Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Tyres

• 14-06-2011 11:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭

Well lads, which ones are the best??
    2x Schwalbe or Panaracer or Michelin Road Tyres
    OK, everyone has their preferences... but when it comes to Tyre selection we all dig through web forums and check the Pro-Team bikes to see what all the best racers are using!
    So this Wednesday we throw at you, the best tyres from Schwalbe, Panaracer & Michelin...
    They are lightweight, fast rolling, use cosmic rubber mixtures, have puncture resistant belts and get best reviews online...
    This week the choice is yours.
    More information...
    Was€90.00
    Now€ 44.95 + €7.99 Postage
    2x Schwalbe Ultremo R.1 700x23c
    Buy Now
    2x Panaracer Extreme Evo 3 700x23c
    Buy Now
    2x Michelin Pro3 Grip 700x23c
    Buy Now
    Schwalbe Ultremo R.1 2 Tyres Set
    Size: 700x23c
    Super light (180g)
    Bead: Folding
    Racing Dedicated
    HD-Guard: Puncture Protection Belt

Panaracer Extreme Evo3 2 Tyres Set
    Weight: 210g
    PT Puncture Technology shield 3x stronger than Kevlar
    New ZSG Dual compound for low rolling resistance & extreme grip when cornering on wet or dry

Michelin Pro 3 Grip Tyres Set - the wet weather race tyre. Offers 20% greater grip comparing to Pro 3 Race model.
    Weight: 200g
    High Density Puncture Protection

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Any of these tyres better than gatorskins in terms of punctures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭kellt

I would definitly go for the schwable utremo r1 i have them on mavic askiums.I use them for training, racing and i used them in ww200. i find little rolling resistance excellent grip in wet and dry. ive had 1 puncture in 600+ km happened in avoca in ww200.
    They have a new ultremo zx out now which is even better i believe

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

kellt wrote: »
    They have a new ultremo zx out now which is even better i believe
    Or the ZLX is supposed to be even even better, at 34.99 worth a punt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭kellt

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    i dont think any of these are as good as gatorskins for puncture resistance (my winter tyre). You do compromise on speed with gatorskins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Have done a fair bit of googling this morning on the Panaracers, seem to be getting good reviews and the closest I could find for comparison purposes with gators is the following from bikeradar,
    Panracer's new top-end road race tyre has improved puncture protection thanks to a ‘better than Kevlar’ bead-to-bead breaker layer.

In toughness, they’re on a par with Conti’s Grand Prix 4 Season, a reliable winter training tyre, and slightly better than Michelin’s impressively durable all-round race tyre, the Pro2 Race.
    Tough for a race clincher, but there are quicker alternatives
    And reading the review of the Grand Prix it says
    It’s harder to puncture than the racier Michelin Pro 3 or the Gatorskin and rolls a bit quicker than the latter.

So I've jumped feet first into the conclusion that as the GP4>Gators, Panaracer=GP4, therefore Panaracer>Gators :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,669 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

i've been using vittoria diamante pro's since april find those nice (not much glass on the roads up here)

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Ultremos aren't great for everyday/commuting use. Ive had them two months now and they're shredded to bits, sidewalls beginning to crack and had 3 punctures in 1,000km (which I consider pretty poor, I'd had none in about six months before that).

For riding outside of urban roads though they're good, very smooth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

seamus wrote: »
    Ultremos aren't great for everyday/commuting use. Ive had them two months now and they're shredded to bits, sidewalls beginning to crack and had 3 punctures in 1,000km (which I consider pretty poor, I'd had none in about six months before that).

For riding outside of urban roads though they're good, very smooth.
    As has been said before i think its purely a luck thing - blorg put me onto R1's - 1 puncture for me in couple of thousand km. Others swear by GP4000's - 2 sidewalls went on mine. Others say michelin pro race 3's puncture easily - i ve yet to have a puncture and actually they are holding up best of all my tyres.

Google any tyre and you ll find pro's and con's and a list of people for and against each tyre. I really think its a case of just trying out a few brands finding out what you think is best yourself and sticking with them

kennyb3 wrote: »
    As has been said before i think its purely a luck thing - blorg put me onto R1's - 1 puncture for me in couple of thousand km. Others swear by GP4000's - 2 sidewalls went on mine. Others say michelin pro race 3's puncture easily - i ve yet to have a puncture and actually they are holding up best of all my tyres.

Google any tyre and you ll find pro's and con's and a list of people for and against each tyre. I really think its a case of just trying out a few brands finding out what you think is best yourself and sticking with them

+1 ive had schwalbe duranos - cut to shreds in about a month 2 sidewalls sliced through
    schwalbe luganos - cut to shreds
    like i said the diamante pros are holding up well this spring summer and roll very well

i have a pair of ultremo r.1's next (bought cheep on probikekit)

My weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

nerraw1111 wrote: »

I mentioned this here before but i use Gatorskins for the last 5 years, 24 miles a day, 5 days a week. i change them every 6 months and pick out the glass once a week before pumping them to 100psi.. i have not had a puncture on them in nearly 3 years!! I am on mixed roads with plently of potholes and glass. I am using the new hardshell ones now and they dont seem to pick up as much glass as the original Gators..

so..

I wouldnt use anything else...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Conti GP4000s. Great grip in the wet, low rolling resistance and I rarely puncture, but then again I have an unsubstantiated theory that many (not all) punctures are due to poor riding style (putting too much weight through the saddle, not spreading weight across the pedals through bumpy terrain).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭moggs1972

used R1's until recetly, clocked up over 1000 miles on a pair without a single puncture then in the space of 2 days both front and rear went badly out of shape. really strange, like the casing weakend and an s bend developed. pity as they were a really fast rolling tyre. usd ultremo zx too, and they are looking very shabby after about 750 miles. ive switched to michelin krylion carbons and so far so good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

any of them come in green? that's my #1 criteria for choosing things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

My tyres have a good bit left in them yet. Would it be worth buying these at the current price pre-emptively?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭Lemag

Just went for the Michelins. If I'm still around for this winter I might just HTFU and get out and use them.

If anyone is considering the Panaracers, they're available on Wiggle (and perhaps even cheaper elsewhere) for not much more so don't sweat it if you've missed the midnight deadline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Continental Ultra Road are nice tyres - they offer a good balance between grip and puncture resistance. They're not puncture proof, and they're useless off-road, but they grip well in wet and dry and they're not too heavy.

Gatorskins give a little less grip and a little more resistance, but the performance in the wet is substantially less.

I have a Schwalbe Marathon on the back wheel - bombproof, hard, heavy and has all the grip of greaseproof paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭Lemag

I think, although confusingly put in the OP, that the point of this thread was to seek recommendations for the three different tyre choices which are currently available for €44.95 a pair with the Cycle Superstore Wednesday Deal.

Only 25 minutes left!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Khannie wrote: »
    My tyres have a good bit left in them yet. Would it be worth buying these at the current price pre-emptively?

It's a good deal but you will find similar prices elsewhere. You can buy the Ultremos from Bike24 for much the same price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Wrote Stupidness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭DeadMan1

hi there,
    I have a gatorskin related question ... probably a stupid one... but how do you fit them on????

having real trouble getting them on a set of mavic aksiums

deadman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I bought conti ultra sports at the weekend, and they were much tighter to fit than any other tyre I've had on this bike, so maybe it's something to do with Conti's. Fit them the same as any other tight tyre, just persevere with it and avoid using metal tyre levers if you can.

I figured out how to use the "other" side of my crank bros speedlever while fitting the ultra sports and it made it much easier.

If you are using metal levers, the technique that I use is to get the tyre on as tight as you can with your hands. The insert the lever under the bead and lift it so that the lever is at 90 degrees to the wheel (or maybe a little higher). Then push the bead of the tyre off the lever and into the rim. Pinch punctures occur when you use the lever and lift it right up and over, pinching the tube between lever, rim & bead. I also use the end of an allen key to push the tube in as sometimes the tube keeps getting in the way.

Also remember not to use anything that you wouldn't have with you on the road. Getting a puncture on a spin is one thing. Not being able to refit your tyre is another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

DeadMan1 wrote: »
    hi there,
    I have a gatorskin related question ... probably a stupid one... but how do you fit them on????

having real trouble getting them on a set of mavic aksiums

deadman

Same problem here after the Sunday spin. Gatorskins on Aksiums, couldn't get them on.

Mind you, I've some kind of virus and sore throat, so I gave up and plan to try again when I'm feeling better.

(Also ordered some Schwalbe's on Wiggle as I prefer them, picked the Gatorskins up in the States when I was bored).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Warm them up before you put them on- stick them on the radiator/in the hot press for a few minutes. Gatorskins are tricky especially on an Aksium but they will go on eventually. Pray you never get a puncture :) - although in fairness tyres are easier to put on/remove after they have been on a wheel already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

DeadMan1 wrote: »
    hi there,

With great difficulty ! I've an aversion to these tyres from the last time I attempted to help someone fix a puncture with them on. I reckon the time it takes to get the bloody things off is not worth the risk of a puncture with lesser tyres.

Check out youtube though, someone here posted a vid a while ago of some beardy guy putting them on who made it look incredibly easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Have to say I've had no trouble getting gators onto my Aksiums. I push both beads into the centre line of the rim (where the diameter is smallest. That gives a bit of extra space to get the bead over the rim. I usually use a lever for the last bit but sometimes thumbs have been enough.

went through the sidewall on my diamante pro (note to self take more care on the edge of my drive)

swapped for ultremo r.1, horrible in comparison, the diamante pro's were smooth rolling and seemed to iron out rough seurfaces better, the ultremos could feel every surface imperfection and very slippy in comparison.
    dont know if its to do with the vittorias being 220tpi

new diamante pro arrived yesterday they will go straight back on

My weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

went through the sidewall on my diamante pro (note to self take more care on the edge of my drive)

swapped for ultremo r.1, horrible in comparison, the diamante pro's were smooth rolling and seemed to iron out rough seurfaces better, the ultremos could feel every surface imperfection and very slippy in comparison.
    dont know if its to do with the vittorias being 220tpi

new diamante pro arrived yesterday they will go straight back on

Damn it, the ones I ordered were Ultremo R1s.

depends what your coming from as i said i had duranos last year and going from my cheap schwalbes they were grand, except i went through 3 sidewalls in 3 weeks

i just didnt like them

expensive this finding out what you like

My weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭DeadMan1

thanks for the help guys, there's a few tricks there to try before giving up just yet!
    seamus wrote: »
    Also remember not to use anything that you wouldn't have with you on the road. Getting a puncture on a spin is one thing. Not being able to refit your tyre is another.

this is the big fear