Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moment of the Season?

• 31-05-2011 3:48pm
    Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

They asked this on the Leinster Facebook earlier, and I thought it'd be a good memory thread here!

What was your random moment of the season for your province/club?

Mine, in no particular order:

McFadden's sprint to the line against Metro.
    Shaggy's amazing try at home to Ulster
    Isa's catch against his arse against Clermont at home
    Dom Ryan's tackle away to Clermont
    The last 5 minutes against Sarries in London.

All great moments in a wonderful season to be blue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

The last 40 mins against the saints :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭davidpfitz

The scrum that won the penalty to put Leinster 23-22 up against Northampton. Everyone in the stadium at that point knew that it was the point of no return for the Saints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Rickwellwood

As a long in the tooth Connacht supporter, one of them has to be the final whistle at this years HC final and realising we've got HC rugby to look forward to here in the west next season, thanks to the boys in blue.

Well done Leinster

Hopefully Connacht can push on next season even though our squad is still paper thin - thanks IRFU.................

It will do wonders for the game at grassroots level too here in Connacht.

Its really heartening to see our U20's and Juniors doing well and winning also.

Connacht Abu - Cheers Leinster !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Marguerite Tonery

My moments of the season were:
    Fionn Carr's try for Connacht that won him try of the season for 2011
    Ronan O' Gara's cross field kick to Keith Earls who touch down over the line despite the efforts of Shane Horgan, who was beaten at his own game. It was a magnificent kick and take. This was in the Magner's League Final Munster vs. Leinster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

First try against Saints, Sexton getting up and just shouting into the crowd. You just knew it was on then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

The sexton /ROG substitution vs England. Johnnys nailed it and he knows it and rog is coming on to actually take the piss out of England.

Bods pick up and try vs new Zealand.

Nacewas wonder try vs Leicester.

As above the scrum that broke Northampton.

The look on POCs face when leamy gave away another ten yards a few weeks ago against Connacht.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

The first scrum against England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Ste_D

Cian Healey smashing Henson in the RDS was nice. But it was a privilege to be in the Millenium stadium for the second half of the Heineken cup final!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 mc3ac

Isa Nacewa's try against Leicester - a moment of individual genius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

When sexton ran that first penalty from his 22 against England. Massive statement of intent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Bogsnorkler

Final whistle in France vs Italy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Quiny getting a try in his last match at Thomand Park

Finally scoring a try v Leinster after 6 games last saturday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Legion2008

Winning the penalty in the scrum against the head versus Toulouse, it was the moment I felt the game was won .....

Cian Healy's cameo as a winger just before that was pretty good too ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Leinster's HC final come back. O'Malley's game against Clermont. Munster beating us in Thomond, hate to see it happen but they certainly gave it their all.
    Ronan O' Gara's cross field kick to Keith Earls who touch down over the line despite the efforts of Shane Horgan, who was beaten at his own game. It was a magnificent kick and take. This was in the Magner's League Final Munster vs. Leinster.

Eh was it not Nacewa? Horgan wasn't anywhere near Earls when he was catching and Nacewa wasn't even in jumping distance. Great try all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

BOD's try against Toulouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

ROG coming on against England and keeping them in the corners with sensational kicking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

The England game for me, from the first scrum, to the POC and DOC kick and chase, the Lansdowne Roar was back, no backing track drums required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

Three of them for me, all involving scrums.

Ireland's first scrum against England, and the quick tap penalty afterwards. From that moment Ireland's superiority was never in doubt.

The Leinster front row enjoying a manly embrace after winning the penalty against Northampton.

Munster's penalty try against Leinster. Both because the scrum and scoring against Leinster were big stumbling blocks for Munster these past few seasons, and because it put the game beyond doubt when tbh I was still half expecting a late Leinster miracle.

The first time the Leinster style clicked, 5/6 games into the season, when hands started being in the right position, passes started sticking and things started working.

I was converted to a Schmidt fanatic overnight! It just felt like the start of something good.

Tbh, I felt the same way in the first two games of the 6N, things weren't working, but we were getting there. The anticipation of things clicking was worth watching every dropped pass and every missed offload, when it finally worked against England, I felt as though I'd seen Ireland go through a transformation.

Our next game in Green is critical, please please please have built on it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

BOD's try against Munster in Lansdowne comes to mind. After a slow start to the season that was the moment when things started to come together

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Richarz

20 year old Academy product Dominic Ryan getting two tries against the Premiership champions in a Heineken Cup game. If he had been from Munster there would probably have been calls for having him start for Ireland :D

Richarz wrote: »
    20 year old Academy product Dominic Ryan getting two tries against the Premiership champions in a Heineken Cup game. If he had been from Munster there would probably have been calls for having him start for Ireland :D

please don't start stirring ****, it only ends in egg on everyone's faces. For Your Information though, some of us were calling for him as a bolter for the WC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

The entire Munster team coming down off the podium to surround and embrace Paul Darbyshire with the cup in hand after the Magners final. Brought a tear to my eye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Horgan going over in the second minute in Clermont; confirmation that Leinster were going on to big things this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Dr.Evil

Been mentioned, but as they say, a picture paints a thousand words...

15fn11w.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,980 ✭✭✭✭phog

chupacabra wrote: »
    The entire Munster team coming down off the podium to surround and embrace Paul Darbyshire with the cup in hand after the Magners final. Brought a tear to my eye.

It's remarkable how quickly this has hit Paul, a few weeks back Leinster played Munster in TP for the the ML match and Paul was standing on the sideline, I saw numberous Leinster players come over to him and hug him and have a few words before they got into their routine for the game itself then about 5 weeks later I was shocked to see him being wheeled out by ROG for the presentation, rightly so they seemed to have dedicated their ML success to Paul.

Makes you realise how important our health is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

There have been so many great moments this season that it's hard to pick one, so two for me. :D

INPHO_00509869.jpg
    1. Simon Zebo's great 6th minute try for Munster vs Connacht on May 6th. Remember, the one where he robbed a high ball out of the arms of Gavin Duffy and ran in unopposed - magic!

art_ScovIre--12--420x0.jpg
    2. ROG's superb try against Scotland on Feb.27th when he dodged several players after crossing the line before touching down under the posts.

And bashed Patterson out of the way to do it!

My favourite part of the try tbh

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,164 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Enjoyable moment, but it was a rather silly thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

One: Isa Nacewa upending Sebastien Chabal in the RDS. It shouldn't have been physically possible; no matter how limited Chabal is he's far bigger than Isa. One of those moments when someone tells physics itself to get bent.

Two: the Magners semi, when the Ulster fans went through the entirety of Molly Malone then started chanting "we sang a song for you..." Great craic and the best fans to visit Dublin this year.

Three: hearing that a teammate got his picture taken with Toby Flood after the Leicester game, and preceded that moment with "come on Toby, smile like you've won a Grand Slam!"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Enjoyable moment, but it was a rather silly thing to do.

Not really as his goal kicking had not been great earlier in the game and he wanted to make the kick easier for himself - a pity more wouldn't follow his example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

I enjoyed seeing Ruddock captain Leinster.

Said a lot about him and about the clubs intent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

The respect and friendship shown between Sexton and ROG. In particular the English match - the hug as Sexton came off and then ROG winding up Ashton after Johnnie had enjoyed his attention all afternoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Beating Leinster by a point in April in Thomond Park personally was the highlight of the year for me.
    Such pressure to deliver a result and it looked like we were goosed at half time. The following 40 minutes from Munster were savage with O Gara kicking beautifully.
    That was a massive monkey of the back more so than last weeks win and tryfest!:D
    Disappointing season in Europe but Contepomi getting carded in Thomond and the ensuing chaos was hilarious. Also seeing Wilkinson's drop goal in Limerick was special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

I'd agree with a lot of the moments mentioned here. My particular favourite was Leo's take from Strauss's pass in Cardiff. For a man not noted for his hands it was a stunning take and seemed to sum up everything about that second half performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

Three seems to be the magic number...
    1. one of my favourites was bod's tackle in the 25th minute of the magner's league final; receiving attention for an injury, saw he was needed, jumped straight up and made the tackle.
    2. denying england the grand slam (petty i know)
    3. and of course, the comeback in cardiff :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

1. The Isa-Ciano-SOB triple punch against Northampton, "only" ended in 3 points and a yellow but was glorious. (3.57' on below) Close 2nd in this game was Leo's take. Un-fricking-real.

2. Dominic Ryan's tackle against Clermont. Boom. Bonus point saver. (7.35' on below)

3. Sexton v Ashton in Lansdowne..most particularly Sexton's smile at Ashton each time the points ticked up. Can't find a youtube

4. Paul Derbyshire at the presentation on Saturday.

MLFinal_Celebrations11_Web.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Hippo wrote: »
    I'd agree with a lot of the moments mentioned here. My particular favourite was Leo's take from Strauss's pass in Cardiff. For a man not noted for his hands it was a stunning take and seemed to sum up everything about that second half performance.

my highlight of the HC final, dont forget it started with a Hines break and offload to the supporting Strauss, brilliant take by Leo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭RoutineBites

I'm a life long Connacht supporter but my moment of the season was supplied by a Munster man.

When Leinster were laying seige to the Munster line in the early part of the second half, David Wallace single handedly forced a magnificent turnover that saved the game for Munster. If you watched the game you'll know the exact moment I'm talking about. That one turnover summed up what David Wallace is all about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

So many!! so many!! as you can guess Leinster fan!!

1. Winning the scrum against Northampton in Final and the man love after, in the stands and there was some man love shown there as well
    2. Winning the scrum v Toulouse in Semi, meant so much to the whole team and crowd
    3. First try v Northampton when Jonny egged on supporters, the place went nuts
    4. BOD try v Munster, sitting right beside where he went over, kicked off season from there on
    5. Partying after HC final win in stands with the guys from France, they hadn't a word of English and I hadnt a word of french but we build bridges throughout the game:D Sport brings everyone together!!! :D

Was going to keep to 5 but had to add this in!!

6. Strange one but special, young fellows face at his first match when he watched Visser score a try, it was right in front of him and he loved it.

Worst Moments:
    1. Scrum in first half v Northampton
    2. Scrum against Muster
    3. First try v Toulouse, we where behind posts, all cheering cause they had missed, then 3 mins of WTF???:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Best Moment:
    THAT scrum against the Saints.

Best Moments:
    The 2nd half in Cardiff
    The craic in the Arms Park before and after the final
    Finally getting into the new Lansdowne and seeing Leinster beat Munster for the 5th time on the bounce
    The feeling of not being too bothered about Munster beating Leinster after the ML final

Worst Moment:
    Half time in Cardiff

Worst Moments:
    The 1st half in Cardiff
    Wales v Ireland
    Christchurch losing their RWC matches due to the earthquake
    Seeing Lansdowne near empty during the AI's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Brian P

chupacabra wrote: »
    Please excuse me for being off topic but a name was made reference to, towards end of RTE commentary of the Munster V Leinster game and I had to check it out to be sure but it seems that two former greats of S.Africa, Joost van der Westhuizen and Andre Venter (now in a wheel chair) are also suffering from some form of Motor Neurone disease.I was upset to see that as I didn't know about it .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Not really as his goal kicking had not been great earlier in the game and he wanted to make the kick easier for himself - a pity more wouldn't follow his example.

Well it was VERY risky, Patterson could have easily swatted the ball out of his hands or even managed to do a Will Carling on him.

Moment of the Season for me

1) 2nd half v Northampton
    2) Nacewa vs Leicester
    3) O'Briens tackle on a certain Tuilagi try in same game
    4) Final whistle Italy v France

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

John Hayes lasting 80 minutes against Leinster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Gordon Gecko

Best Moments: Eddie Devitt's last minute try for OB against Clontarf in the AIL semi
    The AIL final
    Leinster's performance away to Clermont, salvaging a bonus point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Conchir

1) The crowd drowning out those stupid drums in Lansdowne.

2) Sexton doing the dummy before kicking to Horgan, even though everyone watching knew it was going to him, and Shaggy gathering it anyway.

3) Sexton and ROG in the England match.

I'm sure there are many more.

EDIT: There is, Sean O'Brien bouncing Matt Banahan in the Six Nations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Loads of highlights already mentioned, but as a Leinster fan, from an Ireland perspective: Seeing O'Connell come on against the 'quinns.

Means a lot for the games ahead.