Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Its getting worse by the minute..

• 01-06-2011 11:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭

We went from-
    http://www.deti.ie/press/2005/20050510.htm
    Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment Micheál Martin welcomed the latest live register figures published today (Tuesday 10th May 2005), which show a seasonally adjusted decrease of 4,800in the number of people signing on. Overall, the Live Register has decreased by more than 13,000 compared to one year ago.
    Welcoming these figures Minister Martin said: “These figures again show that despite recent job loss announcements Ireland still continues to outperform many of our EU partners. Our success in achieving the lowest unemployment rate in Europe should however not make us complacent. In an increasingly competitive global economy we must be constantly aware of the competitiveness issues facing the Irish economy and ensure that Irish business is in a position embrace the enormous opportunities for future growth and development.”
    “I believe that the policies and strategies being adopted by this Government will ensure that that we continue to be the most attractive location in Europe for investment”, Minister Martin added.

to this-

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/unemployment-reaches-148pc-as-dole-numbers-grow-in-may-2662889.html
    The number of people signing on the dole has increased further, taking the unemployment rate to 14.8pc.
    A total of 440,947 sought benefits last month, a huge dent in the Government's attempts to bring the jobs crisis under control.
    According to official Live register figures, the unemployment rate is at its highest level since December last year.
    The unemployment rate in May crept up to 14.8pc from 14.7pc in April. The monthly rise was the biggest since August last year.
    The headline figure, which does not take seasonal factors into account, rose by 1,300 to 440,947.
    The Live Register includes some part-time and seasonal workers and does not measure unemployment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Sure it'll be grand like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I try to ignore the dooooom and just sing songs to myself.

There’s a voice that keeps on calling me
    Down the road is where I’ll always be

Every stop I make, I’ll make a new friend
    Can’t stay for long, just turn around and I’m gone again.

Maybe tomorrow, I’ll want to settle down,
    Until tomorrow, I’ll just keep moving on.

That feels better. Ahhhh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

People are happier when there's something to complain about..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

I read somewhere the littlest hobo had been captured by a warden, neutered and euthanised 7 days later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 kilkennym

and thats an other reason why i left ould skibbereen....

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

So what you're sating is "damn government. They took our jobs"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

So lets sum up the current state of play:

- Unemployment has risen to 14.8%
    - Big fall in the manufacturing index
    - Water tax to be introduced
    - Household tax to be introduced
    - Our pension funds to be raided
    - Varadkar lets slip that Ireland will most likely need a second bailout in 2012

And then we have Comical Noonan coming out and claiming Ireland will not need a 2nd bailout, and Enda Kenny admitting he is not even going to bring up the subject of interest rates on bailout loans at the next European council meeting:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0601/economy.html

Unbelievable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

KungPao wrote: »
    I try to ignore the dooooom and just sing songs to myself.

There’s a voice that keeps on calling me
    Down the road is where I’ll always be

Every stop I make, I’ll make a new friend
    Can’t stay for long, just turn around and I’m gone again.

Maybe tomorrow, I’ll want to settle down,
    Until tomorrow, I’ll just keep moving on.

That feels better. Ahhhh.

Is that the music from the littlest hobo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

My hound-dog just up and died

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Last budget was an election budget, I hear they're giving out free lipstick this year instead of the cheese. Why? Because they want us to look pretty before they f**k us.

This government is no better than the last, if you don't believe me then bookmark this post and come back to it in a couple of years time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Let us never forget what Fianna Fail has done to this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Let us never forget what Fianna Fail has done to this country
    +1. Lets never forget that it was FF that caused this mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭jetsonx

We've turned a corner....some corner.

RIP Ireland. Thanks Brian Lenihan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

TheZohan wrote: »
    This government is no better than the last, if you don't believe me then bookmark this post and come back to it in a couple of years time.

Always remember who got us here. It wasnt Fine Gael and Labour. It was a fat fcuk from Offaly and a corrupt, sniffling little prick from Dublin and their party's attempt to buy one election after the other. Treasonous cnuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

jetsonx wrote: »
    We've turned a corner....some corner.

RIP Ireland. Thanks Brian Lenihan.

What he actually said was, "we've turned a corner ... into an oncoming truck"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

syklops wrote: »

Looks more like the lyrics to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I read somewhere the littlest hobo had been captured by a warden, neutered and euthanised 7 days later.
    :(:mad:
    syklops wrote: »
    Yep. What a program and it has the best theme song ever.

SeaFields wrote: »
    Always remember who got us here. It wasnt Fine Gael and Labour. It was a fat fcuk from Offaly and a corrupt, sniffling little prick from Dublin and their party's attempt to buy one election after the other. Treasonous cnuts.

So things only went shìt when Cowen took over? No. It was a systematic failure, it was a failure on behalf of the FF and Green Party government, it was a failure on behalf of the Financial Regulator and it was a failure on behalf of the senior civil servants running the show. Now we've gotten rid of FF/Greens but the senior civil servants are still there. Why weren't they held accountable? So what we have today in a new government but all the backroom staff that fecked up the last time are, for the most part, still there.

Mary O'Dea , currently director general of financial operations at the Regulator, will become the IMF's alternative executive director this July. Isn't that handy now...a civil servant that worked in the office of the Financial Regulator in the position of Director General of Financial Operations as in she played a big part in Ireland acceptance of the IMF/EU bailout programme is now rewarded with a cushy job over with the IMF in Washington. An out and out conflict of interest, it's unbelievable, and yet the government say nothing, not as much as a dickie bird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

The Queen came. Obama came. We all came.

Who cares about unemployment figures.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

SeaFields wrote: »

Yes, it was all them and absolutely nothing to do with:
    -The bankers who loaned people extraordinary sums of money to buy very ordinary homes
    -The people who borrowed extraordinary sums of money to buy very ordinary homes, often decieving the banks on their ability to repay
    -The people who used credit to fund extravagent lifestyles far beyond their means
    -The companies who gave those people credit
    -Greedy developers and builders driving the prices up.
    -Land owners selling land to developers/builders at grossly inflated prices
    -People jumping on the bandwagon of the unsustainable construction industry to try and cash in

It's all Fianna Fail's fault, and absolutely nothing to do with the good people who voted them in time after time, and were quite happy to blow the bubble bigger and bigger until Fianna Fail came along and burst it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

My guess is all the graduates finishing college then hitting the welfare office -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Remember those happy days a few weeks ago when a black dude and an old granny kept all this sh!t off the headlines. We're in a hole for sure but I just wish the media would stop digging it ever deeper.