Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Behind the scene's at Fast food restaurants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I didn't read the article 'cos I'm already put off by the crap that is the bland, unfilling, mostly unhealthy, finished product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

Always be nice to the people who prepare your food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭TheChevron

Would this make you rethink a mcdonalds or burger king?

http://uk.lifestyle.yahoo.com/food-d...jo-romero.html
    No.

Worst article ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

no, I don't eat that sh!te anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Haven't had fast food in years, and i don't think i'll be starting again anytime soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RussellTuring

Would this make you rethink a mcdonalds or burger king?

http://uk.lifestyle.yahoo.com/food-d...jo-romero.html

No. I'd still never eat there. You owe me two minutes of my life for reading that article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Having worked in large factories that butcher meat for places like these i have seen what goes into these burgers and sausages too. It can look pretty disgusting but as i decided then, it never killed me before hand, why would it now? Nom nom nom....

Also, i work long hours too.

Obvious points made in article are obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Meh, some people eat fast food some people dont, I dont get the peope who get on the high horse about not eating it and not putting that shite into your body, everyone has their own tastes.

For the record, if i have fast food twice a month its alot and its usually after drink on a friday/saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭TheRealSquishy

I'm a veggie but I still used to go into the bigger fast food chains until I found out how they reared the animals. It's heartbreaking and I've boycotted them for about 3 years now but TBH I don't think anyone actually cares about hygiene or welfare (of animals or staff). It's so convenient most people prefer to bury their heads under the sand.

And that link is not even bad compared to some of the sh1t that I've seen and read about them. I'll try to find some to post but the likely hood is that most people will just take the p1ss and say something like "oh but the food is good" etc. Veggies get the p1ss ripped out of us all the time while answering questions like this even though it asks your opinion and all you're doing is giving it.

I'll never understand it!

Edit: jesus theirs nothing I hate more than people shoving beliefs down peoples throat and that's exactly what my post looks like, shame on me! I think the decision is really down to you and if you're informed and want to eat it anyway that's grand. And if you want to bury your head in the sand that's fine aswel, ignorance is bliss! I'm just saying the reaction I had to reading articles and seeing videos like that. Peace :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Bit of a silly article, to be honest.
    1)Combo meals can make you spend more
    I bolded the important word there. But you can look at the menu and find the price easily enough. Also "15% of people would not have ordered fries with their meal if a combo deal didn’t exist." Is that a meal then? And what about the other 85% who would want fries?

2)"Healthy’ and ‘kids’ options might not be that healthy
    Who the hell thinks fast food places are healthy?

3)They can refuse to serve you for unusual reasons
    So can pretty much everywhere. I've a friend who won't let us into her house unless we take off our shoes.

4)Fast food staff often work longer hours than you think
    Again, this happens pretty much anywhere, especially in service industries.

5)Employees have their limits
    Yet again, not just in fast food places.

6)Lapses in hygiene do happen
    See above.

7)Children’s parties can be hard work
    Who'd have thunk it? And you didn't get a tip for it? Oh you poor baby.

As I said, it's just a silly article. But, that said, Burger King do a Steakhouse burger which is pretty damn tasty.

gavredking wrote: »
    Meh, some people eat fast food some people dont, I dont get the peope who get on the high horse about not eating it and not putting that shite into your body, everyone has their own tastes.

For the record, if i have fast food twice a month its alot and its usually after drink on a friday/saturday night.

Is merely answering the question in the negative enough to qualify as being on a high horse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭brimal

Why does the word 'Fast' in the thread title have a capital F.

This put me off thread immediately.

EDIT: Also just noticed the apostrophe in 'scene's' - That's it I'm outta here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

I read that article yesterday and was surprised at how bad it was. Yahoo usually have populist crap on their site but it's usually of a reasonable quality and readable. This was all over the place, really bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

Am I the only one who only eats mcdonalds whilst pissed drunk???:rolleyes:
    which i dont do that often so i think ill be ok. I personally would be more worried about he additives in EVERYDAY food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

I enjoyed McDonalds taste of America burgers,i had the 5 of them :),the New Orleans one was my favourite.

I dont care how the meat gets to my table,or how it is killed,i have seen a few of them programs,but i will never give up meat or chicken its just to tasty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

Yea I could never live without chicken, or a sausage and rasher sandwich when hungover :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I love fast food restaurants. I eat there all the time. I have at least one a day. I am appalled at what goes on in these restaurants. I never knew that Children’s parties can be hard work or Combo meals can make you spend more. It's absolutely disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Taylor21 wrote: »
    I'm a veggie but I still used to go into the bigger fast food chains until I found out how they reared the animals. It's heartbreaking and I've boycotted them for about 3 years now but TBH I don't think anyone actually cares about hygiene or welfare (of animals or staff). It's so convenient most people prefer to bury their heads under the sand.

And that link is not even bad compared to some of the sh1t that I've seen and read about them. I'll try to find some to post but the likely hood is that most people will just take the p1ss and say something like "oh but the food is good" etc. Veggies get the p1ss ripped out of us all the time while answering questions like this even though it asks your opinion and all you're doing is giving it.

Edit: jesus theirs nothing I hate more than people shoving beliefs down peoples throat and that's exactly what my post looks like, shame on me! I think the decision is really down to you and if you're informed and want to eat it anyway that's grand. And if you want to bury your head in the sand that's fine aswel, ignorance is bliss! I'm just saying the reaction I had to reading articles and seeing videos like that. Peace :)

Your post shows that you don't know what you're writing about.

McDonalds is the largest consumer of Irish Beef, the hygiene standards are impeccable and they follow all EU and Irish regulations when it comes to animal welfare. But beat your veggie drum to your hearts content, you're not informed at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

I think everyone should do a stink in a production kitchen washing pots and dishes. Just seeing the way things operate and the amount of food some people order.

We used to have to work for our food, now we get it delivered in boxes to our door or on a plate, cooked by someone like me. ... We then wonder why we have an obesity problem in this country.

All kitchens run strick HACCP contros now. You only have to look at the places being closed down to see that poor hygiene practices and bad management will no longer be tolerated in this industry. The rest is a load of balls. It is what it is, people who want thier jobs will do it well or be replaced. It really is that simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭TheRealSquishy

TheZohan wrote: »
    Your post shows that you don't know what you're writing about.

McDonalds is the largest consumer of Irish Beef, the hygiene standards are impeccable and they follow all EU and Irish regulations when it comes to animal welfare. But beat your veggie drum to your hearts content, you're not informed at all.

I didn't actually mention a specific chain but ok lets go with mcdonalds since you put words in my mouth! In Ireland I haven't seen any evidence of abuse but it's rampant in America and it's the principle that I don't like. And I was just posting my opinion which was what the OP asked for.

No need to get personal I just felt like I would get abuse aswell if I gave out about animal welfare and didn't include that I didn't eat meat:rolleyes: Some people just get pleasure out of belittling other peoples beliefs:rolleyes: But everyone's entitled to their own opinion and that's mine and I'll leave it at that 'cause you clearly don't care what I have to say. Good thread OP but that link is fairly poor :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

I don't really get the love for McDonald's thing... I like their Big Macs but everything else is so boring and doesn't fill you.

I love the smokey taste of the Burger King Burgers but again they're fairly bland.

Eddie Rocket's though.......... ok, I know they're kinda dear (although now for less than a tenner you can get a full meal), but God I love their burgers. Proper burgers, not those flat flimsy yokes like in McDonald's. Plus you'll be full after eating there. Worth the extra 2/3 euro in my book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I didn't actually mention a specific chain but ok lets go with mcdonalds since you put words in my mouth! In Ireland I haven't seen any evidence of abuse but it's rampant in America and it's the principle that I don't like. And I was just posting my opinion which was what the OP asked for.

Well to be fair your post was self-righteous and you you were claiming that these animals are poorly treated, I've emboldened that part of your post. Your post was also sanctimonious as you stated that it was easier for people to "bury their heads in the sand" and that "ignorance is bliss", it's also easy to take a position on something and then use tired cliches to try and prove a point, that doesn't work by the way.
    No need to get personal I just felt like I would get abuse aswell if I gave out about animal welfare and didn't include that I didn't eat meat:rolleyes: Some people just get pleasure out of belittling other peoples beliefs:rolleyes: But everyone's entitled to their own opinion and that's mine and I'll leave it at that 'cause you clearly don't care what I have to say. Good thread OP but that link is fairly poor :)

I wasn't getting personal, you can keep your little ":rolleyes:". If anything you're belittling peoples beliefs with:
    It's so convenient most people prefer to bury their heads under the sand.
    and
    And if you want to bury your head in the sand that's fine aswel, ignorance is bliss!

Maybe next time you'll do some actual hands-on research on the subject, I've been to many abattoirs in Ireland and for the most part they're very well run and the animals suffer little or no discomfort throughout their lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Fast-food chains employ marketing strategies in an attempt to make people spend more, their employees are not the most content in the world, and they discourage the presence of animals that **** all over the place at will from being on their premises.

This completely blows away my hitherto rose-tinted view of these establishments. I may never buy a Whopper again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

Nandos FTW

their extra spicy peri-peri chicken burger is just luscious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,840 ✭✭✭Calibos

I am very disappointed. No mention of Snot Burgers or green hogger burgers or jizz burgers or arse scratch dirty fingernail burgers for that matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I'd murder a big mac right now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

Maria remembers: “The parents would dump twenty-five 8-year olds on you and do nothing to help and then wouldn’t even tip”. With their colourful décor and easy to eat foods, fast food restaurants appeal to children, but Lisa adds: “Some children really misbehaved, and we had to deal with it”.

“I was given a mop and bucket and told not to leave until it was cleared up, leaving me still there at 1am”. Lisa, who worked while studying at college, agrees: “They expected me to stay until 2.30-3am on a school night just because someone else was late for work.”

You can tell these people have only ever had one job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'm a veggie but I still used to go into the bigger fast food chains until I found out how they reared the animals. It's heartbreaking and I've boycotted them for about 3 years now
    They claim they use Irish beef and Irish beef has a great quality of life. So there's no need to boycott their hamburgers.

I've found that some McDonalds are better than others. I've always found that if there's Asian staff working there the quality of everything will be as good as can be expected from fast food. I remember the one in westside in Galway went from utter muck thrown out by local teenagers to having the best fast food I've had being cocked by foreigners. I'm even convinced McDonalds have different levels of food quality and they switch and change them depending on the reputation of the restaurant the difference was so great in that one particular resturant.

ScumLord wrote: »
    They claim they use Irish beef and Irish beef has a great quality of life. So there's no need to boycott their hamburgers.

I've found that some McDonalds are better than others. I've always found that if there's Asian staff working there the quality of everything will be as good as can be expected from fast food. I remember the one in westside in Galway went from utter muck thrown out by local teenagers to having the best fast food I've had being cocked by foreigners. I'm even convinced McDonalds have different levels of food quality and they switch and change them depending on the reputation of the restaurant the difference was so great in that one particular resturant.

I'll make sure to avoid that place so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 golass

I lost 2 stone in 2003. I have not eaten fast food since. Still the same weight 8 years on. Love to cook my own food and there's nothing like making your own burgers from scratch....(",)**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,491 ✭✭✭kingtut

7 things fast food restaurants won’t tell you :confused:

Bulls*it !!! There is nothing in that article apart from the bloody obvious!!!

What idiot lets those articles be published? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 golass

The same " idiot" who published yer unnecessarily angry outburst of a reply. :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭Antikythera

themadchef wrote: »
    I think everyone should do a stink in a production kitchen

You mean like drop a few eggy guffs, or maybe take a proper dump on the floor? How would this help?