Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what to feed call bird

• 30-05-2011 6:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭

moved my trap to a different place and 1st day caught a grey crow and 2nd got a magpie.i checked it this morning and put bird in call section and threw in some bread and water in a peas tin,but looking this evening i dont think he has took any,what do yous usually use?? is the pea tin enough for water

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Dupont wrote: »
    moved my trap to a different place and 1st day caught a grey crow and 2nd got a magpie.i checked it this morning and put bird in call section and threw in some bread and water in a peas tin,but looking this evening i dont think he has took any,what do yous usually use?? is the pea tin enough for water

Hen eggs unbroken and sausages.
    Make sure rats can't get in as they will kill the callbird

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Cat food from aldi and the odd frankfurter is what mine get. My call birds all loved the frankfurters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Cat food from aldi and the odd frankfurter is what mine get. My call birds all loved the frankfurters.
    what is a frankfurter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

what is a frankfurter

Hot-dog lol or weiners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

Yeah have to go with the above , a stable diet of aldi dog or cat food ,whatever is cheapest.I normally fill a 5 litre water bottle, tray of food and eggs and leave them near the trap, saves having to carry a load of stuff up with you every time.All you need is a plastic bag and a knife then you can walk away every evening with a few heads.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mallards

I usually use a some good quality dried dog food. I put two milk cartons in the trap with it cable tied to the side so it can't tip them over.

P1030343.jpg

You can't really see from the picture but I cut a small rectangular hole in each carton above the top cable tie facing outside the trap and the same sized hole on the inside further down. It means I can fill one with water and one with dried dog food from the outside without opening the trap door to the call bird. This is very handy because they are feckers for escaping, especially the magpies and if you get a good nip from a grey, you don't want to put your hand near it too often! I also keep a plastic bag with some spare dog food and another washed out milk carton full of water and an old pair of gloves. Tie it up tight to stop the foxes smelling it. Then I weigh it down with a thick piece of wood which I use to kill the captured. I find this works best as I always have everything I need at hand to keep the trap working as well as you can and keep the hard working call bird healthy!! ;)

P1030262.jpg

Mallards

mallards wrote: »
    I usually use a some good quality dried dog food. I put two milk cartons in the trap with it cable tied to the side so it can't tip them over.

P1030343.jpg

You can't really see from the picture but I cut a small rectangular hole in each carton above the top cable tie facing outside the trap and the same sized hole on the inside further down. It means I can fill one with water and one with dried dog food from the outside without opening the trap door to the call bird. This is very handy because they are feckers for escaping, especially the magpies and if you get a good nip from a grey, you don't want to put your hand near it too often! I also keep a plastic bag with some spare dog food and another washed out milk carton full of water and an old pair of gloves. Tie it up tight to stop the foxes smelling it. Then I weigh it down with a thick piece of wood which I use to kill the captured. I find this works best as I always have everything I need at hand to keep the trap working as well as you can and keep the hard working call bird healthy!! ;)

P1030262.jpg

Mallards
    thats a real good looking trap you have mallards.light to move around and call bird is very visible. the holes on the milk cartons inside for the bird to feed out of,what height are they from bottom of carton,would 2" or so do and top up with food and water each day. just back from checking trap and my call bird had a friend (or enemy) in with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

I once put a dead pigeon into the trap section and the magpie in the call section ate every bit of him through the mesh! Other than that they just got dog food!

thats a real good looking trap you have mallards.light to move around and call bird is very visible. the holes on the milk cartons inside for the bird to feed out of,what height are they from bottom of carton,would 2" or so do and top up with food and water each day. just back from checking trap and my call bird had a friend (or enemy) in with him

The hole in the inside is made between the two cable ties. I check the trap daily but there is enough food and water to last three or four days without the need to fill. The holes should be about matchbox size. Enough for them to get their head in and feed and drink. The milk cartons stop them crapping in it and also stops the rain ruining the feed.
    I caught two mags with that grey crow a few days ago. In less than 24hrs he had killed one through the mesh, stripped it to the bone and pulled the carcase into the same side of the trap as him. I'd hate to be a song bird or a game poult to meet him!

Mallards

P1030343.jpg

P1030262.jpg

Mallards
    Fair dews ,they are some very well minded and well taken care of traps

Thanks, I also run a ladder trap and took over a hundred and fifty assorted crows and mags from them last year, incidently my best season for wild game chicks also!

Mallards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭rugerman

nice lookin traps there i have 6 larsens on the go all are 2inch mesh and use dead rabbit which i hang up in callbird section seems to drive the birds a bit more wild and put eggs in catch sections cant complain

Tell me about it! I'm forever letting one go out of it, could be the same one over and over again as he gets a free crow or two every time he goes in! :rolleyes:

IMG_0841.jpg

IMG_0858.jpg

IMG_0861.jpg

IMG_0862.jpg

Pity about yer one. Due to her stupidity a lot of song birds and game birds will suffer.

Mallards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Thanks, I also run a ladder trap and took over a hundred and fifty assorted crows and mags from them last year, incidently my best season for wild game chicks also!

Mallards
    Pity about yer one. Due to her stupidity a lot of song birds and game birds will suffer.

Mallards.

So true - the local game conservancies work here in removing nearly 200 hoodies this Spring via traps by the lake has allowed the likes of Lapwing and Snipe a decent shot at breeding this year when before they didn't stand a chance with so many egg thieves around!!

Tell me about it! I'm forever letting one go out of it, could be the same one over and over again as he gets a free crow or two every time he goes in! :rolleyes:

IMG_0841.jpg

IMG_0858.jpg

IMG_0861.jpg

IMG_0862.jpg

Mallards.
    I know these so called animal lovers havnt got a clue.Thats a nice neat ladder trap, the one i made is angled up at each side,makes it a bit more awkward to move around , i must make the next one flat like yours.

It's a recycled partridge release pen. In the spring it catches crows in the Autumn releases partridges. Two birds with one stone so to speak. :D

Mallards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Bamanlou

great lookin trap mallards can i ask what height it is , roughly. i got a request to make one today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭rambo87

Meant to PM that to you sorry!! Dont want it going further. (back to the woman) Take down the posts in case it does!

rambo87 wrote: »
    Meant to PM that to you sorry!! Dont want it going further. (back to the woman) Take down the posts in case it does!
    All boxed off ,thanks again for letting me know what was being said.

Just a tip: If you're using a spoon for your cat/dog food then hide it. Magpies got about 6 of my spoons before I realised what was happening. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Earls dog food or Coshida cat food from Aldi/Lidl for mine mostly.

i must have set my trap in a hot spot,set it saturday night and to date have caught 1 grey crow and 4magpies.one thing i noticed is if a bird is caught the bang when the door closes usually sets of the other door,will have to do a bit of work

Bamanlou wrote: »
    great lookin trap mallards can i ask what height it is , roughly. i got a request to make one today.

Thanks, here you go.

penmeasurements.jpg

Mallards

i must have set my trap in a hot spot,set it saturday night and to date have caught 1 grey crow and 4magpies

and counting now have 7 magpies:) but when changing the call bird he got away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Tikka Jim

I give my call birds 1/2 a rabbit every 2 days.
    Move the trap a few feet every day as the sh*t builds up under it otherwise.
    Rinse out their drinker every 2 days too, greycrows in particular will hide food in water.
    Don't kill the caught birds in view of your call bird, causes them a lot of unnecessary stress.

Jim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Bamanlou

thanks for that mallards