Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wiz Khalifa in Dublin you say?

• 27-05-2011 8:34pm
    Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Wiz Khalifa is topping off at the Olympia in Dublin this November as part of his European Tour.

Should be interesting, wonder who will be on support duties??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭MoyVilla9

Interesting. By no means a Wiz fan but with the shocking lack of Hip Hop concerts in Ireland you have to take what you can get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

YES!!

I'm there. If you hear a guy screaming for more Kush & OJ/Burn After Rolling songs its probably me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Has a tour been announced? Haven't seen anything online apart from this thread..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Has the Dublin date been confirmed anywhere yet? It's not listed on his official website. These are the European dates so far:

Aug 11
    Øya Festival- Oslo - Norway

Aug 12
    Jurassic Rock Festival - Mikkeli - Finland

Aug 13
    Way Out West Festival - Gothenburg - Sweden

Aug 14
    Vega - Copenhagen - Denmark

Aug 19
    Vega - Copenhagen - Denmark

Aug 20
    V Festival - Chelmsford - UK

Aug 21
    V Festival - Stafford - UK

Nov 14
    Komplex 457 - Zürich - Switzerland

Nov 15
    Le Zenith de Paris - Paris - France

Nov 16
    Heineken Music Hall - Amsterdam - The Netherlands

Nov 18
    Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - Belgium

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

No date confirmed yet, just that he'll be playing here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

interesting. By no means a Wiz fan but with the shocking lack of Hip Hop concerts in Ireland you have to take what you can get.

i dont know mate i actually think we get our fair share considering the market over here for hip hop isn't great compared to other more urban like country's i.e uk, france, germany.

I mean eminem (Northern ireland but still) and 50 cent are both coming in the next few months aswell as wiz khalifa and more will follow its early 2011 still, but irelands a small country i really doubt we have a huge impact on a rappers european sales maybe a few years ago when hip hop was selling well but not anymore so we are not really a must tour destination but for a country this small i think we get it pretty good.

wiz is a one hit wonder there wont be much buzz around this mainly because his music is pretty bad in my opinion but im not a fan so what would you expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭madmandaniel

im a huge wiz fan but i hate how everyone jumped on the bandwagon with black and yellow, a failr mediocre song.. all his old mixtapes and street albums are pretty dope, combination of raw boom bap, and more feelgood type ****.. kush and oj was an amazin mixtape

i hope to absolute god that mac miller will be supporting him.. please please god lool

im a huge wiz fan but i hate how everyone jumped on the bandwagon with black and yellow, a failr mediocre song.. all his old mixtapes and street albums are pretty dope, combination of raw boom bap, and more feelgood type ****.. kush and oj was an amazin mixtape

i hope to absolute god that mac miller will be supporting him.. please please god lool

+1 on everything, his album was a but disappointing IMO, half of the songs are good, the other half I wont listen to more than once or twice. I suppose that's just the way the industry is these days, Wiz isn't an exception.

Also would love to see Mac Miller supporting him over here, huge fan of his, listen to him a lot more than Wiz recently.

Any info on when tickets will be on sale?

i dont know mate i actually think we get our fair share considering the market over here for hip hop isn't great compared to other more urban like country's i.e uk, france, germany.

I mean eminem (Northern ireland but still) and 50 cent are both coming in the next few months aswell as wiz khalifa and more will follow its early 2011 still, but irelands a small country i really doubt we have a huge impact on a rappers european sales maybe a few years ago when hip hop was selling well but not anymore so we are not really a must tour destination but for a country this small i think we get it pretty good.

wiz is a one hit wonder there wont be much buzz around this mainly because his music is pretty bad in my opinion but im not a fan so what would you expect.

I understand fully why we are overlooked, but it still doesn't make it nice for the hip hop fans here, don't you agree? It's such a tease when you change the location on Ticketmaster to somewhere in England and look at the upcoming gigs. Before Q-Tip and Wiz confirmed more so...

I wouldn't really consider myself a fan either but I'd go along for the look if the tickets are reasonably priced. Edit: Just seen the price 27euro - Not too bad.

MoyVilla9 wrote: »
    I understand fully why we are overlooked, but it still doesn't make it nice for the hip hop fans here, don't you agree? It's such a tease when you change the location on Ticketmaster to somewhere in England and look at the upcoming gigs. Before Q-Tip and Wiz confirmed more so...

I wouldn't really consider myself a fan either but I'd go along for the look if the tickets are reasonably priced. Edit: Just seen the price 27euro - Not too bad.

i know exactly where your coming from and yes it isnt nice but there's nothing we can do, i often do just that and have a look around in the uk to see who is coming and they do get all the big names,

you know yourself mate a lot of that has to do with the uk having a pretty big urban culture with its grime/hip hop scene which for anyone who was ever in the uk and more so london is huge, the nightlife is very hip hop compared to the irish scene which is pretty much the opposite its more pop/rock here.

the market for american hip hop is very lucrative over there.

27 euro is alright in fairness but im saving for eminem and d12 and 50 and gunit that will do me nicely for the summer:D especially eminem iv never seen him live i was away when he was at oxygen so this will more than likely be my last chance so that concert is a must go for me!.

i know exactly where your coming from and yes it isnt nice but there's nothing we can do, i often do just that and have a look around in the uk to see who is coming and they do get all the big names,

you know yourself mate a lot of that has to do with the uk having a pretty big urban culture with its grime/hip hop scene which for anyone who was ever in the uk and more so london is huge, the nightlife is very hip hop compared to the irish scene which is pretty much the opposite its more pop/rock here.

the market for american hip hop is very lucrative over there.

27 euro is alright in fairness but im saving for eminem and d12 and 50 and gunit that will do me nicely for the summer:D especially eminem iv never seen him live i was away when he was at oxygen so this will more than likely be my last chance so that concert is a must go for me!.

Yeah, it's a shame that there isn't a stronger hip hop base here. Eminem and 50 are just a bit out of the way for me, I can't see myself heading to either NI or Waterford for it as getting back from it would be a pain. Have to say that I'm looking forward to Q-Tip. Talented guy. Were you at the Rakim gig?

ye it is but i guess thats just the way it is, the increase of foreigners in ireland in the last few years will probably turn it into a mini like uk. In the next 20 years we will have a few ghetto irish farmers with jamacan blood man sipping on guiness and shootin sh*t up :D in other words the different nationality's mixing like the uk and america will make a more urban environment to live in.

I haven't listened to much of Q-tips solo stuff to be honest, i have a good bit of a tribe called quests stuff but never really actually got around to listening to much of Q-tip if im honest for what reason i dont know, i was the same with fat joe until it was either makaveli or boom bap who recommended his older stuff which i really enjoyed, but i am well aware of Q-tip from being a fan of tribe called quest and also his work as a producer, i think it was last year he was suppose to of brought out a quality album cant remember what it was called....? i can be lazy sometimes when it comes to certain artists so thats more than likely why i haven't listened to much of his solo stuff, if you can recommend a few Q-tip bangers other than breathe n stop be my guest bud.

no i didn't go to rakim mate the last concert i was at was the raekwon gig which was pretty good but ye im lucky im from waterford so the 50 one is handy there's suppose to be 15000 + at that which is pretty good for the music scene in waterford, the eminem one im going to get a b n b or something and stay the night because its a long way from waterford so il head out after the concert with a few of the boys and make a good night out of it but honestly i cant wait to see him live hopefully back up by shady 2.0 am i asking too much?:D

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

That Q-Tip album is The Renaissance, I still listen to it regularly.

In relation to people stopping off on thier European tours, Ireland is being overlooked more and more, from maintream to underground.
    I'm always looking up tour dates when I hear certain people are hitting Europe, but Ireland is never listed. It's a shame really, but when it comes to touring, it's 95% revenue and 5% for the fans (my opinion :)).

I wonder who will be on support for Wiz, hopefully some Irish people with get on the bill. As someone said earlier, Mac Miller would be awesome, but i dont think he's oing to be touring as he's prepping his album.

seeing as DJ Frank Jez is hosting and ****, he will probably get his boy G-Tribe to open.. G tribe is good but he puts on an american accent even tho hes from Lucan and tries to be a lot like Wiz ironically lol

On the subject of European Tours, last night somewhere in Germany (Munich I think) there was a gig with:

Rakim
    Fashawn
    The Beatnuts
    Smif N Wessun

A bit of footage:

ye it is but i guess thats just the way it is, the increase of foreigners in ireland in the last few years will probably turn it into a mini like uk. In the next 20 years we will have a few ghetto irish farmers with jamacan blood man sipping on guiness and shootin sh*t up :D in other words the different nationality's mixing like the uk and america will make a more urban environment to live in.

I haven't listened to much of Q-tips solo stuff to be honest, i have a good bit of a tribe called quests stuff but never really actually got around to listening to much of Q-tip if im honest for what reason i dont know, i was the same with fat joe until it was either makaveli or boom bap who recommended his older stuff which i really enjoyed, but i am well aware of Q-tip from being a fan of tribe called quest and also his work as a producer, i think it was last year he was suppose to of brought out a quality album cant remember what it was called....? i can be lazy sometimes when it comes to certain artists so thats more than likely why i haven't listened to much of his solo stuff, if you can recommend a few Q-tip bangers other than breathe n stop be my guest bud.

no i didn't go to rakim mate the last concert i was at was the raekwon gig which was pretty good but ye im lucky im from waterford so the 50 one is handy there's suppose to be 15000 + at that which is pretty good for the music scene in waterford, the eminem one im going to get a b n b or something and stay the night because its a long way from waterford so il head out after the concert with a few of the boys and make a good night out of it but honestly i cant wait to see him live hopefully back up by shady 2.0 am i asking too much?:D

Q-Tip can be a bit of an acquired taste. His record company rejected two albums he recorded because they felt they couldn't market them, but they got good reviews none the less when they finally came out. I don't want to sound like a expert on his music, because I'm not - it's only recently that I've started listening to him after really enjoying ATCQ's material but I'd recommend songs like Getting Up, Dance on Glass (skip the weird first min) and Move.

I've never really got into Fat Joe myself because I've never really given him a chance. I'm like you, I can be lazy with artists too.

just bought 2 tickets there on the aul ticketmaster.. standing of course.. sitting will be no fun. :)))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭careca11

Interesting. By no means a Wiz fan but with the shocking lack of Hip Hop concerts in Ireland you have to take what you can get.

wu tang have 2 dates in Ireland over the summer
    1 in cork (the Savoy)
    1 in dublin (tripod)

that 1 concert itslef should be enough to wet the apetite of real hip hop fans

careca11 wrote: »
    wu tang have 2 dates in Ireland over the summer
    1 in cork (the Savoy)
    1 in dublin (tripod)

that 1 concert itslef should be enough to wet the apetite of real hip hop fans

That's a new announcement is it? I didn't see that on ticketmaster until I checked it after your post. I knew they were playing in England but never seen a thing about Ireland. I wish I could go but I'll be in New York during June and July.

Good few of my mates got tickets for this today so I'll probably head along with them, I guess there's no real chance of Mac Miller supporting though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Stewbag

curren$y will more then likely come along with him and support him, they are tight.

Curren$y is too large to be a support act of tour with Wiz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Im over in California now (Huntington Beach) and Wiz is doing a show in Santa Barbra with Big Sean supporting, hopefullly its the same in Dublin because im loving alot of Big Seans tracks right now. Ill be going to the Cali show and the Dublin show and I wouldnt be upset if both were the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Curren$y is too large to be a support act of tour with Wiz

Indeed and if it was down to quality Wiz would be supporting Spitta not the other way around.

i heard someone say its Yelawolf but i thinkt theyre just guessing coz he supported him before.. why do people say **** when its not even true?
    Nah even though i would be so happy if spitta is supporting him it wont happen.. like i said before i hope its mac miller.. although Yelawolf is indeed a possibility

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

How do you think ticket sales for this will go?

I won't know if I can attend until literally a day or two before so do you think I'll still be able to pick up a couple of tickets easily enough in that case?

1300 is the venue capacity, i doubt there will be tickets left man, it shud sell out now that wiz is famous... id buy a ticket anyway theyre only 30.. then if u cant go, give it/sell it to someone

dont think it'll be a sell out to be honest

id say it will, theres already no standing tickets left, and it only went on sale last friday

It will sell out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Ah if there's no standing tickets left I'm not too bothered going.

Thanks for your help anyway lads :)

Paully D wrote: »
    Ah if there's no standing tickets left I'm not too bothered going.

Thanks for your help anyway lads :)

You should be able to find standing tickets on Done Deal or even outside The Olympia on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭james no.1

at boom_bap, support acts are dj ahmed and dj frank jez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭RebelSniper

I dont want mac to support Wiz, I want Mac to come to Ireland on his own damn tour...

Went to the Wiz concert last night, was a good performance, really enjoyed the show. He performed maybe 4 or 5 tracks from the album, the rest were mixtape tracks, hadn't been to a rap concert since January so was happy to go to Wiz, would see him again!

Yelawolf was in one of the private balcony's/booths for the entire show having a few cans with his mates, just found out he's touring himself (must be with Wiz?), looked like he was enjoying the show! :cool: