Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf - The Memorial Tournament & Celtic Manor Wales Open

• 01-06-2011 7:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭

had a look at it its a long course plenty of creeks running across fairway so count out watney as he seems to hit water at least once around so i am thinking stricker or kuchar. stricker not long but very accurate and kuchar is back in form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Will be backing Woodland and Stricker, will lay Phill in Top 10 market

Edit: and Ryan Moore to win

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

US -

Stricker @ 28/1
    Cink @ 40/1

Europe -

Jimenez @ 22/1
    Horsey @ 40/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I'm going for Edfors in Wales (50/1 e/w), tees off this afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭albert kidd

america..mark wilson140/petrovic@270/mahan @29/taylor@290

wll get involved i wales over the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Fursttimer

European Tour

Shane Lowry 40/1 Michael Hoey 190's Anders Hansen 40/1 Rhys Davies 28/1

PGA Tour

K.J. Choi 30's Ricky Barnes 130's D.A. Points 280's Chris Kirk 300's David Duval 550's Rocco Mediate 930's

1st rd leader:

Kirk 200/1 Bettencourt 250/1 Streelman 125/1 ;)

Fursttimer wrote: »
    Rocco Mediate 930's

Fair fecking play

ya bollix;):)

Fair fecking play

well done,top notch:cool:

stallings was a pick of mine for trades up until last week..i looked at him the smorning at 950 and swerved him:rolleyes:

hopefully rory goes well 2mora and ill lay the be jaysus outta him.

Fair fecking play

Cheers ;)

He's not a difficult this week pick really, especially at those ridiculous odds. He plays his best golf before the U.S. Open, he's great tee-to-green and his overall course management is very good . When (and IF) he gets the putter rolling he generally gets himself into contention. The latter is his achilles heel.

To make no bogeys today at that course was very impressive work by Mediate. He's only one of a handful of golfers to do so :)

Fingers crossed for more of the same tomorrow onwards :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

Cheers ;)

He's not a difficult this week pick really, especially at those ridiculous odds. He plays his best golf before the U.S. Open, he's great tee-to-green and his overall course management is very good . When (and IF) he gets the putter rolling he generally gets himself into contention. The latter is his achilles heel.

To make no bogeys today at that course was very impressive work by Mediate. He's only one of a handful of golfers to do so :)

Fingers crossed for more of the same tomorrow onwards :D

very true,
    I backed Ricky Barnes too, a good start and he likes this course, great odds.
    Fingers crossed ;)

Cant complain so far Stricker -4 Moore -3 and Woodland level

Also went with KJ pity he bogeyed last still good round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Hey lads anyone here play wgt?

Cant complain so far Stricker -4 Moore -3 and Woodland level

Also went with KJ pity he bogeyed last still good round.

That's better Stricker.

nice picking Kew,
    I'm still hoping Ricky Barnes does well :-D

teeing of at 5.40pm today so will be watching eagerly ...
    starts at 5.30 on sky sports

Dr.Silly wrote: »
    nice picking Kew,
    I'm still hoping Ricky Barnes does well :-D

teeing of at 5.40pm today so will be watching eagerly ...
    starts at 5.30 on sky sports

Well the good news for you is that I tend to have quiet a few players do well first two days and have sticker on the Saturday, if tournaments finished on Friday for past year I be doing very well.

Golf betting been good to me for good few years but last year been bit rubbish.

Well the good news for you is that I tend to have quiet a few players do well first two days and have sticker on the Saturday, if tournaments finished on Friday for past year I be doing very well.

That's one scary start for stricker, he can't miss a thing !!

meanwhile, my gimpy barnes is losing the plot :-(

Dr.Silly wrote: »
    That's one scary start for stricker, he can't miss a thing !!

meanwhile, my gimpy barnes is losing the plot :-(

Could have done without two bogeys near the end but cant complain with a nice lead but far from over...

layed a few quid when he was at 2/5 as always think its good take odds on on Golfer so made few quid but be great for my piggy bank if wins.:)

If the golf finished on a Saturday I'd be a grand up last year, alas it's doesn't work like that :pac:

Hopefully Stricker closes this out now unlike the many wasters last year -_-

hard to see stricker chucking it from here,but im still willingto take him on at 1.78 and hope he trades higher.

disaster in wales so far..went in on mcdowell yesterday for a fair wedge and the rest is history:rolleyes:

going to take peter hanson at 3.6 and hope for the best!!

noren strolling this so far..last desperate lay at 1.15 on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Cartel Mike

It looks like a few of ya would have to be very very unlucky not to be in the money at this stage with Stricker.

US -

Stricker @ 28/1
    Cink @ 40/1

Europe -

Jimenez @ 22/1
    Horsey @ 40/1

My drought is over finally! Thank you Steve! :D (had Justin Rose this time last year, put money on Saturday on him so doesn't really count)

Thank you Steve and also a thank you to Woodland who I was able to lay for profit on him too.

Also layed Phil in top ten so it was a close call in ened in both but one I won for once in both.

I did lay off some of the Stricker money but at such short price I still came out with 27/1 winner.

well done to the sticker backers this week.

as bad a week for me as i can remember..lost a k over both tournys.damage was done by throwing 5 hundred on mcdowell at 2/1 with still 2 rounds to play..i went against every rule i normally obey as anyone that low id lay!!..

onwards and upwards.

Not going to do anything in Golf this week going wait for the US Open now in 2 weeks.

U.S. Open is next week ;)

Ah it is your right, well I keep my hard money in pocket till then..

Normally I back 4 players in major or big tournements bar US Open where I normally back about 10 players although some be top 5 and top 10 only.

Never had winner on this one had some good placed winners like Bubba Watson in 2007 at 250/1 making it 75/1 for place win which felt like winner.

I still have nightmares about Michael Campbell win in 05. I remember telling my mates I fancied him as outsider when in college in UK. Anyway they back him at 225/1 put 2.50ew they won 700sterling at the time which was about 1050euro at time and when your in college that ia a heck of a lot of money:)...I could not make bookies that time and never got on:mad:...Ah well live fight another few hopefully.