Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fine for not paying tax/insurance?

• 29-05-2011 5:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭

Hey folks,

During the week last week near where I live the guards were stopping people for not paying tax and insurance. They had two guards, one doing the checking, one taking the details. So obviously everyone needs to be super vigilant when looking ahead of them! Particularly at traffic light junctions coupled with a suitable space to pull cars in.

Okay so I was just wondering what they fine you for not having tax and/or insurance? Is it a fine or just penalty points? If you refuse to pay, what's the next part of the process?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

not having tax - 60 euro fine
    not having insurance - should be shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

pog it wrote: »
    If you refuse to pay, what's the next part of the process?

First
    _44421430_crushedcar203.jpg

Then

jail.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

Car should be impounded instantly.. There is no excuse for either.. and is usually coupled to other anti social issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

si_guru wrote: »
    Car should be impounded instantly.. There is no excuse for either.. and is usually coupled to other anti social issues.

Ah now, car impounded for a few days out of tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

si_guru wrote: »

not really, there is 0 excuse for driving without insurance , but 2-3 months leeway on car tax isnt a bad thing, its not a safety issue and the goverment always gets it back when you eventually go to tax it. the car shouldnt be impounded unless its out 9-12 months and you dont have an excuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭pog it

Wowsa.

Also, by the way, I really don't want comments about the rights and wrongs of it. I started the thread to find out what the penalties are.

What are the rules as to impounding the car? How long does it have to be untaxed/out of unsurance before it it impounded? Is there a specific length of time or is it up to the guard?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Wowsa.

Also, by the way, I really don't want comments about the rights and wrongs of it. I started the thread to find out what the penalties are.

What are the rules as to impounding the car? How long does it have to be untaxed/out of unsurance before it it impounded? Is there a specific length of time or is it up to the guard?

If its 2 months or over without tax they can impound it. If you have no insurance/nct they can take it there and then. No insurance means a mandatory driving ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Tax out by 2 months or more it can be impounded. Usually a tow charge and a further charge for every day its in storage. If not collected it gets crushed. No insurance is mandatory court appearance with 5 points and up to E2500 fine and/or imprisionment together with a driving ban. Plus trying to get insurance again would prove very costly

furtzy wrote: »
    No insurance is mandatory court appearance with 5 points and up to E2500 fine and/or imprisionment together with a driving ban. Plus trying to get insurance again would prove very costly

Yep.

One of the few things in Ireland that are treated appropriately by the judicial/legal system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

jaffa20 wrote: »
    Ah now, car impounded for a few days out of tax?

What about not having insurance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

i pay my whack on tiem, why shouldnt everyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

RoverJames wrote: »
    Yep.

One of the few things in Ireland that are treated appropriately by the judicial/legal system

Ah if only that were so...yes the maximum penaltys are severe but unless you have a string of convictions longer than your neck you will get away with a few hundred euro fine and a slap on the wrist. Any decent solicitor should see to it that you won't get a driving ban.

As for getting insurance again..no problem, just don't tell 'em!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

corktina wrote: »
    i pay my whack on tiem, why shouldnt everyone else?

Because everyone has a free will, and everyone can decide what they want to do or not.

Consequences for not paying tax are not really severe.
    In some places in Ireland it might be very likely to get pulled over and checked. In other it might be almost impossible to meet a guards on the way.
    There just might be some people which after doing calculations can come to conclusion it's just not worth for them to pay motortax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Hey folks,

During the week last week near where I live the guards were stopping people for not paying tax and insurance. They had two guards, one doing the checking, one taking the details. So obviously everyone needs to be super vigilant when looking ahead of them! Particularly at traffic light junctions coupled with a suitable space to pull cars in.

Okay so I was just wondering what they fine you for not having tax and/or insurance? Is it a fine or just penalty points? If you refuse to pay, what's the next part of the process?

Refusal to pay a fixed penalty notice = a day in court
    Refusal to pay a court issued fine = a few weeks in the slammer and a rather unattractive criminal record should something you want to do require you to be to be of good character.

not really, there is 0 excuse for driving without insurance , but 2-3 months leeway on car tax isnt a bad thing, its not a safety issue and the goverment always gets it back when you eventually go to tax it. the car shouldnt be impounded unless its out 9-12 months and you dont have an excuse
    Not when the owner inevitably declares it as being off the road during that time - 2-3 months tax free driving can be a mighty incentive to some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

slimjimmc wrote: »
    Refusal to pay a fixed penalty notice = a day in court
    Refusal to pay a court issued fine = a few weeks in the slammer and a rather unattractive criminal record should something you want to do require you to be to be of good character.

You forgot the step where bleeding hearts jump on the bandwagon and the papers are only too happy to print a story to whip up the rabble while editing it to seem better, like this:

Woman with children far from home, stopped by gestapo like Gardai in her 09 car she couldnt afford to pay VRT/Motor tax/Insurance etc on and flung to the side of the road in the rain while on her one and only journey to the shops to buy food for the starving children [Section irrelevant as reduces impact of tabloidism] Refusal to pay a fixed penalty notice = a day in court
    Refusal to pay a court issued fine =
    [Section irrelevant as reduces impact of tabloidism] sentenced by uncareign judge to a few weeks in the slammer and a rather unattractive criminal record should something you want to do require you to be to be of good character.

Not when the owner inevitably declares it as being off the road during that time - 2-3 months tax free driving can be a mighty incentive to some.

Exactly, leeway just leads to people looking for leeway on the leeway and seeing how far they can push it and get away without paying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Refusal to pay a court issued fine = a few weeks in the slammer
    You would be lucky to do a few hours inside as there is no room for small time fine avoiders. If faced with a fine of a grand I would take my chances on spending a couple of hours inside where you get dinner and a then a free taxi home that evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

irish-stew wrote: »
    What about not having insurance?

Permanent driving ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Not as far as i'm aware. If you are stopped for having no tax and the tax is out of date for several months, you have to back pay the tax to the most recently expired month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Not as far as i'm aware. If you are stopped for having no tax and the tax is out of date for several months, you have to back pay the tax to the most recently expired month.
    As you say yourself, IF you get stopped, which a lot don't. I'm sure there are loads of people who routinely stretch things because experience has shown them that they're unlikely to get caught most of the time, and if they do the previous cumulative savings outweigh the penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Of course, but we were talking about if you are stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭mdebets

the car shouldnt be impounded unless its out 9-12 months and you dont have an excuse
    what possible excuse could you have for not paying tax for 9-12 months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Crasp

mdebets wrote: »
    what possible excuse could you have for not paying tax for 9-12 months?

Tax avoision :pac: