Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Older cars - Garda attention

• 15-06-2011 7:40pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 536 ✭✭✭

I've noticed over the past good while that the Gardai seem to take more notice of older cars. I've discussed this with friends who also own older stuff, and they relay much the same sentiments. At checkpoints it seems as though they expect that the driver is either on the way back from a bank job, or there's something wrong with the car. The level of scrutiny is quite something!

There are a couple of farmery looking girls going around town in an Avensis Estate, and they're the last word altogether. A few months ago they passed me fresh from doing their shopping in Tesco and the driver nearly fell out of the patrol car looking at my number plate. Is it actually that wrong to own an older car?

To top it all off, last night said farmerly girls (presumably) in brand new Avensis estate did a u-turn and drove up my backside, all the way to the housing estate where I live. Either this is a thing with older cars, or people with newer cars don't talk about it as much ... seems odd to me. Incidentally I haven't done any bank jobs, or anthing else for that matter!

I've had the Traffic Corps do this umpteen times around Thurles as well. Do they assume that everyone who drives an older car is a 'certain type' of person or something? Or do they not understand that we don't all get paid 40 - 50k. per annum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

What are you driving?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 536 ✭✭✭ahal

That would be a very unsexy unmodified Volvo 440 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭trevorbrady

maybe they fancied you?

You know what, I never did think of that. Do you think I should make the first move? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I'd say your car is of an vintage where some drivers begin to see insurance/tax/nct as optional extras

I've never been stopped in a classic car, infact I always get waved through checkpoints with a smile or a few questions about what I'm driving. They never seem to check anything but maybe that's just me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

johnos1984 wrote: »
    I'd say your car is of an vintage where some drivers begin to see insurance/tax/nct as optional extras.

I agree. If I think in my own village there are two guys who it is well known buy 3 months tax and get the Guards to sign for another... 94 Vento and 95 Carina. In fact one of them also drives a Prefect that is never taxed or insured...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

ahal wrote: »
    Is it actually that wrong to own an older car?

In Ireland, yes it is. Anything older than '00 is considered ancient at this stage.
    I'd say your car is of an vintage where some drivers begin to see insurance/tax/nct as optional extras

That could very well be it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭V480

I used to have the exact same problem driving the 480. I was never pulled over before I had that car nor have I been since but in the space of 1 year I'd say I was stopped a half dozen times for no reason at all.

I agree I think that when they see an old car they for some reason assume that it's bound to have some sort of defect or the driver has a severe mental deficiency for having the temerity to drive a car more than ten years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭bigroad

Most gardas are number plate snobs.Just look outside the stations most cars are usually vw or skoda tdi less then 3 years old.When one of them buys a new car they all follow suit very much like sheep.40k to 80k wages also helps.I personally drive a 13year old toyota taxed insured and nct and also wipes the grin of them at checkpoints.he he bacon sambo anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

bigroad wrote: »
    Most gardas people in Ireland are number plate snobs.

Fixed your post ;)

But seriously, for people who don't know / have no interest in (future) classic cars, a car of a certain age is typically viewed as a banger. And as others said, chances are higher that a "banger" is not taxed or insured compared to a brand new car. Hence the extra interest from the authorities

But why worry? If you have your car taxed, insured and NCTd, you'll be just fine when a Garda stops you to check these things, won't you?

Good observation ... hadn't thought of that at all.

unkel wrote: »
    Fixed your post ;)

But seriously, for people who don't know / have no interest in (future) classic cars, a car of a certain age is typically viewed as a banger. And as others said, chances are higher that a "banger" is not taxed or insured compared to a brand new car. Hence the extra interest from the authorities

But why worry? If you have your car taxed, insured and NCTd, you'll be just fine when a Garda stops you to check these things, won't you?

Good points. What gets me somewhat piffed off though is that, regardless of whether I can really afford it or not, my car is always taxed and wouldn't move out of the driveway without insurance. I don't mind being followed but them driving up my bottom and making zero attempt to be subtle - continuing into the estate where I live - doesn't really look great.

It's arrogant and "because we can" in nature. They really don't do much for their cause with this crap. This all began with me taking a left turn onto a road they were turning off (at the same junction) I waited to see them turn before pulling out as I never trust an indicator (didn't realise that it was a squad car until the last minute) An old car and careful driving ... surely smoking gun that! :pac:

Incidentally, less than 10 hours later a ten year old girl was almost abducted on her way to school a mile away. I think they could spend their time doing better things tbh.

Count yourself lucky.

I live next to the Traffic corp base near you.......

Count yourself lucky.

I live next to the Traffic corp base near you.......

Oh no! A Traffic corps-er in disguise! I take it all back! :pac:

No I'm a teacher :D

I just live near the office that seems to be in charge of the N11

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i drive an '77 e24 with a loud stainless exhaust and i find it brilliant for this
    the garda never bother me the say things like how many miles do i get to a tank and i say things like not many but she's worth it for the way she drives

i just don't see this happening if i was in a modern fast coupe over 5 years tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

There are a couple of farmery looking girls going around town in an Avensis Estate

Guess who they were trying to copy Tony :D

As one of the lads said its the 94-99 bracket of car they are targeting in some misguided and misinformed way... I'll give you 2 scenarios shall I ?

1. I have recently driven a 07 Avensis and it was a total ball of s**te. Tracking off, busted shock, anti roll bar bushes shot bad tyres, broken tailight.. The owner just didnt care and just put fuel in it... The Garda would never stop this car even though it was dangerous and un roadworthy

2.I was at a wedding recently where the bride was from Connemara.. She came to the chapel in the back of an 88-G 1.6 Diesel Jetta .... It was her uncles daily driver and he has it over 20 years at this stage. .. They were all saying at the wedding that he was a tight cute hoor but I said well done that man. Car was just trough the NCT and was in stunning original condition... The bride was brought up around that car and it was fitting she would be taken on her wedding day in it

Your car is only 6 years behind that Jetta Tony and I have great respect for anyone keeping an older car on the track. I think them farmer type girls should have treated you to a free bikini car wash at least for your trouble ;)

I think them farmer type girls should have treated you to a free bikini car wash at least for your trouble ;)

I like your style! They were quite large though and dent removal is kind of expensive :pac: ...