Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New West Ham manager is...

• 27-05-2011 3:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭

Big Sam Allardyce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Well it's not real madrid... Step down for the bauld Sam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

Nice to see Sullivan, Gold and Brady have made good on their promise to appoint a manager that will bring about the traditonal West Ham ethos of attacking football back to Upton Park

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

Some sh!te football on the way for west ham then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Media will love them though and Fergie will send his favourite pet a few kids out on loan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

From going for the england job to west ham. Poor Sam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭fkiely

Is he really as bad as they say? He played some decent stuff at Bolton when he had certain players. I'd be interested to hear any Bolton or Blackburn fans views as they might be different having watched him week in week out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Source?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Feel sorry for the hammers fans. They like a certain brand of football and they aren't going to get it now.

Will clog their way back up though I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

The World Cup winners will love his exciting and invigorating style of football.

Very surprised that Allardyce went anywhere near that job working for those two twats.

If they give him a chance he'll do a good job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭fkiely

Source?

Just what I've been told by somebody who's nearly always reliable. Not the most solid of sources but in this instance I'd be glad to be wrong.

Mods, if you feel this isn't worthy of a thread of it's own, feel free to lock it. Just though I'd pass on the info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

No mention of it on SKy Sports News.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I'd seen this on twitter a couple of days ago as well. Much as I don't really like him, seemed to be doing a decent job at Blackburn.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1391606/The-money-says-Allardyce-Bookmakers-suspend-betting-new-West-Ham-manager.html?ito=feeds-newsxml

Seems to be just speculation on the back of some bookies taking bigger than normal bets. Wouldn't count on it just yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

We can be all nasty but if you want someone to steady the ship and make them competitive then Big Sam is your man.

mike65 wrote: »
    We can be all nasty but if you want someone to steady the ship and make them competitive then Big Sam is your man.

Depends how big the ship is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

mike65 wrote: »

Very underrated manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,077 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Big Sam will have the hammers back in the prem in his first season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I think its a fine appointment. Say what you want about Big Sam, he's a damn good manager and the way his teams play football is not as bad as people make it out to be. They are brilliantly organised for set pieces, all teams should be like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,452 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Well it's not real madrid... Step down for the bauld Sam.
    I believe Ancelotti said he was interested in the job too.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Synomonous Premiership club name, a proper history to the club, Olympic stadium on the way, relatively new owners, a high profile manager known for getting results and yes West Ham should be motivated enough and able to atract the right sort of players for Big Sam to be able to guide them back to the premiership.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

It seems popular to dismiss Allardyce, but he tends to do as well as he can with the players he has in the team.

I don't think anybody disputes his capabilities as a manager at a certain level (bar Cashly and the Venky's), I reckon he's just become a figure of ridicule as a result of some of the mad sh!t he's come out with over the years, particularly the Samio Allerdycio, Rafa hurt my feelings, I'd win a double every year at Real and Blackburn arn't my level comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,452 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

tommyhaas wrote: »
    I don't think anybody disputes his capabilities as a manager at a certain level (bar Cashly and the Venky's), I reckon he's just become a figure of ridicule as a result of some of the mad sh!t he's come out with over the years, particularly the Samio Allerdycio, Rafa hurt my feelings, I'd win a double every year at Real and Blackburn arn't my level comments
    The bit about Real Madrid was him taking the mick out of a reporter for a stupid question but the hacks that don't like him just ran with it as him being totally deluded.

Allardyce will always split people. His team will play whatever style he sees as the best to get results with the group of players he has. When he was at Bolton they played a lot of long ball stuff but when he had Okocha playing well he played a more entertaining game and the same when he had Anelka.

I think he will do well there but those West Ham fans are a bit deluded. They think they belong at the top of the game playing with panache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Synomonous Premiership club name, a proper history to the club, Olympic stadium on the way, relatively new owners, a high profile manager known for getting results and yes West Ham should be motivated enough and able to atract the right sort of players for Big Sam to be able to guide them back to the premiership.

Make that sleazy new owners.
    West Ham wont progress unless they dump them and Karen "clueless" Brady.
    So professional, she actually married one of her own players ffs!

eagle eye wrote: »
    The bit about Real Madrid was him taking the mick out of a reporter for a stupid question but the hacks that don't like him just ran with it as him being totally deluded.

Allardyce will always split people. His team will play whatever style he sees as the best to get results with the group of players he has. When he was at Bolton they played a lot of long ball stuff but when he had Okocha playing well he played a more entertaining game and the same when he had Anelka.

I think he will do well there but those West Ham fans are a bit deluded. They think they belong at the top of the game playing with panache.

But I don't think its so much his ability as a manager,its just him. Personally, I think any manager should play what ever type of football is the most effective, given the group of players at his disposal, and Sam did just this successfully at Bolton. I wouldn't for a second knock his achievements there, but it doesn't take away from the fact that he routinely comes across as a knob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

He'll bring them back up instantly imo. Which is what the club needs due to its finances. Sadly, this means that they won't play nice football for 3-4 years until Big Sam is sacked for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

I am pie wrote: »
    Feel sorry for the hammers fans. They like a certain brand of football and they aren't going to get it now.

West Ham fans haven't seen attacking football in years.

Result-wise I think this might be a decent move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

As a West Ham fan I am delighted with this appointment - main concern is getting back to the Premier League before moving to the new stadium

Make that sleazy new owners.
    West Ham wont progress unless they dump them and Karen "clueless" Brady.
    So professional, she actually married one of her own players ffs!

Who is going to buy them though? Very few rich Arabs about with the Fair Play rules coming in.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Well it is official then, supposed to be for 2 years though it doesn't say that in the article:

Sam's the man | News | Latest News | News | West Ham United

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Paully D wrote: »
    Very underrated manager.

He doesn't underrate himself, that's for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I look forward to reading the thoughts of @TheBig_Sam on Twitter. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Can't see it working out even if they do get promoted. The West Ham fans I know (and being from Essex I know a lot of them) do take great pride in their way of doing things. As soon as things go bad I don't see the manager having their support.

Big Sam is a decent manager but I sometimes wonder how many of the plaudits he gets are deserved and how many are down to him being best mates with most of Britain's top sports journalists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

His football isn't THAT bad, it's better than Traps!!! At Bolton he had some great flair players! Djorkaeff, Okocha, etc. B'Burn was dire, but he hadn't a schilling in fairness, how do you play entertaining football when Keith Andrews is in your midfield?? With best of respect to Keithm he aint Xavi when it comes to passing!!! I think Sam has a chance of getting Hammers promoted, maybe not champs, bt 2nd or playoffs. Think the style people say he plays would suit the Championship down to the ground anyway. But the squad has been decimated. He needs about 10 players just to put a team out. Hell be doing well if hangs on to Stanislas, Tomkins, Collison, and the younger lads and he'll need some cash. Cant see that happening though.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Beefy78 wrote: »
    Can't see it working out even if they do get promoted. The West Ham fans I know (and being from Essex I know a lot of them) do take great pride in their way of doing things. As soon as things go bad I don't see the manager having their support.

Big Sam is a decent manager but I sometimes wonder how many of the plaudits he gets are deserved and how many are down to him being best mates with most of Britain's top sports journalists.

How can any set of football fans be proud of the way Karren Brady etc do business. Also, the fact that West Ham have just been relegated in a rather gutless manner would suggest that these West Ham fans would want to get over themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

I doubt anyone can take pride in anything that Karren Brady does. She, Gold and Sullivan are my three most hated people in football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭stevemc01

I am a West Ham supporter myself, never liked Sam (hated him to be honest), but think he is just what we need now. We need someone with some guts and a pair of balls who will stand up to modern day players and not accept overpaid footballers putting in the gutless performances we saw this year.

No one likes to be relegated but this could be the best thing that could have happened to us. All the overpaid players will be gone and with them the huge wage bills, so we have a chance to try and steady the ship financially. Try to keep one or 2 of the experienced players, give the young guys a run and bring in a few more in the positions they are needed in. No more mercenaries or injury plagued guys on huge wages. Hopefully then we can come back up and build the club/team properly this time (not the Icelandic model).

I also think that a year away from the premier league and hopefully Gold , Sullivan and Brady shutting up for a few months might help us rebuild our reputation as a club again. Its so sad to see how hated we are by some people now. Just 5 years ago when Pardews team got to the FA Cup Final we were popular with most football fans. I would imagine its the lack of class of our current owners that have brought this hate on us.

That_Guy wrote: »
    I look forward to reading the thoughts of @TheBig_Sam on Twitter. :pac:

He said, yesterday I think, that he wanted to finish Resident evil V before starting

From about a week ago though when he was first linked
    Fans of Big sam, who want me at West Ham.... throw your hands up at me.

All the porn kings, who dig the innovation that Sam brings... throw your hands up at me

All the Hammers, who've spent quite a bit of time in the slammer... throw your hands up at me

All the ladies, who fancy getting a good pounding by a Championship manager in a Travelodge... throw your hands up at me.

I love expressing myself via the medium of pop songs rewritten to include lyrics about me. I guess I'm a little postmodern. Sue me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

The auld fella is a Hammers fan and he reckons they'll stay down longer this time around then they did when they first got relegated, especially with that shower running the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,103 ✭✭✭doc_17

Sam plays horrible football...thankfully since i don't really follow the championship I won't be seeing him on MOTD next year. His style of play is horrible. Watching Blackburn V Fulham this year was strange. Their antics that day...

Ush1 wrote: »
    He doesn't underrate himself, that's for sure!

True, but I can understand his frustration that he doesn't get the credit he feels he deserves.

He got an average Bolton side who weren't doing great when he was appointed promoted in a season and a half, took them from being relegation candidates in the Premier League to being an established Premier League club and had them challenging and qualifying for European competition, whilst reacing the Carling Cup final too.

He wasn't given a chance at Newcastle as their supporters didn't agree with his style of football and started protesting against him as soon as they hit a poor run of form. I honestly thought he'd have done well there given a couple of seasons, and the fact they went down the seasons after sacking him shows that it was the wrong decision.

As soon as he was appointed he went on a 9 or 10 game unbeaten run with a struggling Blackburn side and eventually finished 15th. In his first full season with them he finished in the top half and probably would have finished comfortably mid-table with them this season before he was ridiculously sacked.

He's a decent manager IMO, if he's left to his own devices at West Ham he'll do a grand job there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I am pie wrote: »

do you really think what style of football gets them back into the prem is going to bother them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

He's been a solid manager for years now. I've no doubt he will get West Ham back up to the Prem next year and keep them up too. That's what he's always done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Good appointment - been there, done that. So what if his teams do not play the most visually appealing football.

This is a manager who could get decent performances out of El Hadji Diouf, so he will be able to deal with some of the egos at Upton Pk. with little problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Good appointment - been there, done that. So what if his teams do not play the most visually appealing football.

This is a manager who could get decent performances out of El Hadji Diouf, so he will be able to deal with some of the egos at Upton Pk. with little problem.

The Daily Mail is also reporting that Diouf may be on his way to Upton Park, because of Allardyce.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1393274/West-Ham-boss-Sam-Allardyce-wants-El-Hadji-Diouf.html#ixzz1O4A0Nc00West Ham manager Sam Allardyce is considering returning to Blackburn for striker El Hadji Diouf.
    The 30-year-old Senegalese had a controversial but successful loan spell at Rangers and played an influential part in their run-in to the SPL title.

Rangers remain interested but he is prepared to drop down a level to reunite with former mentor Allardyce for a third time having played under him at Bolton and Blackburn.

Allardyce has admitted he may not be able to prevent West Ham's big-name players leaving the club this summer and wants figures he can rely on to help claim promotion at the first time of asking.

Mexican winger Pablo Barrera could be one of the first to go. Although there is moderate interest from Everton, the 23-year-old's agent Jorge Berlanga admits Spain may be his next destination with Espanyol and Real Zaragoza leading the chase.

Berlanga said: 'Some clubs are interested in the player but the decision lies with West Ham.'

FC Copenhagen, meanwhile, are keen on defender Lars Jacobsen.

Same for the Sun (Whatever worth that has).

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/3613444/Hammer-blow.html#ixzz1O4XbtPMq