Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you haggle on adverts?.

• 06-06-2011 2:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭

Do you tell few hard luck stories/gentle persuasion in getting an item for a penny?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Adverts is a joke,you put up something for €500 and everyone offers €200,just the other day i was looking at cameras and there was one for €850 and the first comment was "€380 offered",like come on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Haggling is the default on Adverts. It's really, really **** for selling cars though. 'Will you swap your M3/iPhone/PS3 for an old sock, guv'nor?' is the standard refrain.

It's by far the worst thing about Adverts imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I haggle lots of places, but never add hardluck stories - not their problem and the deal is the deal, I offer what I think it's worth and no more. €300 watch for €90 in Arnott's and €7000 car for €5000 my highlights so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I don't mind a bit of haggling. I have a fair idea what I think something is worth and set my asking price accordingly. People like to think they are getting a bargain. I know someone won't buy a pair of shoes unless they get a pair of laces thrown in.

You'll always get chancers but it's more fun to string them apong than to get upset.

Having said that, if I'm buying and I see something I really want I'll offer the asking price as I've lost out on a few things before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Cars are the worst on adverts - any car under €1500 normally have about 15 comments all of which are

offer €200 -

I bought something off adverts its why i orignally signed up to boards - it was 60 quid what i was buying so i just said €50 and deal -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

No. I dont use it.

Confab wrote: »
    Haggling is the default on Adverts. It's really, really **** for selling cars though. 'Will you swap your M3/iPhone/PS3 for an old sock, guv'nor?' is the standard refrain.

It's by far the worst thing about Adverts imo.

yep - might as well put up a price where you expect to get about 2/3's of that (at max) and where that eventual price is a really good one as people never ever offer what is looked for even if it's a total bargain.

agree that the swap merchants are annoying and hilarious too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I haggle at my local Londis.

*beep* *beep* *beep* *beep* That'll be 45.90.
    I'll give you 40 euros and not a cent more! :mad:

On topic. really miss the old For Sale boards, used adverts once when it started but not much anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Adverts is a joke,you put up something for €500 and everyone offers €200,just the other day i was looking at cameras and there was one for €850 and the first comment was "€380 offered",like come on.

+1000

Dont get me started on adverts :rolleyes:
    like, everything is negotiable but then there is taking the p*ss. Personally I think these people are trying to rip someone off. its not bartering to ask 15% of the asking price :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭brimal

What drives me around the bend on Adverts is the amount of people offering swaps, even when people specifically say 'no swaps'.

brimal wrote: »
    What drives me around the bend on Adverts is the amount of people offering swaps, even when people specifically say 'no swaps'.

Would you swap that for a Nokia 9820

Last year I was trying to sell a brand new Avensis. List price was 26 grand. Got this offer I couldn't turn down:

http://touch.adverts.ie/adcomments.php?item_id=167378

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

stimpson wrote: »
    Last year I was trying to sell a brand new Avensis. List price was 26 grand. Got this offer I couldn't turn down:

http://touch.adverts.ie/adcomments.php?item_id=167378

That's hilarious, well worth reading :)
    10/10 for ballseyness in some cases!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Adverts is sh!t, was thinking o fselling some things, had a snoop around and came to the realization that it sucks big time.

I won't be selling my unwanted crap there.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

This. It's either some cute hoor or some drooling windowlicker. I'm not sure which. I suspect the latter. Then again it has been my experience with my countrymen and women that too many have no clue of the value of something unless it's got a price tag stuck to it's arse, so will "take a chance". "Here, this ferrari, tis a car isn't it? Sure why would I pay more than what me uncle paid for his Pewwwjot?". This goes double for luxury items. Seriously clueless on that score. You'll get eejits like that anywhere(Spain is a charm for them) but we do seem to have more of them in Ireland. :confused:
    brimal wrote:
    Yep. the adverts equivalent of "I haven't read the thread but...[usually followed by stupidity]. On a 10 page thread on boards I can understand, on a single page on adverts? No lets call a spade a spade, they're... well eejits. Seriously. How could they be anything else?

I've bought stuff on adverts on two occasions. Both items with well known values and I just offered the chap his asking price or just below in line with a fair price. I seriously doubt I'd ever sell anything on it though. eBay or buy and sell if I had to go local.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

I bought my car on adverts.ie

all in all I thought it was a reasonably painless process, I signed up made some reasonable offers to some sellers, went to look at a few cars and then bought one, of course people are going to haggle thats the nature of the game, you say you want E1000 for a car I say the cars worth E500, we then negotiate til we come up with a figure that I'm willin to spend and you're willin to take.

simples.

I havew used donedeal a lot to buy stuff but I really like the comments function on adverts

Wibbs wrote: »
    I've bought stuff on adverts on two occasions. Both items with well known values and I just offered the chap his asking price or just below in line with a fair price. I seriously doubt I'd ever sell anything on it though. eBay or buy and sell if I had to go local.

Ive had timewasters on eBay before. Havent used buyandsell in years but have used donedeal and it's a pain having to deal with eejits on the phone. Far easier to ignore them on adverts. I have to say that any time I've agreed a sale on adverts the buyer has turned up on time with no messing. I only got messed around once after having an offer accepted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I've never used it to buy anything, but I looked on it a while back when I was looking for guitar amps. I'm not surprised people go in with low offers - the amps were, at least, vastly overpriced. I even explained to a few sellers that you could buy the same amp for new, shipped from Germany for more or less the same price they were looking for.

One of them told me to "go buy it in Germany then".

So I did.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

brimal wrote: »
    Add to that, when you state (family has done it), this is the "lowest rock bottom price I can afford to sell this item at" and you still get stupid people posting just as stupid offers!

There is some thick and ignorant people out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Biggins wrote: »
    Add to that, when you state (family has done it), this is the "lowest rock bottom price I can afford to sell this item at" and you still get stupid people posting just as stupid offers!

There is some thick and ignorant people out there.

i feel more sympathy for those accepting the offers,better off on ebay.

I've never used it to buy anything, but I looked on it a while back when I was looking for guitar amps. I'm not surprised people go in with low offers - the amps were, at least, vastly overpriced. I even explained to a few sellers that you could buy the same amp for new, shipped from Germany for more or less the same price they were looking for.

One of them told me to "go buy it in Germany then".

So I did.

I've noticed that too though on aquariums - a few year old aquariums being sold at more than the market price -

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Of courses I do, only bought one thing for full price as it was a great deal. I'd expect people to haggle with things I sell too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Shiroki

I like to haggle a little bit but I wouldn't take the pish. Say something was going for a hundred quid. I'd offer ninety and negotiate a price and more often than not you'll get a little bit off the price, maybe meet them halfway at 95 :)

The no swaps thing annoys the hell out of me, especially when people offer ****e. "Selling this laptop cause I just got a new one last week" "Ehhh would ya swap it for a laptop?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I sold a MacBook on it before and some windowlicker offered €200. I told him the retail value and he started threadspoiling with links to window PCs saying they were cheaper and offered better specs.

Adverts was good when it was a quick tool to sell stuff among boardsies, now it's full of people like that guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Like Ruu I remember the old for sale forum we used to have

I've bought and sold a few things on adverts. Mainly ipods.

There was a Nintendo 64 that had about five buyers. A boardsie would own it for a few weeks and sell it on and the next person would do the same.
    We all payed the same price for it, nobody made or lost money. :D

It's far busier these days and there are some ridiculous offers given.
    And people need to read the ads. What part of no swaps did you miss??

It worked far better in the old days when it was less well known and the people from boards knew how it worked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

even if you do agree a price, chances are the person won't even turn up.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

the amps were, at least, vastly overpriced. I even explained to a few sellers that you could buy the same amp for new, shipped from Germany for more or less the same price they were looking for.
    Oh yea, it can go both ways alright. Like I reckon a helluva lot of Irish people have no clue of the value of things. Sorry if someone has an item worth on previous around 2k say, you don't wander in with a "I'll give ye 200 quid and my nokia xxfgdt3400Gti". An actual low ball offer is more in the region of 15-1600 not 500. You wanna horse trade go to smithfield I reckon.

It's not the Adverts setup itself. Not at all. It's well modded and run IME and IMHO and the comments section is a great idea and it's V nicely laid out. It's like a brilliant pub, with good beer where too many mouthbreathers have wandered in off the street of late.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

even if you do agree a price, chances are the person won't even turn up.

all my deals have gone great so far! selling and buying. Easy enough to check peoples history too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭SparKing

I've sold a couple of things on it, one eejit offered me €200 twice for a brand new phone retailing at about €450, when I checked his previous comments on other ads, he offered €200 for everything he ever bid on, weird. To be fair I ended up selling that phone for €250, but that was after it was up for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

I've gone in with what seemed like low ball bids. To be fair though it was what the item was worth to me at the time. A lot of things on adverts are vastly overpriced.