Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dingle adventure race 11/6/2011

• 09-05-2011 3:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39

Is the kayak section on this a one man effort or are you partnered up with another person.

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 6 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    100%
    ChazMichaelTFBubendorferdquirke1Adventurer10Mebuccaneersseahorse12 6 votes
    3 stars (average)
    0%
    2 stars (poor)
    0%
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 gooch134

Is the kayak section on this a one man effort or are you partnered up with another person.

The kayak's are one man/woman efforts. Some kayaks can cater for two people but they are few and far between.

There are a few changes to the Dingle Adventure Race route this year. The cycle is increased to 25km as opposed to 15km last year. The Mountain run is the same & the run is reduced to 6 miles (8 last year) to Miltown Bridge, Dingle. Competitors will then Kayak for 2Km around a few cones back to where they started kayaking from and run the last Kilometer finishing (same place as last year) in the Marina Dingle Town.

That said I expect times to be a little faster this year as last years run was 8 miles in total and competitors felt every bit of it :).

Weather last year was dry and sunny and there are pictures on facebook site, Dingle Adventure Race. There is also a video on youtube worth checking out. Type in Dingle Adventure Race. You get the picture.

One point of caution, if the weather is as wild as it is at the moment Mount Brandon will be very tricky indeed. A few of us may be under false illusions as to the challenge ahead of us after last years weather success.

On that point alone those of you who have not signed up to the race need not worry. You can register on the evening before, or morning of the race. You could even check to see what the weather is like before attempting it.

I ran/walked/crawled it last year and I am doing it again this year rain, sleet or snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Dingle Adventure Race

Hi, just a couple of points. Registration closes on Friday the 3rd of June, there is not sign up on the weekend, this is only registration for those who have already signed up for the Race. All kayaks are single sea kayaks this year, using about 60 sea kayaks. Look forward to seeing you there, and the weather will be just as good as last year as the leaving cert will just be started. Noel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 earsandasmile

Best of luck to all taking part. Looking forward to hearing the reports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Mebuccaneers

4 stars (good)
    I entered this race yesterday and my brother and a friend of ours entered today! I can't wait for it, it looks like a fairly tough race! I've only just recovered from the West Wicklow ROAR!!
    We are looking forward to a weekend in Dingle, hopefully we'll get some nice sunshine and make a great weekend of it.
    Good luck to everyone taking part!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭TheTubes

Really well organised race today.
    Got "dibs" to check in at mulitple points on the race and a printout of the splits at the finish line, was impressed w this.
    Freak hailstone coming down the conor pass, felt like millions of little pinches, was taken by surprise!
    Still managed to get sunburnt tho :rolleyes:
    Nice jersey given out.
    Spotted a boards jersey at the kayak section.
    Will be back next year.
    In the pub now for the after party, hoping for a good crowd :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

4 stars (good)
    If you saw a blue runner boards top, that was probably me - at least I didn't see another one. I only did the road run as part of a relay, though.

I saw one guy in a boards cycling jersey as well.

Great day, but next year I'll either do the whole thing or nothing at all. Skipping past runners who have just scaled Mount Brandon only leaves me embarrassed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 gooch134

Weather was fabulous, scenery was spectacular. Really enjoyed the event(again). I completed the lot as did a few friends of mine. I did not hear one negative comment about any aspect of the race. You would have had to have been there to understand. Roll on next year.

The Dingle Adventure Race team deserve credit for turning this event into one of the highlights of my year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 ChazMichael

4 stars (good)
    Excellent event, very well organized and I really enjoyed it. The scenery was fantastic and the weather picked up nicely. It was good to see the locals out supporting the race too.

I found it tough and could have had more training under the belt. I'll be better prepared for it next year. The 10k road run after already running down Mt Brandon was particularly hard.

Well done to the organizers and marshalls for running a smooth event!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Mumford

Fantastic race. Really well organised and great atmosphere. Thanks to all the marshalls, people out supporting and organisers!

Speeding down the Connor Pass mad craic. I had never been up Brandon from the Cloghan side - fantastic trail. The hail and snow at the top of Brandon was a little surreal in June. The run down was fabulous. The road run was tough on the legs after the mountain run - for next year, need to get more training of mountain running followed by road run. The kayak around Dingle Harbour was lovely followed by run into finish line.

Definitely one for next year!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭dquirke1

4 stars (good)
    Really enjoyed the event. The weather was grand for the most part and it was very well organised and marshelled. The highlight for me had to be the clouds lifting as we reached the ridge on Brandon and getting a fantastic view out over the bay.
    I really suffered on the road run and ended up half jogging half walking most of it while cursing the relay guys and their fresh legs.
    The kayak was very well run with plenty of decent sea kayaks on offer and marshels to help set them up and get you going. The final run to the finish was very straightforward with great crowds to cheer us across the line.
    Overall it was a great race and I will definatly be back next year.

PS: I was the one sporting the boards cycling kit. Spotted someone in the running top but didn't catch them to say hi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 seahorse12

4 stars (good)
    Another happy competitor. My first time to do Dingle and enjoyed it from start to finish even the hail and snow on Brandon! Well organised and fab prizes. Looking forward to WAR Glenmalure this weekend . I got chatting to one of the organizers at party on Sat who gave me a tip that if you enter ROAR as a discount code you get a tenner off:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Adventurer10

4 stars (good)
    This was by far the most enjoyable race I have done :D. Excellent course, conor pass and mount brandon, irelands 2nd highest mountain- challenging but hugely rewarding.
    A very fair race as the organisers provided individual sea kayaks for everybody.
    Hassle free registration on the friday night, 2 mins to pick up envelope with the number and dibber and cool cycling top. No bike drop so straight for food and relax:)
    Everything starting and finishing in the centre of Dingle at the marina, great atmosphere for spectators and no requiremetn to get on a long bus journey the morning of the race like in gaelforce and rough diamond, just cycle the bike down from b&b in town.

Amazing prizes for 1st - 5th place and also nice to see prizes for some of the people who took a lot longer to finish the course

And excellent after party in excellent destination.

Definately one not to miss. :)