Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wales open, Celtic manor

• 31-05-2011 12:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭

What do ye think about this one lads?

It was here last year that was the start of a dream year for G-mac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭AldilaMan

Shane Lowry e/w at 28/1 1,2,3,4,5 reasonable given his current hot form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭SSK

They're absolutely woeful odds for Lowry. Fair enough he's had a decent weekend but 28/1 is very short. That said I think he could have a good showing.

Jacquelin @ 33/1
    Levet @ 66/1
    Siem @ 125/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Fursttimer

SSK wrote: »
    They're absolutely woeful odds for Lowry. Fair enough he's had a decent weekend but 28/1 is very short. That said I think he could have a good showing.

I disagree somewhat.

28/1 is argubly a tad short now but he's only that price because all of the 40's and 33's were snapped up straight away.

I got 40/1 myself yesterday lunchtime when the books opened. I backed him e/w last week at 175/1 so didn't hesitate following in again this week.

His current odds is okay in my opinion. He's playing superb golf which culminated with him qualifying for the U.S. Open yesterday.

Course will suit his game, the opening 9 has a links feel to it and he has the power to get himself into contention.

Bar a few golfers, given the lack of quality in the field his odds are far from woeful.

One golfer whose odds are terrible is Peter Hanson (watch him go win now :D)

From a betting perspective, my money lies with Fisher, Davies, Lowry, Fraser & Hoey :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

SSK wrote: »

Jacquelin @ 33/1
    Levet @ 66/1
    Siem @ 125/1

good bet SSK but hopefully this time he doesnt brick himself on the final day :D
    Gone for Edfors @ 50/1 and Howell @100/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭SSK

Fursttimer wrote: »
    I disagree somewhat.

28/1 is argubly a tad short now but he's only that price because all of the 40's and 33's were snapped up straight away.

I got 40/1 myself yesterday lunchtime when the books opened. I backed him e/w last week at 175/1 so didn't hesitate following in again this week.

His current odds is okay in my opinion. He's playing superb golf which culminated with him qualifying for the U.S. Open yesterday.

Course will suit his game, the opening 9 has a links feel to it and he has the power to get himself into contention.

Bar a few golfers, given the lack of quality in the field his odds are far from woeful.

From a betting perspective, my money lies with Fisher, Davies, Lowry, Fraser & Hoey :)

Ah yeah that's fair enough. I think it was more the shock of seeing him so short that got me more than anything. I might throw a couple of quid on him myself even at those odds.
    good bet SSK but hopefully this time he doesnt brick himself on the final day :D
    Gone for Edfors @ 50/1 and Howell @100/1

Here's hoping anyway, he played ok last week and has form obviously on this track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭poteen

I think you have got to be looking at Ross Fisher for this one. He is a good player who knows this course and will be pushing hard to get into the top 50 for the US open.

He is 22/1 for an outright win or 9/2 for a top 5. The Top five bet is what im going to be doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭aster99

Why not back him for the win e/w? Then if he finishes top 5 you have that covered, also if he managed to win you have that covered too. At 9/2 for top 5 it's same thing as the e/w for 5 places

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭kevin99

aster99 wrote: »
    What do ye think about this one lads?

It was here last year that was the start of a dream year for G-mac

Long course. Unexciting. Suits long straight hitters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

kevin99 wrote: »
    Long course. Unexciting. Suits long straight hitters.

GMAC is not considered long.

ssbob wrote: »
    GMAC is not considered long.

He's sneaky long. He averaged over 300 yards at last year's U.S. Open and he averages around 285 for any given event.

His ball carry from the tee is poor compared to other golfers. Driving distance on both the European & PGA Tour is phenomenal. It's no disgrace being a little down the pecking order :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Jamie donaldson to win by 3,33/1 6 places,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭poteen

Got my €10 e/w at 22/1 on ross fisher.

I think celtic manor is the worst ryder cup course i can rembember. Its just so bland. The ryder cup tournament was great though and a brilliant win but no thanks to the course or weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

poteen wrote: »
    I think celtic manor is the worst ryder cup course i can rembember. Its just so bland. The ryder cup tournament was great though and a brilliant win but no thanks to the course or weather.

Really? I thought it was real good, not the best but good, lots of water in play and a few driveable par 4's......................for Dustin Johnson anyway :D

heavyballs wrote: »
    Jamie donaldson to win by 3,33/1 6 places,

Edited after he was leading at 3 under through 3 ??;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I'm going for Edfors in this one (50/1 e/w), tees off this afternoon.

Aidric wrote: »
    I'm going for Edfors in this one (50/1 e/w), tees off this afternoon.

Did Edfors myself €5 e/w @ 50/1. Wanted to do Lowry but 28/1 was a little skinny on reflection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

AldilaMan wrote: »
    Did Edfors myself €5 e/w @ 50/1. Wanted to do Lowry but 28/1 was a little skinny on reflection.

Ah...stop that now.

:p

Fursttimer wrote: »

-6 thru 15 :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

McGrane and McDowell both -4 for their rounds.
    Rest of the Irish out later on in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Reckon G Mac take it to be honest. But alas might be too short an 9/2. Think I might double him with Donald in the Memorial @ 10/1 and throw a tenner on em see what happens.

k.p.h wrote: »
    Reckon G Mac take it to be honest. But alas might be too short an 9/2. Think I might double him with Donald in the Memorial @ 10/1 and throw a tenner on em see what happens.

I'd expect Donald to be knackered this week after the last 3 weeks in a row. Then again I said last week he doesn't get the job done so what do I know ! €5 e/w Bo Van Pelt for what it's worth is where my tenner went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Ah yeah he probably will be in bits but just thought it worth a lash. He carded a 70 today with 6 birdies.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Had to check to see how Lowry was getting on because Sky were just concentrating on Johan Edfors. Would cut immediately after Edfors has hit his shot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

McDowell is just one shot back from Alex Noren, horses for courses.
    Shane Lowry finished +3, it will be very close whether or not he will make the weekend.
    He's currently outside the cut line at +2, but shot are being dropped out there so there's always hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

+3 currently tied 68th, was 75th earlier on.
    Looks like Lowrys 7-2 finish might get him into weekend after all.

Edit: +3 on the magic tied 65th now!

+3 tied 69th now, looks like players on course are making best of par 5 9th and 18th.

i would be extremely surprised if Gmac didnt go on to win the tournament. Has played very well over the two days but his putter has been a bit cold.

Cut is +2, exactly 65. One player on course +3 can squeeze back in but weekend off for the others on +3.

solid double bogey on his 1st hole for Gmac :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

Is Di only out of bed?

Gmac having a howler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Good God, Gmac 8 over for first 7 holes :eek: 2 birdies though after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Cornetto

Who the f*** is Victor Dubuisson?!!

Cornetto wrote: »
    Who the f*** is Victor Dubuisson?!!

Victor Dubuisson (born 22 April 1990) is a French professional golfer.
    Dubuisson was born in Nice. He enjoyed a successful amateur career, during which he won several major amateur tournaments, including the 2009 European Amateur, and was the number one ranked player. He also made the cut in several professional tournaments, the highlight being a third place finish at the 2009 Allianz EurOpen de Lyon on the Challenge Tour.
    Dubuisson turned professional in 2010 after playing in The Open Championship, and qualified for the European Tour at that year's qualifying school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

GMac having a nightmare! 3 attempts at that chip shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

395 yards off the tee on 18 for him. Pure frustration I think.

Great stuff from Gmac today :rolleyes: was in shock after hearing his final score

dc finishes 80,80 and had a 10 on the 14th he had a 8 on it yesterday.

we can safely say it isn't one of his favorite holes

^^^^^ good man Darren :D

Congrats to Noren. Has a cracking swing and hopefully he kicks on from this victory and becomes another top European player.