Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cigarette Lighter

• 04-06-2011 11:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭

how ye peopppppple!!

i have one a them yokes for plugging into the cigarette lighter that converts to a standard plug...

was just wondering could i plug a drill into it and use it or would the car blow up :)

iv no generator ya see...

mmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭dougie-lampkin

Check the wattage of the drill (should be printed on it) against the wattage of the inverter (should also be printed on it). If the drill doesn't mention watts but instead has a rating for amperage, just multiply this by 230 to get a figure for wattage. If the inverter can supply more watts than the drill uses, work away, I do it the whole time with the soldering iron :)

Word of warning though, be careful the drill bit doesn't touch off anything 12v live. That will cause sparks and will short your battery. If you're lucky it'll just blow a fuse. I found out the hard way with the soldering iron :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭Blink182rock

bogod i seee...

cheers for that.... if its all good ill drill for oil :)!!!

thats unlucky now ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

I'd imagine you'd need a big inverter for a drill and these usually don't plug into the cig lighter, instead they clamp directly to the battery. I'd imagine any half drill would be 200-300 watts and most of them cig lighter inverters hit about 60 watts. Bit as above post check the ratings, you could be surprised.

i see.. where would you get the connectors to clamp onto the battery directly ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Curlz24

Was looking at this a few weeks ago
    http://www.carparts.ie/In-Car-Technology/Voltage-Converters/Accessories.aspx?SubGroupIDStr=SC08/06

It didnt rate the power output of what I needed so I dropped them a mail and they organised another at a good price.
    Lucas brand and they seem to be of very good quality!
    Ive used a GHD with mine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

I'd imagine you'd need a big inverter for a drill and these usually don't plug into the cig lighter, instead they clamp directly to the battery. I'd imagine any half drill would be 200-300 watts and most of them cig lighter inverters hit about 60 watts. Bit as above post check the ratings, you could be surprised.

Ah you can get bigger ones than that, they are usually around the 300 watt, but as you can see from the link they are even bigger ones.

http://shop.ebay.ie/i.html?_nkw=12v+car+inverter&_armrs=1&_dmd=1&_from=R40&_ipg=&_trksid=m37

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

in the spirit of the OP; Hoi , begob it'll be foyne, plog hor in and awaay ya rock, ya mard thaing ya. Sure don't esso and awl them big oyl compenies use their cor batteries to powa their drills and stuff loike. What's the worst thing that could happen, loike.
    (or, maybe them poxy little toybox inverters are only fit to run a laptop or charge a razor,- drill'll kill er)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,090 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Curlz24 wrote: »
    Ive used a GHD with mine!
    You need a username change.

Not your ornery onager

Solnskaya wrote: »
    in the spirit of the OP; Hoi , begob it'll be foyne, plog hor in and awaay ya rock, ya mard thaing ya. Sure don't esso and awl them big oyl compenies use their cor batteries to powa their drills and stuff loike. What's the worst thing that could happen, loike.
    (or, maybe them poxy little toybox inverters are only fit to run a laptop or charge a razor,- drill'll kill er)

ha ah sur what can lads do like... well slap her in and see what happens !!