Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do Hairdressers Speak To You ?

• 04-06-2011 3:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭OMG Its EoinD

First of all I am not an unapproachable person I would like to think and I'm not hideous ( so those 2 replies are nullified :p )

But whenever I am in a hairdressers , they always seem to be having a great chat with their customers , yet when I get into the seat it's "What haircut can I give you" and nothing else until they ask am I happy with the haircut.

Do any of ye not speak to hairdressers or is it just me ?!?!:confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I'd prefer if they didn't, just cut my fúcking hair so I can get out of there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

Unfortunately they do....be glad you get left off the hook !!!
    Have you any holidays planned.....
    Are you doing anything nice this weekend....
    While Im thinking can I just read this magazine in peace !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I love when I get a haircut off a sexy one and she is doing your fringe and her tits are rubbing off me.
    Me gusta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭smugchik

Think yourself lucky to be free of the inane holiday questions that they always ask...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

TBH I'M not bothered if they talk to me or not.

"What will we do today"?

" Going somewhere nice tonight"?

"Your hair is really thick"

is more than enough for me

I generally like to cut off, read all their glossy magazines, drink coffee and chill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Im_EoinD wrote: »
    First of all I am not an unapproachable person I would like to think and I'm not hideous ( so those 2 replies are nullified :p )

But whenever I am in a hairdressers , they always seem to be having a great chat with their customers , yet when I get into the seat it's "What haircut can I give you" and nothing else until they ask am I happy with the haircut.

You go to hairdressers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

yes and no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭OMG Its EoinD

orourkeda wrote: »
    You go to hairdressers?

A barbers like :P but I call them hairdressers anyway :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Bobby42

Anytime a barber asks me did I see the match last night/watching it tonight and I respond with "I don't watch football" the rest of my haircut is carried out in complete silence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

im deaf so after the 'what cut do you wants?' they leave me alone except when theyre checking i like what theyre doing. they tend to ak the same questions with everyone by the sounds of it - just to keep a banter going. but to be fair, theyre not likely to talk if you dont seem all that interested. lets say you sound half hearted when they ask 1 question or even drone a bit when you explain what you want. tone of voice style of thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Of course I chat with them, would feel weird not too.

Not non-stop, but a little conversation is better than the tense atmosphere that none would bring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

I never chat with my barber,i go for a haircut nothing else.A good barber knows not to talk to his customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Got my hair cut the other day. Bar the few questions about the cut, she only asked me one, maybe two questions and that was it. Thankfully!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Plug wrote: »
    I love when I get a haircut off a sexy one and she is doing your fringe and her tits are rubbing off me.
    Me gusta.
    Normally you have to tip extra for that kind of action :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Do people really have an issue with a bit of pleasant conversation?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

I had a haircut about a year ago and had a lovely conversation about this big wedding the person knew about and how my previous girlfriend-given haircut had gone terribly wrong. The conversation made me feel alot better about the whole experience.

I did speak back to her though. You can't expect a person to have a convesation at you. "How many questions did you get asked" sort of nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

id be afraid of distracting them with too much banter anyway - i seem to end up with trainees and junior staff a lot so im friendly but leave them to it. i know if it was me on the end of the scissors id find it hard to keep up a conversation and concentrate on getting the cut right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

I don't think any of the barbers at my hairdressers have the necessary standard of English to have a conversation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭UpCork

I'm just as glad when they don't speak to me. Yes, I pass pleasantries with them, but I hate it when I'm sitting in the hair with a head of wet hair and no escape and it is like the Spanish Inquisition. What's worse is, you normally have to shout the questions and answeres over the noise in the hairdressers, meaning that the whole salon can hear your business.

I go to the hairdressers to get my hair cut. If I want a gossip or a deep and meaningful, I'll ring my Mother or my friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

My usual hairdressers chats to me, lovely girl she is. But sometimes if I have to go to some-one else I feel like a clump of hair with a person attached to it, if you get me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

I cut my own hair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

I cut my own hair
    So, do you talk to yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

In a similar quandary myself. I always went to a bit of a lads barbers for years. The guy who owned the place didnt employ anyone except the hottest young ones. That was all grand, nice to look at, the old killer rack in your face as she cuts the fringe etc etc, we've all been there. But the problem with hot young hairdressers is they always want to talk about shít I couldnt care less about...

"So ya goin clubbin this weekend?"
    "I hear a new clubs opened up in town"
    "Have ya been to this new club in town that opened up there"
    "Im heading to Ayia Napa with the girls / me boyfriend next week, looking forward to hittin the clubs there"

Ive now found a unisex barbers with a nice middle aged lady who likes to start conversations about subjects which don't involve clubs. I miss the killer racks though. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    Do people really have an issue with a bit of pleasant conversation?:confused:

Yes. I hate everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Yes.

The last converstaion went like this:

Anne (the hairdresser): Would you not just get a razor and shave your own head?
    Me: No. I want a proper job done. Now just shave my ****ing head.

She's also my cousin, so I can get away with that.
    35 years and I've yet to pay for a hair cut.
    Two of her sisters are hairdressers too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

They don't really talk to me much. Sometimes they might talk about the thickness of my hair and ask whether I use gel or wax but that's about it.

I'm glad they don't talk to me though. I just want to get out as fast as I can so I can go home and wash the loose bits of hair off of myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

i dont normaly talk to people who are beneath me but...

when i was younger i used to get my haircut by this very large woman. she had massive tits and when she started to cut the side of my hair, i use to stick my elbows out so i could get a rub off her chest :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

I go to the same barber all the time, at first I would have been quieter but now when I go I have a good chat with him, keep him up to date with college and stuff. He seems to be genuinely interested in science anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

13 years since ive been in a hair dressers or barbers. happy puberty hair!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It's where two people talk mutual sh1te for a maximum of 15 minutes, or so I find. And a few weeks later it's the same mutual sh1te for another 15 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Jesus, some people in here are fair touchy. I'd have no problem with a barber/barman/taxi driver talking away. What do you expect them to do, deal with people all day and just act like robots? They'd go mad if they couldn't talk ****e now and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Camackaze

My hairdresser is my sister / ma so it's hard to keep them quiet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Not the morning after at least. I stay 'asleep' hoping they will get their stuff and slip out the door early. Nothing worse than wanting a lazy Sunday and having to make morning-after conversation. "So....you're a hairdresser then?"

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Yes, for about 9 hours a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Yeah she asked why I wasn't in school today I replied well because I'm in my twenties.
    I like to think I'm quite socially awkward so I usually repel them except I get along well with any of the male Asian hairdressers (sorry to generalise just an observation they were always a great laugh and friendly I found most of the female hairdressers to be a tad well bitchy or impatient)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭trish23

I will speak to them for all of 2.5 minutes to tell them what I want, after which I'm on my time not theirs. I'm not a bitch, I just don't see the point of ****e talk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭fasty

I don't really like having big chats about nothing with anyone so a hairdresser who says very little suits me.

I got my hair cut today, and exchanged a few words about weekend plans and music and other than that, he just did his job. I'm pretty happy with the haircut too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Don't mind a chat, place I go we normally end up talking about cars. But when the woman in there starts chatting, she actually stops cutting my hair and goes into a full blown conversation with me in the mirror. Cut my freakin hair woman and shut the f*** up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

Camackaze wrote: »
    My hairdresser is my sister / ma so it's hard to keep them quiet

o_0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭ismiseuisce

I'm not a chatty person at all. My heart sinks whenever a hairdressers starts chatting away with me. I feel the same whenever a taxi driver starts talking shíte.

Don't get me wrong, if it's a genuine and interesting conversation or if we hit it off and have a bit of craic together that's great, but most of the time it's just forced, awkward nonsensical chatter.

I get on well with my usual hairdresser, so the small talk isn't too bad anymore and we have nice chats. She also knows when to stop and just let me read in peace!
    I hate small talk with the ones I don't know though, "are you going out tonight" well no I'm not, sorry!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

No, I just say I don't follow football and they clam up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Having my own head shaver solved that problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Leave me alone so I can read your out of date Now/Hello magazine, do as I say and don't scalp me and while you're off getting towels would you put the kettle on, Love? Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Of course I chat with them, would feel weird not too.

Not non-stop, but a little conversation is better than the tense atmosphere that none would bring.

It's handy the barber has something to cut the tension with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭davetherave

I go to my barber purely for the conversation. Of course I've been going to the same guy once a month for the last 14 years so I can only presume we are going to run out of stuff soon to talk about at some stage. :p

I'd say taxi drivers must be driven mad with the first thing people asking them is 'Are you busy tonight, and what time are you on until?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

If they make the effort to chat, I'll make the effort to be polite. I don't bother starting the conversation but if they want to have a chat then I'll keep up with it, it's only politeness really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

If they want to talk it's fine with me, I like chit chat.