Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The great unofficial happy / sad poll

• 15-06-2011 10:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭

Taking everything into account, and trying to NOT look through rose tinted goggles, would you consider your overall demeanor to be more content now as opposed to 5 years ago?

Is you demeanour due to financial circumstances or other?

Personally, im happier - have to say, find it tougher financially like most people im sure, and not that i was particularly unhappy 5 years ago, but i like where i am now more.

Edit: "Oh look at snyper bringing his happiness onto the internet looking for attention.. fcuk off and take your happiness with ye."

When were you happier? 65 votes

Now
    0% 0 votes
    5 years ago.. celtic tiger yeaaaa baby!
    58% 38 votes
    I smell onions
    41% 27 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Personally, I'm a lot more comfortable and happy with the person I am now than I was five years ago. Looking back, I only realise now how unhappy I was, with the group I was hanging around with. It took a lot to walk away from them, but it was one of the best decisions I've ever made. Never looked back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

baby son on the way, scan this morning confirmed everything is great. right now i couldnt be happier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

This time 5 years ago was probably the happiest time of my life, nothing to do with money so there ya go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

The difference between being 12 and 17 is vast.

Not sure what it is exactly though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I was happier 5 years ago than I am now but i'm getting my happy back slowly but surely :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Superbus wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Superbus wrote: »

Prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Ugh, my life is a mess right now, but five years ago I was a third year in secondary school and I hated that too. I was way happier 4 years ago. Transition Year was good craic. Not really financially motivated, I've always been broke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Jesus, definitely now, no question. But that says a lot more about five years ago than it does about now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Happier five years ago, but nothing to do with money as I'm probably better off financially now, than I was then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Alter-Ego wrote: »
    Happier five years ago, but nothing to do with money as I'm probably better off financially now, than I was then.
    Seany Fitz?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

I cant remember much of what i was doing 5 years ago,but im happy now as much as i was then,i dont really think about it much,just take everyday as it comes..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

I've never been happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

How long was that piece of string again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

5 years ago was the best time of my life ( so far) and it's kinda continued but maybe at a slower pace than 5 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Well i got myself a pretty rockin gf in the first half of the year and i finally move back to the sticks on Monday, so this has been one of my best years so far.

super-rush wrote: »
    Well i got myself a pretty rockin gf in the first half of the year and i finally move back to the sticks on Monday, so this has been one of my best years so far.

Is the "pretty rockin gf" heading stickward with you?

snyper wrote: »
    Is the "pretty rockin gf" heading stickward with you?

Not yet.

super-rush wrote: »
    Not yet.

If she doesnt i will expect you to re tske the poll in 6 months :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Elmidena

five years ago was a good era of my life......but mentally I think I'm a bit better now I've matured through circumstances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭ontheditch2

Voted for now, but then started thinking, 5 years ago, i was in college and loved it. Had a fantastic girlfriend, she gone now:-(. Was playing great hurling, not anymore. Didn't have any financial worries, was working 3 part time jobs to get through college but they were ok and didn't take up too much time and i was comfortable, still am comfortable but €20 would do me for the week back then. Had my first car, was grand. Had all my best friends in close company, they all over the world now.
    Christ, my life now is ****e..
    Thanks OP

snyper wrote: »
    If she doesnt i will expect you to re tske the poll in 6 months :/

Thats why i haven't voted yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I'm considerably grumpier than I was 5 years ago.

My disdain for the human race has been reinforced considerably.

looking at the poll, i guess its true what they say about the irish

We're happier when we're broke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Five years ago I had a grand job earning good money on the sites with my mates and I had my mental health.

Now I've a crap job in admin thats hanging on by a thread and I've to take 3 different meds every day to keep my brain from going crazy.So I guess I preferred 5 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

phasers wrote: »
    Ugh, my life is a mess right now, but five years ago I was a third year in secondary school and I hated that too. I was way happier 4 years ago. Transition Year was good craic. Not really financially motivated, I've always been broke.

i thought you had two kids and stuff :confused:

and on topic....

Im happy because being unhappy sucks. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I've been really happy the past few weeks on the whole and pretty optimistic too, so yeah Im gonna say I am happier these days then back then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

How long was that piece of string again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

5 years ago. No question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

i thought you had two kids and stuff :confused:

and on topic....

Im happy because being unhappy sucks. :cool:

I was gona say the same, thought phasers was older, but not having kids old.

I'm not sure I can even answer the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

5 yrs ago defo. Even though i never had much money I was enjoying my work, my best mate still lived in Ireland, I was younger with more optimism and had moved into my lovely house, my boys gave me cuddles everyday.

Now I am unemployed, my mate is in England, I'm closer to 40, despairing at life, house is a financial millstone round my neck and my sons give me cuddles every now and again when they aren't doing the teenage grunting thing. Really unhappy at the mo.