Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

just the initial 'marry me?' ring!??

• 07-06-2011 10:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭

hey,does it matter what ring you propose with? thinkin getting the ring together later...so where do I get a cheap ring to ask with, or does it matter. I presume cheap as it prob wont be worn after engagemnt ring bought!? help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

erm... most (probably close to all women) ... want to keep the ring they are proposed to with.

if you really want to surprise her with a token ring then get something similar to what you think she will want to purchase ...or use a toy ring (depending on the moment)

theres loads of options with Argos or similar shops that sell cheap(ish) jewellery.

Alternatively ...bring her ring shopping and see what she likes - buy it and propose when the time is right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If you're planning on letting her choose her own ring, then you don't need one. Rarely, some people will have a "thing" about there being some kind of token, but me an my brothers all proposed without a ring and never heard a bad word about it. But at the same time, you absolutely can't go wrong if you have a placeholder ring to propose with.

One thing you can do is buy a piece of costume jewellery for less than €100. Any time then that she's doing something that places her real ring at risk (swimming, etc), she can stick on the cheap knock-off, if she feels strongly about having a ring on as much as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Swarovski do lovely rings but the only problem is telling her it's fake if it looks real. She may get all excited about the ring then you tell her she's getting another one!
    I personally think it would be much better getting her an actual engagement ring to propose with.
    Surely you know what style she'd like... if not, get it out of her- or even her friends.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

i gave a decoy based on what I thought would be the preferred ring style and despite several conversations over what that would like like she eventually went for the total opposite of what i bought as the decoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

i just got a cheap Elisabeth duke diamond solitaire from argos for about €100 to propose with initially, and then we went ring shopping to get her the proper one and it worked out rather nicely.

just make sure you propose in a way that is both romantic and also a story she can tell in public, because people will ask how you did it, and you don't want to go making her blush. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

You don't need a token ring to propose with at all, if anything tiz a waste of €100 which could be put to better use bringing ye both out for a nice dinner somewhere.

Ask her the four words, get down on one knee and go ring shopping later / the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭bp

I got engaged nine months ago, with a token ring (he told me there and then that it was a token ring which we would replace at some stage). We are only replacing it now (that we have the money saved up). I think a token ring is a lovely idea - I will be keeping mine, but also will wear it if I go travelling just in case anything were to happen.

Mine is from fields and fooled everyone, although most people know it isn't the real one it still looks good nine months later.

Also it is hard to know what will suit or what she will like when it comes down to it - real ring shopping is something that you can enjoy together, just make sure you have the budget settled before hand!

my wife loves her token ring (i did pick a nice one, knowing her tastes) and she still wears it on the same finger on her other hand.

i think it's just nice to have and it has a lot of sentimental value too.

if nothing else, it keeps the letches away from her if we're ever holidaying anywhere where the tradition is to wear it on the right hand. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Lustrum

Unless you're mental, I wouldn't spend anything on the "token" ring. Borrow one that has some sentimental value to her (I used my missus' school graduation ring - brownie points :D ) and put the effort into choosing the real thing together

it's still a ring and it doesn't have to cost a fortune to look good enough to wear day to day.

aside from anything if you get a really nice expensive 'proper' ring, there might be times when she doesn't want to go out with several thousand quid hanging off her finger, but still wants to look like she's engaged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 famed45

Hey Karl i had the same question a few months back and both she and i were very happy with the result. Everyones different but here's what i did:

I bought a token ring from M&S, it cost €15/€16 and was in the style of an engagement ring. Simple, does the job and costs peanuts.

As it happened she really liked the token ring but we went out together to buy her 'the one' and made a real treat - night out in dublin, diner, champers, hotel and shopping on grafton st nx day. We bought it in Applebys and got free champers in Westbury. Spent rest of the day looking at her new ring and she loved the whole thing. She keeps the token as a memento.

Tbh, the sight of you on one knee, popping the question with ANY ring should be plenty. no need to splash out imo.

(And if you wanna return the ring you can easily do that and it wont cost ya a thing!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

vibe666 wrote: »
    i just got a cheap Elisabeth duke diamond solitaire from argos for about €100 to propose with initially, and then we went ring shopping to get her the proper one and it worked out rather nicely.

just make sure you propose in a way that is both romantic and also a story she can tell in public, because people will ask how you did it, and you don't want to go making her blush. ;)

€100 doesn't sound cheap to me for a token ring.

They have rings in marks&sparks, oasis etc for about a tenner.

I'd rather put the €90 saved into the real ring rather than the token ring .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

i got engaged recently and didnt have a ring when asking her, we went straight out afterwards to pick the engagement ring, but i think a proposal ring is a bit much imo. I dont honestly see a need for one especially if you are planning on getting the engagement ring that day. Smart move not buying the engagement ring yourself, i have heard of lots of people buying engagement rings without her having an input, granted most of the girls love them but its still unlikely they would be what she would have picked herself plus she is the one that has to wear it the rest of her life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭janbaby

My DF proposed with an eternity ring. We went ring shopping afterwards. I still have the eternity ring, I love it and I wouldn't change things! I would def do it with some sort of a token ring cos when we went ring shopping I was so surprised that the ones I thought I'd like didn't suit me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Thomas1981

I proposed with an empty jewellers box in a chanel bag. She liked it, cried and said yes so its all good. We went ring shopping the next day. You could pick up a ring worth €60 in a cheap jewellers that looks like a diamond but its a bit of a waste. At least an empty box looks nice with the promise to fill it together. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭The Davestator

the token ring i used cost €3.50 from Claires accessories. I bought 3 differnt sizes just in case. She loved it. (until it turned green a week later) but we had the real one by then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Sinto99

I went to Swarovski and say a ring that looked very like a proper engagement ring and wasnt that expensive at all.
    When I proposed she loved the fact she had a ring to be able to put on her finger then and there and show friends/family.
    We then went ring shopping for the real one together and had a great time doing so, having a 'fake' ring meant that there was no pressure to get a real one asap and she could take her time chosing 'the one'
    She still has the original one and loves it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Rachiee

if you wanna chose the ring together get a cheap ring from argos for like 150 odd euro propose with that and then two of yis can go ring shopping together for the proper one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Rachiee wrote: »
    if you wanna chose the ring together get a cheap ring from argos for like 150 odd euro propose with that and then two of yis can go ring shopping together for the proper one

Since when is €150 cheap?!

That is 10% of your budget if you are planning on spending €1500 on the real engagement ring.
    Or 5% if you are going to spend €3000.

Threads like this saying spend €150 on not a real engagement ring quickly lead into threads querying is it okay to ask your guests to give cash gifts because you need money to pay for your wedding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 annersok

My fiance recently proposed to me and actually used on of my already existing rings as a token ring. We went out straight away and bought the actual engagement ring and from a female perspective i was just as happy, at the end of the day the most important thing is that you propose to her and i know personally its nice to be able to pick out the ring together!