Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How tough is the SKT 160 route?

• 14-06-2011 5:18pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭

After completing the W200 at the weekend, I had planned on keeping the fitness level and training up and give the Sean Kelly 160k a go. Reading the following gave me some pause for thought;
    The Kelly Comeragh Challenge is the tough, tough part of the tour and not for the fainthearted. Almost 160 km (100 miles) in length, it includes two Category One climbs (Seskin Hill and Mahon Falls) and is suitable only for very experienced and very fit full-time cyclists.

How much tougher is this event than the W200, and more importantly is this one for the elite few rather than the middle aged enthusiast? I'm certainly not a full time cyclist, and at best moderately experienced (<2 years cycling, 3 sportives to date, not cycling in a club). Reading the blurb, I'm thinking to maybe give it a couple more years before trying this one.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I haven't done the Ww 200 but I have been over most of it and I'd say it's a tougher event than the Seán Kelly. The Seán Kelly is an event for everyone and definitely not for the elite.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Deisetrek

I haven't done the Ww 200 but I have been over most of it and I'd say it's a tougher event than the Seán Kelly. The Seán Kelly is an event for everyone and definitely not for the elite.

Agree , I did both last year . If you did the W200 , you'll complete the Sean Kelly 160 comfortably .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

That same line put me off it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Muckers

+1 to that. Ignore the bit regarding the 2 cat one climbs. There are none on our fair isle. There is four climbs on the SKT 160 with mahon falls being the hardest by far. It's a hard day in the saddle but it's very manageable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

Yeah, that line scared the bejeepers out of me too. I've not been cycling long but managed the WW100 without finding it very hard (bar the weather of course) would I be able for the 160k or would I be better off with the 90k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

+1 on the above sentiments, if you've done the WW200, you'll do the SKT, Mahon Falls is hard, but take it handy, and you'll get up it, the very last 50 metres is steep, and a short steep descent the other side with a sharp left hander,be careful here, there was someone airlifted last year, missed the turn. Seskin is not as bad as it's made out, but beware to be in the right gearing when you start the climb, it's short and steep,a lot of people get caught by the very short bit at the bottom, you then take a sharp left and up again, make sure you are geared for this from the bottom, Powers Pot, is long and gradual, and theres a bit of a stinger near the end when you think all the climbing is over, and your legs are sore, but after this last sting in the tail, its downhill for the last 15km or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

SKT was easy compared to the WW200 at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭monkeyslayer

Yea +1 on all the above, if you can do the w200 (and in last sundays conditions) you'd manage it grand. Even if you just did the 100 at the weekend there's plenty of time to step up the training a little bit more over the next couple of months. The orwell wheelers randonnee is on a couple of weeks before, well it was last year, I found that great prep for SKT and a great day out too. I'm in no way affiliated with the club btw. I found the hardest part of the SKT in not knowing the roads, things like thinking it was all down hill after mahon falls... (little did I know) but its grand, just need to push through it. Its a much better atmosphere than the w200 too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

xz wrote: »
    +1 on the above sentiments, if you've done the WW200, you'll do the SKT, Mahon Falls is hard, but take it handy, and you'll get up it, the very last 50 metres is steep, and a short steep descent the other side with a sharp left hander,be careful here, there was someone airlifted last year, missed the turn. Seskin is not as bad as it's made out, but beware to be in the right gearing when you start the climb, it's short and steep,a lot of people get caught by the very short bit at the bottom, you then take a sharp left and up again, make sure you are geared for this from the bottom, Powers Pot, is long and gradual, and theres a bit of a stinger near the end when you think all the climbing is over, and your legs are sore, but after this last sting in the tail, its downhill for the last 15km or so.

Very good overview indeed and the last 10 k back to Dungarvin is class real buzz and then the welcome home as you cross the line organisation and spectators alike make you feel youve just won a stage of the Tour.... great feeling.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭mahoo

i nearly laughed to myself when i got to the top of seskin hill last year... id read all the stuff too and had it built up as a monster in my head. in reality its just a very steep bit of road that lasts for a few hundred meters. you even get a break in the middle. category 1 climb me arse!... other climbs are tough enough but nothing worse than wicklow 200... really enjoyed it last year. far better organised than w200, great atmosphere. mass roll out at the start makes it feel like more of an 'event'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 clashextra

The Wicklow 200 will be the hardest cycle you do for the rest of the year! The Sean Kelly is demanding but very enjoyable and, as someone else already posted, has a much better atmosphere than the w200. Food stops are well stocked with quality food and the welcome home at the end is a nice touch.
    And most importantly Dungarvin is a cracking town for some post race RnR:D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Thanks for that lads, that's me sold. Now the main task is to quietly slide it into the family agenda for that weekend in August, though sounds like a good family weekend as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

smacl wrote: »
    Thanks for that lads, that's me sold. Now the main task is to quietly slide it into the family agenda for that weekend in August, though sounds like a good family weekend as well.

There were huge numbers on the Family spin on the Sat last year. A weekend away with ye all cycling on Sat and your own Fan Club on Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭High Nellie

Deisetrek wrote: »
    Agree , I did both last year . If you did the W200 , you'll complete the Sean Kelly 160 comfortably .

I wouldn't say 'comfortably', but yes, it's very worth doing and you should manage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭High Nellie

xz wrote: »
    ....Powers Pot, is long and gradual, and theres a bit of a stinger near the end when you think all the climbing is over, and your legs are sore, but after this last sting in the tail, its downhill for the last 15km or so.

Powers Pot is not steep (except for the last short bit) but it can be the most demanding after the distance, and is a killer if there is a headwind.

It seems to be the last climb but part of the road afterwards is 'dead', with a couple of short, sharp drags that are killers at that stage, especailly if you are trying to make time. So its not over after Powers Pot. But yes, the last few K are a lovely ride back to base.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

Powers Pot is not steep (except for the last short bit) but it can be the most demanding after the distance, and is a killer if there is a headwind.

It seems to be the last climb but part of the road afterwards is 'dead', with a couple of short, sharp drags that are killers at that stage, especailly if you are trying to make time. So its not over after Powers Pot. But yes, the last few K are a lovely ride back to base.

You've mis read me, I didnt mean the stinger was on powers pot, I meant it was in the last 10-15kms before the run in home :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

smacl wrote: »

Not sure where you are from but if you need digs in Dungarvan that weekend could be hard to find at this stage....look into it ASAP.