empty.(Ryanair are a perfect example of this type of business, sell em cheap pack em in)

@Seperate - im sure the macaris of this country know what they are doing and dont be worrying about their profit. they are happy to sell it at a fiver , loads happy to buy it.

@Soarer - lol!!!! maybe i will cancel that appt and bring him for chips instead

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Great one this from Eddie Rockets:
    http://www.eddierockets.ie/menu/promotions/fiver-friday/
    Burger, fries and drink for €5 tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭meg3178

Ok, sounds funny, but I have used tesco opticians...cheaper, better testing and better quality than the "should have gone to" company. My daughter got prescription ski goggles from them, general cost: 300euro, Tesco cost 40euro, swimming goggles are 12euro. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

It's all about getting people in the door who wouldn't shop there. This genreally leads to return visits which is where the profit is made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

The official Facebook site is https://www.facebook.com/fiverfriday

This was set up by the guy who called into the Joe Duffy show to suggest it. There's loads of offers from all over the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

iMax wrote: »
    The official Facebook site is https://www.facebook.com/fiverfriday

This was set up by the guy who called into the Joe Duffy show to suggest it. There's loads of offers from all over the country
    Connollys fish in finglas doing some great deals. Spent 20 this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Ramsay

I walked by my local pharmacy on fiver friday and their best offer was 5 euro for a passport photograph (Still no value what so ever). (Normal price 6 euro!).

I just wanted to literally walk in a punch the owner in the face!

ted1 wrote: »
    It's all about getting people in the door who wouldn't shop there. This genreally leads to return visits which is where the profit is made.

Thats not why the campaign was devised, although it could work, the campaign was issued to increase the flow of circular income throughout the economy. To get the get money flowing in lay terms. This would result in an economic multiplier where the original injection of money after having flowed through many individuals will see a multiplication in the remaining money left over.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    The whole original idea was for every person on this day that has become known as fiver Friday to spend €5 on Irish locally produced goods or services to give the Irish economy but more importantly small local business a bit of a boost.

So many people are mislead. The campaign is not limited to ingenuous firms located in Ireland nor is it limited to small sized enterprises. Pizza Hut an American MNC were involved in the campaign, they are not Irish and certainly not small.

The idea is to enhance slightly the circular flow of income as I stated in the previous post.