Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Let this be a warning....

• 03-06-2011 11:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭

My father met a fella the other day who told him the following story....

A friend of this fella saw an ad on Donedeal for a machine and after contacting the seller a few times and getting queries answered he agreed to meet the seller. Now the seller had told him where to meet him....the seller suggested he could meet the buyer half way and told him where he could meet. Anyways it transpired to be in a quiet spot and the buyer got there first.....after waiting a bit a 4 x 4 comes into the carpark and goes over to the buyer, 4 men with their face covered jump out and one looks to be carrying a gun, they go up to the buyer and is told "You have €4k with you....give it to us now or there will be trouble"

Naturally the seller never turned up and the number no longer works and the buyer is now €4k out of pocket.

I suppose I'm putting this up as a warning.....don't bring cash and don't meet where the seller suggests when going to view something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

I've heard of this before alright. Thanks for the warning though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

What a muppet.

You travel to out to the middle of nowhere with 4k in your pocket to meet someone you don't know.

:D:D:D:D

I wonder if anyone has ever tried that 'bum inspector' or 'nigerian lottery' trick on them before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭tinofapples

It's likely to happen and to be fair I think there is as much chance of these scum trying it on in a small town/village especially if there's a couple of grand involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

So your dad know someone who knows someone who something something... I'd be inclined to not believe this story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Always pick a public carpark where you know there is cctv for any private sale of a vehicle. No harm to request ID from the seller either. It's really not worth the risk.

Op have you a link to the ad by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

So your dad know someone who knows someone who something something... I'd be inclined to not believe this story.

Believe what you want. Its quite simple really unless you don't have friends or your friend doesn't have any other friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Actually .... if you were stupid enough to meet someone like that wouldn't it be better to bring cash ?

Them "Give us the cash"

You "I only brought a cheque book .. sorry mate"

Savage beating by 4 dudes in balaclavas follows and probably your car is burnt out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

Whats wrong with that? they were just wallet inspectors

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    ......Op have you a link to the ad by any chance?

No, it happened a month or two ago and my father was only told it on wednesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Never buy a car at the side of a road or a carpark, meet at the sellers house. If there not willing to do that walk away as your about to be shafted.

Presumably between donedeal and the Gardai the IP address of whoever placed the add was followed up, even if it was to an internet cafe CCTV could be peaked at??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Believe what you want. Its quite simple really unless you don't have friends or your friend doesn't have any other friends.

I choose to not believe your story is all [shrug]

And based on your story I don't need friends, I just need my dad to know someone, not necessarily a friend

RoverJames wrote: »
    Presumably between donedeal and the Gardai the IP address of whoever placed the add was followed up, even if it was to an internet cafe CCTV could be peaked at??

I don't know how it ended up or if its still ongoing but I know if it was me I'd be doing all I can to get the money back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

This could happen to any of us. It's rare that you meet someone in their driveway.

I feel sorry for the chap. Must have been scary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Tell your father that the next time meets the fella he should tell him to tell his friend that travelling to a place you don't know to meet a person you don't know who chose that place unaccompanied and with a large sum of money is a pretty stupid thing to do.

Reloc8 wrote: »
    Tell your father that the next time meets the fella he should tell him to tell his friend that travelling to a place you don't know to meet a person you don't know who chose that place unaccompanied and with a large sum of money is a pretty stupid thing to do.

I don't think he needs telling :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,074 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I hate the way stories like this get blown out of proportion. It was three grand, and there were only two of us.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 trek04

This could happen to anyone of us feel so sorry for that guy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

RoverJames wrote: »

If they were any bit smart they would of hidden this.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

There was an incident a while back where someone went up north to pickup a beamer and the lads had a shotgun and relieved him of 17 grand.

If they were any bit smart they would of hidden this.

Considering the add for donedeal needs to be paid for there would be somewhat of a trail though. Even if the sim card was found to be now dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Yeah it can happen alright, I wont deny that but there is a risk to alot of things we do.I have bought and sold cars privately this way and had no problems.Anytime I have sold cars I meet them either at a petrol station or pub carpark purely because I dont like meeting a stranger at my house.Whos to say they could not come back in the night to either burn or rob the car or do some other harm, if they didnt buy earlier.Car dealers can rob you too, only they will be nicer about it and they wont have a balaclava on their heads:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

Surely something like this would have been reported in the media ?

Goes to snopes.com ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

So wait.

This guy drove somewhere to buy a car with cash in his pocket.
    I have one question for you: was he on his own ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

So wait.

When a few guys, packing, come along determined to lighten you of your burden I doubt bringing a buddy would make any difference whatsoever.

slimjimmc wrote: »
    When a few guys, packing, come along determined to lighten you of your burden I doubt bringing a buddy would make any difference whatsoever.

Thats not why I'm asking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

trek04 wrote: »
    This could happen to anyone of us feel so sorry for that guy :D

Wouldnt happen to me...i'm not a thick....If it actually happened then he deserved it...no-one with any common sense would meet in those circumstances , alone in a quiet place..he's lucky he wasnt "hairy-aped" as well.......:rolleyes:

BTW if he was only a friend of a friend of a fella you shouldnt be so protective of him...he's a dope......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭lookinbusy

.. must have been the same guy who bought a battered chicken at KFC only to find when he bit into it that it was actually a rat.:rolleyes:

lookinbusy wrote: »
    .. must have been the same guy who bought a battered chicken at KFC only to find when he bit into it that it was actually a rat.:rolleyes:

Happens a lot in KFC Korea i believe...a fella told me.........:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Dub XV

So wait.

I don't think it was a car. OP mentions a machine.

Nobody else needed for driving etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

So wait.

and by machine, did you mean car? Because who was going to drive it home?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

recently a guy near tipp town arrived home to see a transit in the yard, a guy is taking pics of an ivor williams trailer, he takes the number, the goes to the cops , who tell him to nail it down, as it will be advertised on an online sales fourm and will be stolen to order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,125 ✭✭✭kirving

Best off to meet in the car park of, or as close to the local Garda Station as possible. I think a lot of genuine people would be reassured by this, and it would put the rest off.

Better still IN the Garda station car park....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭boyler07

Sids Not wrote: »
    Better still IN the Garda station car park....
    Actually that's not a bad idea!, I'm on the hunt for a car at the mo, if I see one I want that would be the perfect place for a meet.

Dub XV wrote: »
    I don't think it was a car. OP mentions a machine.

Nobody else needed for driving etc?

This is the motors forum is it not ?
    phill106 wrote: »
    and by machine, did you mean car? Because who was going to drive it home?!

Exactly.
    Bull**** story is bull****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Didn't Limerick Man have a thread recently where this happened too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

flutered wrote: »
    recently a guy near tipp town arrived home to see a transit in the yard, a guy is taking pics of an ivor williams trailer, he takes the number, the goes to the cops , who tell him to nail it down, as it will be advertised on an online sales fourm and will be stolen to order.

He didn't think to ask the guy what he was doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭kincaid

There was a similar case i heard about year back where a car was advertised in the autotrader I think.
    The person selling the car arranged to let some people who where foreign nationalists come to his house to view the car, I think it was a mercedes
    Anyway the car arrived on the his street where 3 guys get out and examine the car for 10-15 minutes and then ask if its ok to take it for a test drive.
    He said that fine and jumped into passenger seat with the 2 in the back and one driving..
    They leave their own car on his street..
    Several miles up the road the guy in the back pulls some sort of weapon and threatened the seller if he does not get out he will be seriously hurt. He gets out and calls his wife at home,
    Thinking that he had still their car on his street he calls the wife who told him the car was gone and had drove off a few minutes after they left for the test drive..
    The car had blacked out windows and naturally the guy thought there was no one remaining in the car but there was..
    The police was called but not sure how it turned out..
    its very intimadating having three guys around the car and more so being with them inside the car.
    i once sold a passat where 4 big polish guys, built llike houses looked at my car and all 4 came along for a spin and i was kind of sh**ting it and they make tensions even worse by talking their own language throughout and hadnot a clue what they could have been saying even though their english seems good.. luckily they were good guys and all went well