Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Truck parked in estate?

• 16-06-2011 7:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭

does anyone know what the law is regarding parking a truck in an estate?

Who do you go to complain? a neighbour of mine has recently started parking (just the truck, no trailer) I was under the impression there was a law brought in a few years ago?
    Its not even irish reg (northern)
    please dont suggest go to the people themselves, I can see well how that could lead to a confrontation, which I am not looking for. But either they are not aware or do not care.

Is it gardai? which i cant see them really wanting to follow up? or maybe a counciller/local council?

Anyone know the law, if it exists?

If it isn't near a bend, on a double yellow or forcing folks to cross a continuous white line I can't see the legal reason why it shouldn't be there tbh. Aside from the NI reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,272 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Unless a specific bye-law has been passed, for your estate, then there is nothing at all illegal about it.

First point would be to contact your local council. They can let you know the status.

After that, contact your local councillors, but make sure you have a good number of residents to complain.

You could mention to the Revenue/Gardai about a foreign truck (no VRT paid, I assume) being parked in your area frequently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Personally, I can't think of any greater contributor to the breakdown of society than tractor units parked up in residential areas.

Do you leave in one of the gated estates where residents committees specified "No commercial vehicles" to keep out those ghastly nouveau riche tradespeople during the boom?

Even the reg "problem" may not be an issue - if the company is regged in the north, then why shouldn't it's vehicles be?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

I had a somewhat similar problem with a neighbour who parked his rigid type truck at a wide corner in the estate. I took some photos as evidence and emailed the traffic dept in the CoCo. A guard turned up at my door randomly one night when I wasn't home but within a couple of days the truck was gone and has never been back.

In our area, I think it's anything over 4.5 tons is illegal to park in a residential area. Worth looking at your local CoCo website where you can find all this out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭Cionád

Our residents association got the CoCo to erect no parking (3.5 ton + iirc) on a stretch where a few trucks + trailers had been parking for a time.

To be fair they were right beside a couple of houses in an adjacent estate and would have been blocking their windows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Merch

langdang wrote: »
    Personally, I can't think of any greater contributor to the breakdown of society than tractor units parked up in residential areas.

Do you leave in one of the gated estates where residents committees specified "No commercial vehicles" to keep out those ghastly nouveau riche tradespeople during the boom?

Even the reg "problem" may not be an issue - if the company is regged in the north, then why shouldn't it's vehicles be?

Is that meant to be sarcasm? I'm guessing it is, correct me if I'm wrong.
    perhaps you think I am making a big deal out of nothing?
    In my opinion, I dont like it, I think it creates a hazard, it also looks rubbish. I dont mind vans but rigid or artic trucks parked in estates looks bad, apart from the fact they take up so much room, its parked on a corner, the operator/driver who ever they are are not paying road tax here but the vehicle is clearly kept here, no vrt either.
    I dont live in a gated/managed estate.

If its not causing a major obstruction I cant see why it bothers you op, I pass by a big rigid body truck in my estate everyday I look on it no different to the cars and smaller vans parked each side of it.

In short mind your own business op, just because you dont like the look of something isnt a reason to go causing hassle to some lad who needs his truck for his job. If you came up complaining to me you'd be ran fairly shapish.

It's only the tractor unit? Surely it's no more an obstruction/blockage than one of the neighbours big motor homes / camper vans (every estate has at least one?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,526 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

We have the same problem with a guy who brings home his truck. There are three main problems with him doing this for us.

1. Not all his tractor units are in perfect condition so inevitably where he parked now has a nice big oil patch on the ground that many a child has destroyed their clothes on.
    2. Out of pure laziness he cuts the corners on the grass area and as such all the corners have been left mucky and without grass for up to 2 foot in. When this was pointed out to the council their solution was to cut the corners off, re-kerb and retarmac them rather than ask him to stop doing it. Even after this he still mounts the grass when taking corners.
    3. He sometimes leaves for work at 04:00 and when he does he comes out, starts the truck and leaves it revving high while he goes back in for breakfast so that the air brakes are ready and the heating is working fully when he comes out. This isn't too much a problem during the winter but during the summer it means we can't leave a window open for fear of being woken at 04:00. I rang the guards and complained but was told that it was a noise pollution problem and that therefore its in the CoCo's department, and when I rang the CoCo they didn't seem in the slight bit interested.

^^ok, I can see those as valid reasons for being ticked off to say the least!

If its not causing a major obstruction I cant see why it bothers you op, I pass by a big rigid body truck in my estate everyday I look on it no different to the cars and smaller vans parked each side of it.

In short mind your own business op, just because you dont like the look of something isnt a reason to go causing hassle to some lad who needs his truck for his job. If you came up complaining to me you'd be ran fairly shapish.

It is causing an obstruction, i said its on a corner. I personally would prefer to go to someone and say it to their face, I dont need the hassle of how someone like you would respond, so I prefer to do it the legitimate way. There is no need for attitude , I am asking if there is a law against it or not. Sounds to me like you do same as my neighbour, dont give a toss about anyone except yourself.
    It's only the tractor unit? Surely it's no more an obstruction/blockage than one of the neighbours big motor homes / camper vans (every estate has at least one?)

what camper home?? its an artic, if someone wants to park a camper home in their drive fine, if they block the road then thats a different story.
    Quazzie wrote: »
    We have the same problem with a guy who brings home his truck. There are three main problems with him doing this for us.

1. Not all his tractor units are in perfect condition so inevitably where he parked now has a nice big oil patch on the ground that many a child has destroyed their clothes on.
    2. Out of pure laziness he cuts the corners on the grass area and as such all the corners have been left mucky and without grass for up to 2 foot in. When this was pointed out to the council their solution was to cut the corners off, re-kerb and retarmac them rather than ask him to stop doing it. Even after this he still mounts the grass when taking corners.
    3. He sometimes leaves for work at 04:00 and when he does he comes out, starts the truck and leaves it revving high while he goes back in for breakfast so that the air brakes are ready and the heating is working fully when he comes out. This isn't too much a problem during the winter but during the summer it means we can't leave a window open for fear of being woken at 04:00. I rang the guards and complained but was told that it was a noise pollution problem and that therefore its in the CoCo's department, and when I rang the CoCo they didn't seem in the slight bit interested.

I dont like them, blocking the road, destroying the area with oil, ripping up verges and reving the feck out of a diesel at all hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,833 ✭✭✭phill106

Well to show the other side of the argument, a neighbor of mine has one and parks it on straight right outside the entrance to our estate, about 100ft away from the entrance to the estate and another 100ft behind before another turn or entrance.
    Another neighbor asked him to move as was obstructing view up the road (it wasn't really).
    First night he moved it into local industrial estate....

Full tank of diesel drained...

Back on the road now :)

phill106 wrote: »
    Well to show the other side of the argument, a neighbor of mine has one and parks it on straight right outside the entrance to our estate, about 100ft away from the entrance to the estate and another 100ft behind before another turn or entrance.
    Another neighbor asked him to move as was obstructing view up the road (it wasn't really).
    First night he moved it into local industrial estate....

Full tank of diesel drained...

Back on the road now :)

I dont want to be unsympathetic, but thats his problem, not everyone else in the estate they live?!

Merch wrote: »
    .........its parked on a corner.............
    It is causing an obstruction, i said its on a corner. ...........

what camper home?? its an artic, if someone wants to park a camper home in their drive fine, if they block the road then thats a different story.

Basic rules of the road, can't park on a corner, ring the AGS and report it.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Basic rules of the road, can't park on a corner, ring the AGS and report it.

I hoped someone could tell me if there is a law ( I was certain there was an across the board ban on artics/rigid trucks in estates). I might try the council route, before using gardai time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Conchurl

Trucks dont make that much noise to wake you up, my father parks his about 35 foot from my window and i have never been woken by him starting the truck, he starts it when he gets up (2am-4am depends on what day it is) comes in for something to eat and then leaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Just contact the council OP

It is causing an obstruction, i said its on a corner. I personally would prefer to go to someone and say it to their face, I dont need the hassle of how someone like you would respond, so I prefer to do it the legitimate way. There is no need for attitude , I am asking if there is a law against it or not. Sounds to me like you do same as my neighbour, dont give a toss about anyone except yourself.

I dont like them, blocking the road, destroying the area with oil, ripping up verges and reving the feck out of a diesel at all hours.

I had responded before you said it was causing an obstruction that's a different story. If its only the tractor unit which wouldn't take up a whole lot more space than a big suv and was parked properly I couldnt see why is would be a problem. As I said a rigid truck parks around the corner from where I live and you wouldnt even take any notice of it.

On the subject of parking on corners etc, at night estates are pretty much a free for all. There is permit parking during the day where I live but once that ends at 6 in the evening people park on the footpaths, double yellow lines etc. I dont have a problem with this once they leave room for a car to pass which 99% of the time they do.

I suppose I'm just used to living in the country where you can park what you want where you want outside your own house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Conchurl wrote: »
    Trucks dont make that much noise to wake you up, my father parks his about 35 foot from my window and i have never been woken by him starting the truck, he starts it when he gets up (2am-4am depends on what day it is) comes in for something to eat and then leaves.

And do you know for sure that the truck Quazzie is talking about is the exact same as your father's? And that your windows and walls are the same as his? And that a whole host of environmental conditions are the same is the two situations (air vents, curtains, building layouts, etc)? Maybe you're a particularly heavy sleeper, or have hearing difficulties?

Sometimes, a noise source further away can be more annoying than one near by, as it reverberates off houses and buildings. For instance, I has a neighbour that used to leave his car running in his driveway at 5 in the morning. He'd leave the radio on too, while he ran back in for his breakfast and waited for it to warm up. You could barely hear it from the front living room (nearer the car), but it would wake me up every morning from the front bedroom, as the sound seemed to reverberate in the space between the houses, and come in an air vent.

If someone says that something is affecting them, why not just leave it at that? No need to make them out to be a liar based on your experiences in a different situation.

Conchurl wrote: »

I live in a small estate in a ring of houses and this ring of houses is a sound trap for the truck. Plus they seem to be poorly maintained as his neigbour (directly next door) has told me on a few occasions he has woken up with his room filled with smoke.

(just the truck, no trailer) I was under the impression there was a law brought in a few years ago?
    its an artic... reving the feck out of a diesel at all hours.
    It's a tractor unit. And diesel is environmentally friendly and a perfectly healthy fuel for urban areas according to our car tax system. Lovely stuff so it is...

I had responded before you said it was causing an obstruction that's a different story. If its only the tractor unit which wouldn't take up a whole lot more space than a big suv and was parked properly I couldnt see why is would be a problem. As I said a rigid truck parks around the corner from where I live and you wouldnt even take any notice of it.

On the subject of parking on corners etc, at night estates are pretty much a free for all. There is permit parking during the day where I live but once that ends at 6 in the evening people park on the footpaths, double yellow lines etc. I dont have a problem with this once they leave room for a car to pass which 99% of the time they do.

I suppose I'm just used to living in the country where you can park what you want where you want outside your own house.

I think thats where we differ in opinions, thats why when there is a law about something the ambiguity doesnt exist, whether its enforced or not.
    I'm going to be honest, it is parked on a corner, if it wasn't I still wouldn't like it, they take up loads of space and are more noticeable than another vehicle of a similar footprint, e.g. a suv or a bmw 7 series or whatever. I couldn't find anything on the council website, but it usually takes a trawl to get anything there anyway, but I see there is a trove of enquiries/complaints in google so I am not alone.

I think thats where we differ in opinions, thats why when there is a law about something the ambiguity doesnt exist, whether its enforced or not.
    I'm going to be honest, it is parked on a corner, if it wasn't I still wouldn't like it, they take up loads of space and are more noticeable than another vehicle of a similar footprint, e.g. a suv or a bmw 7 series or whatever. I couldn't find anything on the council website, but it usually takes a trawl to get anything there anyway, but I see there is a trove of enquiries/complaints in google so I am not alone.

In fairness the "park where I want when I want" was referring to our own private property at home, you obviously cant do the same in housing estates but situations like your do stand out as my first reaction was why shouldn't a person be allowed park their vehicle close to their home once its not causing an obstruction.

It's a tractor unit. And diesel is environmentally friendly and a perfectly healthy fuel for urban areas according to our car tax system. Lovely stuff so it is...

I know, I was going to call it that but didnt want to confuse the issue, people might think I am suggesting someone is parking a farming/what people traditionally think a tractor is, near me :)

why shouldn't a person be allowed park their vehicle close to their home once its not causing an obstruction.
    Because they have to realise that when living in an estate what they do can directly affect surrounding people too. Causing pollution, be it noise pollution or oil on the road is a big issue. There is also the consideration that when a tractor unit is parked up, the chances of a child running from behind unnoticed in front of a traveling car is severely increased, and thats more likely to happen in an estate.

Basically its about having the consideration to assess the surrounding area and deciding if you are going to care about it, or just do whatever is easiest for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,431 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

I dont have a problem with this once they leave room for a car to pass which 99% of the time they do.

What about say, a fire truck or an ambulance? Sometimes parking restictions are there for very good reasons, not just to make life inconvenient for us.

Because they have to realise that when living in an estate what they do can directly affect surrounding people too. Causing pollution, be it noise pollution or oil on the road is a big issue. There is also the consideration that when a tractor unit is parked up, the chances of a child running from behind unnoticed in front of a traveling car is severely increased, and thats more likely to happen in an estate.

Basically its about having the consideration to assess the surrounding area and deciding if you are going to care about it, or just do whatever is easiest for yourself.

There are stretches in my estate with no houses just parking where the road is wide, a truck has no problem parking there but in fairness I cant say the same for other estates.

Redsoxfan wrote: »
    What about say, a fire truck or an ambulance? Sometimes parking restictions are there for very good reasons, not just to make life inconvenient for us.

Not something I thought about I suppose despite watching the bin truck just squeeze past parked cars one morning. I never park my car in poor locations as Id be afraid of someone hitting it. My car is mostly in the drive of the house and if not, parked properly on the street.

Mostly I would say a fire brigade could pass but thinking back there were times where I could just pass with my car so I would say a fire brigade would struggle.

Redsoxfan wrote: »

You can add bin truck to that list, few times bins not removed as couldn't get access, I will say on one occasion that was due to how a different person was parking a van and how opposite them some tool was parking their car (could have been same owner as van?) so the person or people involved in it prevented our bins being removed, the other time I didnt see it but council (as it was at the time) said couldnt gain access due to manner in which vehicles parked. fortunately (fingers crossed) it wasn't the firebrigade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭cargo

I live in a small estate in a ring of houses and this ring of houses is a sound trap for the truck. Plus they seem to be poorly maintained as his neigbour (directly next door) has told me on a few occasions he has woken up with his room filled with smoke.

Was his house on fire by any chance? He needs to get that looked at :D

cargo wrote: »
    Was his house on fire by any chance? He needs to get that looked at :D

The road was blocked by some guys artic, the rubbish wasnt removed, went on fire, neither the ambulance nor the firebrigade could reach him :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Its not even irish reg (northern)

Ring customs, it's the equivalent of dole cheats or money laundering IMO. Pay the VRT or feck off and live somewhere else!

squod wrote: »
    Ring customs, it's the equivalent of dole cheats or money laundering IMO. Pay the VRT or feck off and live somewhere else!

I don't think he owns it, i can see no business name on it, I dont think they really care though, few of their other vehicles are reg'd further east rather than north.
    I'm going to make an enquiry off the council.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

1. Check with council (What there policy is to this kind of thing)
    2. Inform Revenue (They will check reg status in relation to VRT)
    3. Report to Guards (If parked dangerously or causing an obstruction)

Sligo Metalhead

squod wrote: »

VRT is only going to be 200 euro anyway so its more than likely owned by a company up north who dont want to reg it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Trucks in housing estates look terrible. An artic and trailer used to park right in front of my mates gaff, he got onto the guards and they had a word with the driver and it stopped.
    I drive past a couple of estates with loads of vans (no, not a halting site) and it looks bad too. I'm not talking 2 or 3 vans, some gave them outside every house. They should be left at work imho.
    Wasn't that some rule going to be brought in? Work vehicles couldn't be brought home?

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Trucks in housing estates look terrible. An artic and trailer used to park right in front of my mates gaff, he got onto the guards and they had a word with the driver and it stopped.
    I drive past a couple of estates with loads of vans (no, not a halting site) and it looks bad too. I'm not talking 2 or 3 vans, some gave them outside every house. They should be left at work imho.
    Wasn't that some rule going to be brought in? Work vehicles couldn't be brought home?

Ah come on you cant expect people not to bring vans home. What about people working on building sites or working in different locations everyday, people who work for themselves etc. Plus lots of people only have the van and not car so how would they get home even if they had a safe place to park it. Some people need to get out more if a few vans outside houses bothers them.

Ah come on you cant expect people not to bring vans home. What about people working on building sites or working in different locations everyday, people who work for themselves etc. Plus lots of people only have the van and not car so how would they get home even if they had a safe place to park it.
    They can go lower the tone somewhere else. Damn cretins. Release the hounds Jeeves! And fetch my blunderbuss!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Ah come on you cant expect people not to bring vans home. What about people working on building sites or working in different locations everyday, people who work for themselves etc. Plus lots of people only have the van and not car so how would they get home even if they had a safe place to park it. Some people need to get out more if a few vans outside houses bothers them.

Yeah, some people have to, that's fair enough. but loads of people don't, and it makes a place look crap.

I cant say I'm that keen on vans, more so certain vans, like the super size sprinters, but if the person has one vehicle and they have their own business/self employed that doesnt bother me, if they keep it parked on their own drive/or at least dont obstruct the road/path, no matter how decorative the logos emblazoned across it.So long as they dont, rev the hell out of them at all hours early or late.

Unless it is a family of van drivers and they park up and down the road, which other people have told me they have experienced.

But I draw the line just before artic (tractor units with or without trailers) and rigid trucks or buses for that matter.
    Completely unsuitable to be parked in estates.