Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3 Satellite Broadband - Rip Off !!!!!!!!!

• 04-06-2011 1:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13

TO ALL THE GREAT UNWASHED OUT THERE LIKE MYSELF WHO EVENTUALLY GOT A SATELLITE FROM 3 FOR THE NBS................

My satellite was installed on the 10th of May , a Wed.
    Great I thought , only 11 Gb but after 11Pm unlimited.
    Duly set AVG , windows , torrents to update/download after 11 PM and the PC to switch off at 06:59AM
    I'm away a lot with work , so didn't pass a lot of remarks on it.
    On the 17th I happened to be off so I tried to go online but , alas , it was dreadfully slow.
    Like you I have no way of checking my remaining usage so I duly rang Satellite Broadband Ireland in Mullingar to see what was up.
    Lo and behold I've reached my limit!!!
    I queried this as , like you , I'd been told that from 11 PM to 7 AM usage is unlimited ,right?
    I told them that with the modem there were some months that I didn't get anywhere near that even though I had a limit of 25GB.
    Lots of waffle that it would roll back in the evening etc.... and then at 11 - va va voom , right?
    Anyway its been like that since and I don't get on it much during the day so said nothing.
    The guys in mullingar can't tell me usage per day , just overall.

Still with me?

This morning , paid my bill , then asked for the Technical helpline.
    The satellite team don't work weekends.
    Yesyerday the guys in Mumbai didn't even know I had a satellite as when I told him that I'd been restricted because I'd reached my limit , he said that it was showing I'd still got around 24 GB!!!!

Back to today.

Told him that my speeds were slow/non-existent and repeated what I , We have all been told.
    That is : 10GB download , 1 GB upload , and that from 11 PM to 7 AM it was unlimited.
    He agreed , yes , correct , affirmative , oui!!!!!!
    Told to ring back on Monaday.
    Thought I'd check with Mullingar again and this is when I got the money shot.....

After 11 PM is not unlimited

If you've reached your limit it is , ok , but if you're under your 10 GB allowance , your downloads will be included in your allowance until it reaches 10 GB.
    E.G If you've had it installed and haven't used it , and then you go on at 11PM on your first night and download 10 GB of whatever , even though you'd think you weren't adding to your usage , and that you still had 10 GB left , thats all your allowance gone so if you went to use it during the following day It'd be restricted.
    Thats straight from the horses mouth.
    Oh and 3 won't be switching us onto the new satellite , which is faster and more allowance , as the gear costs about €400 - €500.
    A new dish , modem and cabling is required.
    Now , my friends if that's not a classic piece of false advertising I don't know what is

I say again.... After 11 PM is not unlimited

Are we being let down by 3 and the DCENR 11 votes

Yes
    0%
    No
    100%
    bealtinePogMoThoinkenaghcomputersyuloniruffmuthotwhiskeyjay93SchorpioWilliam PowellLaVailRaville 11 votes
    we get what we deserve
    0%

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

There should be none of these pissant limits. It is 11Gb a month ( 10 down 1 up I think) , not 5mb an hour or some arbitrary bollix.

Complain to the NBS Helpdesk in the Department of Communications that 3 are in breach fo the NBS Contract by providing you with a satellite connection that throttles you willy nilly and provides no usage/download monitoring.

It is up to three to find a satellite that is compliant, you should not even have to ring Mullingar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

No

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Condi wrote: »
    It is up to 3 to find a sat product that is compliant with the NBS, blaming Eutelsat is pure BS when they could easily rent transponder space themselves and deliver the contract.

Complain to DCENR direct that 3 are non compliant with the contract. If that does not work then complain to the EU commission who invested €40m in this project and are being told it was spent properly.

General Enquiries:
    INFSO Desk
    European Commission
    BU25 02/095
    B-1049 Brussels
    Tel: +32 (0)2 299 9399
    Fax: +32 (0)2 299 9499
    infso-desk@ec.europa.eu

If you do contact the EU make sure you contact the auditors as well.

http://eca.europa.eu/portal/page/portal/eca_main_pages/home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭lendmeyourear

The Sunday Business Post had a great article telling me that Onwave were launching a 6MB download and 1MB upload for all rural people for €17.50. I nearly fainted with excitement. You can search the article online. This morning I rang and spoke to Sarah, how soon could I get up and running...
    So after a few questions my excitement turned to anger.... It was decided I was a 'lite' user, and so a cap of 4 GB would be set for me, and no it was not €17.50 - that was for the first three months only, then it was €44.99, hahahaha, steam was rising out of my head at this stage....it was the cap that really bothered me as I had Ripple Broadband at €40 per month and speeds of about 250 MB uploads....due to trees issue...better than 28KB on a dial up.... and Idid get 3 Rural Scheme, with two booster boxes that was just about the same...so when one goes down I have the other.... that is the shoddy service I am used to, so I was hardly about to take on a shyster who was promising broadband at €17.50.... O Heavens help us in this country, it is full of gob****e providers. Sarah admitted that a few people had been annoyed!!

I have since contacted the Editor of the Business Post for falsely misrepresenting this 'new' product. O another thing...they said, if I gave them an additional €200, for the duration of the 24 month contract, it would cost me €10 less per month.....HELLO!! want us to fund the company as well...so if we alll signed up to that, they would probably go into liquidation....and do a runner with all our money. Oh I am so angry.

Has anyone else falled for this... Oh 8 GB download of broadband will cost €69.99 and did I want TV and phone too???? Just let me off the phone QUICK.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭LoTwan

I am an Onwave customer. I have fallen for nothing. I didn't see any introductory offers & got €5 off per month by holding them to their price matching promise.

Maybe I am naive but I know the country I live in. 3 years ago, when I bought the site I am living on I knew that the local Eircom exchange was never going to be enabled, the surrounding countryside is too flat for wireless & mobile coverage is crap. At the time satellite was 512k down & an open dialup connection for uploading. Yeah, I'd like my Internet connection to be cheaper, faster, uncapped, etc but it's not.

Putting "from €17.50" in the newspaper is not OK & I feel sorry for the call centre staff (who don't actually work for Onwave) having to deal with that this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 liamdebleine

TO ALL THE GREAT UNWASHED OUT THERE LIKE MYSELF WHO EVENTUALLY GOT A SATELLITE FROM 3 FOR THE NBS .........

Part II

Nothing has improved since my last post. Mumbai don't seem to know their arse from their collective elbows !!!
    The old dashboard showed up 25Gb 1 day and the next it had dropped to 11264Mb.
    I queried this and the gifted individual at the other end said " oh you can check your usage "
    Remember de big feckin dish on my house says I , the dashboard has feck all to do with that !
    SBI were amazed at this statement to say the least.
    Again I was told that after 11PM was unlimited.
    We all know now that thats bull**** !!!
    Monday last I found out that ..... are you sitting down ?

Your 10 Gb allowance is based on a 30 day rollback !!!
    So on the 1st of July you'd be expecting a fresh 10 Gb right ?
    Wrong ! Wrong ! Wrong !
    It checks your usage over the previous 30 days !!
    If you were near 10 Gb on the last day of June , you'd still be near it on the 1st of July !!!!!

Only just a few minutes ago I was talking to Salim and he eventually confirmed everyhting SBI have been telling us from the start.
    I told him to come and collect the dish and re-install my exterior antenna and he told me that wasn't possible !!!
    I can get an upgrade but I can't downgrade myself voluntarily , I'd have to go back to a window unit and then get upgraded all over again. Unfukinbeleivable !!!!!.

Fair enuff I told him he has til Friday to get the dish or it and the Modem are on Ebay .
    Pure ****e from Oct 09 til now and no improvement in either service or standards.

They'll still probably ring on Monday looking for €19.99 !!!

Bring it on !!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 liamdebleine

Remember all the grief with our beloved NBS provider.
    I spoke to 3 on the 6th and told them i wasn't happy with the satellite option and told them to remove it and re-install my exterior antenna.
    The first guy said no , you can't downgrade as you've got the final option for broadband.
    I chanced my arm and rang back a day or 2 later and a differnt guy said yes , remove satellite and reinstall exterior antenna and even put an extension pole to raise it higher for better signal strength.
    Great I said no worries 2 - 3 weeks and it'll be sorted.
    SBI - the guys who installed the satellite rang me yesterday at around 4:30 pm to say they'd be out on Monday {18th} to remove the dish etc....
    I asked them would they be reinstalling the exterior antenna and they said no as it had been sent back to 3 and to contact them.

Rang 3......................................

If i get my satellite removed I have to basically start from scratch with just my dongle. Do the speed tests as required and then 3 will look into the next step i.e. a booster and if that doesn't work then an exterior antenna.
    I pointed out that since I'd already had and needed the exterior option I hardly needed to go through all that agian.
    No , they said that the exterior antenna didn't work and that was why I was given the satellite.
    The exterior antenna worked ok , it only went down if the mast or network was down.
    I explained that the reason for my complaint at the time was that the window unit had stopped working , it had broken.
    OK I was delighted to get the Satellite , after all we'd been promised the Sun , Moon and Stars.
    But we've been lied to from the beginning and still they look for the money come the end of the month.
    I mean 10 Gb a month would be ok if it WAS unlimited after 11pm.
    This 30 day rollback is bull****. I'd have to not use my Broadband for 30 days to get 10 Gb of an allowance.

WTF 3 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭Lennoxschips

Ye poor things, I'm paying 5 euros a month in Sweden for 100 Mb up&down fibre optic internet with no data allowance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Ye poor things, I'm paying 5 euros a month in Sweden for 100 Mb up&down fibre optic internet with no data allowance.

Yeah but are you living in a one off house in rural sweden?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Who are you with. A friend of mine pays 55 euro p/m for 100Mb with 10Mb u/l.

How are you getting that for a fiver and I doubt you have 100Mb u/l.