Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NUI Postgrads entry.. Competitive??

Options
  • 02-06-2011 2:22pm
    Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭

Hi

I'm applying to do a postgrad in NUI Galway this September. (Corporate Strategy and People management and International Management)

Are these hard to get into? I see there is only 20 spaces. But i heard they take more sometimes.

I have an Honours degree in Business with 2.1 result.

Thanks! :):)

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 9,027 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I wouldn't worry about it. The fools at the top have decided they want to output 200 postgrads a year from now on, so, much like the degrees, I would suspect that it's a "pay your money and take your qualification" job.
    Quantity looks better than quality on paper.
    If you're looking for funding it might be a different matter, of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭scabo33

Thats very interesting. :) I will worry about the funding element later.

Thanks Ficheall. I was never in NUI. Did you study there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Marguerite Tonery

Don't worry, a 2.1 is a great degree level to apply to a masters. If they don't take you on, then they are missing out! I wish you the best of luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,027 ✭✭✭Ficheall

scabo33 wrote: »
    Thats very interesting. :) I will worry about the funding element later.

Thanks Ficheall. I was never in NUI. Did you study there?

Just finishing (hopefully!) my postgrad here.

And it's too late to worry about funding now, if you've not looked into it already. Though I don't think there's much funding for masters in any case.