Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you're looking for a job (another jobless paddy thread..)

• 01-06-2011 9:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭

Again with the Jobless Paddy threads.

However it's occurred to me (as you may know I'm a fan) that reading through his Facebook fan page you can see a large number of companies looking for him to get in touch regarding potential roles.

If you're looking for a job in a similar area, would it not be the smart thing to do to get in touch with these people.

Jobless Paddy can only take one job no?
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jobless-Paddy/109678759119574

Just a thought...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭WASP0

KarlDrake wrote: »
    Again with the Jobless Paddy threads.

If you're looking for a job in a similar area, would it not be the smart thing to do to get in touch with these people.

Just a thought...

Not a bad idea, however they may have been headhunting him as he came up with such a great marketing idea, but definetly worth taking a look at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭hatful

I saw him on the news the other night and I just didn't get the hype. He went away to Australia on the lash for a year just as the recession hit. He arrived back the middle of last year and has been unemployed for a year! What has he been doing all that time?! Did he attempt to get any unpaid experience? Did he pursue any avenues outside his profession? did he upgrade his skills? I can't believe he spent 2,000 euro on a bill board when he could have spent it on further training. The mind boggles, so many kids fresh out of college take so long to cop on an start to search in other areas or even just grab the first thing out there, bar work temping etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

hatful wrote: »
    I saw him on the news the other night and I just didn't get the hype. He went away to Australia on the lash for a year just as the recession hit. He arrived back the middle of last year and has been unemployed for a year! What has he been doing all that time?! Did he attempt to get any unpaid experience? Did he pursue any avenues outside his profession? did he upgrade his skills? I can't believe he spent 2,000 euro on a bill board when he could have spent it on further training. The mind boggles, so many kids fresh out of college take so long to cop on an start to search in other areas or even just grab the first thing out there, bar work temping etc..

I'm asking myself the same questions, one year and can't find any work - He's hardly a marketing genius -

I can see the company that hires him

"so Paddy how to you reckon we promote out new product"

"Em........Bill board !?!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

It shows innovation and I would bet he got the billboard for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Joe10000 wrote: »
    It shows innovation and I would bet he got the billboard for free.

Is it really innovative?

Bill boards arent new! this will probably get him loads of interviews but what else can he do? a marketing company isnt going to hire some guy that can only make facebook pages, twitter and billboards when they know anyone could do the same!

The billboards wording alone tells you what this guy is all about - 'Jobless Paddy' - He's suppose to be targeting his audience which are professional employers and the ad is anything but that - The bilboard looks good but he didnt even design it.

Also on the news he said he send out about 100 CVs in the year, that around 8 a month or 2 a week. Thats determint job hunting of the highest order!

There's a lot of good about this like he can put it into his portfolio and he's showing some balls but overall i think its a very lazy attempt at a job hunt with the basic principle of 'just through money at it' attitude.

If he had 2 grand he should have done some internship,lived of the 2k and learned some real skills, because what he has done is secondary school stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 aisog

Bill Boards arent innovative no but a billboard as a cv is! Fair play to him i say! You have to do something different to stand out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Wow, he had 2k to splash out on a billboard :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

People are still talking about this? Or is it a case of yet more begrudgery. He has achieved widespread recognition for a 2000 euro investment, I would call that a marketing success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Techno_Toaster

Oranage2 wrote: »

Also on the news he said he send out about 100 CVs in the year, that around 8 a month or 2 a week. Thats determint job hunting of the highest order!

In fairness to him at least he's making an effort. There are certain jobs out there he may not have an interest in, he may not be skilled to do or he may be limited to a certain area.

People are so quick to judge without hearing the full story. Lets face it jobs are few and far inbetween.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭mikehunts

I for one think fair play to him, he got off his ass and did something to find a job other than the usual usless routes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

all i am saying is that - the guy is a joker and frankly what he did will actually work just because he is in ireland. think of all the people with real and strong skills who still cant get a job. good luck ireland for recovering from this economy downtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

When I initially read about this guy I thought 'fair play'. Then when I saw he had said he was going to emigrate if he hadn't received a job offer within the next month, I was suspicious.

I messaged him on twitter to ask if he had considered doing an unpaid internship somewhere, as that is how most marketing people start out if they can't get on a graduate scheme. I asked why he thought he could just walk into a marketing job without any relevant experience. His reply was "well I have a degree in marketing". :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

lordy lordy, save us the intern spiel. Internships are a form of slavery and are wantonly abused by businesses as a form of free labour. In very limited (And excessively regulated) situations they can be useful as a prelude to a paid position but this notion of taking on dozens of interns to do filing and photocopying for free is morally repugnant and it favours the middle class, as poor people cannot afford to work for free, without even unemployment assistance. Only middle class boys and girls living from mammy and daddys wallets can afford to live like this.

It seals the glass ceiling with a reinforced layer of concrete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

I completely disagree. I can't speak for marketing but I work in radio and there is virtually no other way in apart from doing an internship. I did not spend my time photocopying and making people tea. I learned a huge amount and made a lot of valuable contacts who now provide me with paid freelance work.

Denerick wrote: »
    lordy lordy, save us the intern spiel. Internships are a form of slavery and are wantonly abused by businesses as a form of free labour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sambuka41

Oranage2 wrote: »

Yeah as soon as he said that i laughed, I sent out approx 100 CV's over 2 month period and got 5 interviews! Going into the social to sign on they asked if I was genuinely looking for work, I handed them 20 rejection letters! Thats trying your best to find a job. Not 2 a week. :rolleyes:

How can anyone say they are really desperate for work and only send out on average 2 a week. NO thats someone who is waiting for the celtic tiger to stroll back and give them their IDEAL job.

He has put more pressure on himself, cause if he is taken on by a firm he has a lot to prove, as well as the other people there who got the job the old fashioned way and most likely will be a bit begrudging of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 aisog

He has been hired now! Paddy Power i think, somebody was clearly impressed with his initiative!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭mikehunts

aisog wrote: »
    He has been hired now! Paddy Power i think, somebody was clearly impressed with his initiative!
    Ya Paddy Powers initiative more like!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭fatalll

will be interesting to see how long he lasts there...
    i reckon its a marketing tool for "Paddy Power" by hiring him.
    ie Good Publicity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

It's a no-brainer that Paddy Power hired him because they'd get free advertising on all the news outlets, which they did. Hiring "jobless Paddy" was advertising that literally can't be bought. I doubt they even read his CV.

Call it begrudgery if you like, but I found the whole thing a bit shameless. He reminded me of a dog in heat lifting her tail to every passing mongrel or a marketing graduate equivalent to a street begger. Fair play to him, blah blah, he wanted a job and got one by any means necessary. Amazing how people now see jobs as the be-all and end-all of their lives.