Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sick of being told to "Go to After Hours"

• 30-05-2011 10:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭

Anytime I make any type of mildly humourous or controversial comment on any of the other fora I get the moderators jumping on me saying either "This isn't After Hours you know" or "Save that for After Hours son!".

For example a few months ago I complained on the politics forum that if the government slashed the dole by too much I was going to protest by going returning to work... Mods all over me.

Today on an "Online Dating" thread a lady, Jenna69 no less, said she wished someone would bring her out for a few drinks and see where it led. One fella replied by saying (in all seriousness) that he couldn't stay out late but that they could go for afternoon coffee instead... In a moment of madness I suggested his reply was "totally gay". I got a few snarky comments on the thread (I exercised restraint by not replying "Maybe you are all homosexual"), was warned by one mod, told it wasn't AH and then was banned from the forum two hours later by another mod.

Is this normal? Is this what boards is about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭TheDukeOfEarl

Blast her with piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

This isn't Feedback you know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Getting a bit precious about this arent you? maybe you're gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,592 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Go to the Politics forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

keanooo wrote: »
    Is this what boards is about?

Mods from other forums telling people to post their random, useless & unwanted shite in After Hours?

Yeah. Pretty much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Maybe it's you OP. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Today on an "Online Dating" thread a lady, Jenna69 no less, said she wished someone would bring her out for a few drinks and see where it led.

Is she hot??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

best thing you can read on here op is that boards.ie does NOT allow "free speech" .... mods say it, management of the site say it. :rolleyes:

there is a bit of hypocrissy on boards when you think about it.
    After hours is a forum designed for "joke posts" (or another term can be used) ... now, a user can make a totally disgusting joke post about someone dying or a serious incident. However, dare you post any negitive post towards another user automatic fraction and or ban.

In fact, I wouldnt be surprised if this post gets locked :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

Is this normal? Is this what boards is about?

maybe your just not as funny as you think you are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Blast her with piss.

take note children..this is NOT how to use a meme :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭keanooo

galwayrush wrote: »
    Maybe it's you OP. :p

Yeah. I had loads of other examples, but I decided not to type them out because they would have made me look like a bit of a prick...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

You can't be "tasteless" on after hours anymore either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Anytime I make any type of mildly humourous or controversial comment on any of the other fora I get the moderators jumping on me saying either "This isn't After Hours you know" or "Save that for After Hours son!".

Those forums sound like shit. No wonder AH is so popular..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Politics forum is a joke when it comes to modding to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Saila wrote: »

You win the internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Blast her with piss.

Seriously... try reading here

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056280090

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Crosáidí wrote: »
    Politics forum is a joke when it comes to modding to be fair.

And Irish economy..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭keanooo

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Is she hot??

She sounded alright. At least she had a sense of humour, unlike the other moistys over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Please don't hurt any kittens or puppies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,055 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I could squeeze her in for breakfast any morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

It is obvious some people/mods treat AH as a joke forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

Your just doing it arSeways mate

Your posting a serious thread on after hours
    But your taking the Pizz on every other Forum

Simples200_meerkat-curious1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭TheDukeOfEarl

Saila wrote: »

A great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Ranting and Raving
    >>>>>>>