Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone forced over the M50 toll during visits, read this.

• 24-05-2011 6:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭

I am a payzone agent and have had loads of people complaining that they were forced over the toll bridge as there was no advance warning of lane closures and they had to go around the world to get to the palmerstown/ N4 inbound area.

Well, I told one customer to ring up Eflow and complain he had no choice, the guards made him without any warning.

The have actually credited him the toll as it was out of his control !

Having already paid it, they could not cancel it so they credited the next trip instead.

So boys and girls, get onto them now (if you can), their phones are red hot.

AND when you talk to them, be civil, shouting and roaring get you nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

I normally try to avoid those robbing B*stards as much as possible.

However, one night I was coming home from a friends on the southside. I normally take the lucan exit and back-roads to Blanch. As I was pretty tired and it was late at night I decided, screw it, may aswell use the bridge.

I pass the eFlow and low and behold, the blanch exit is closed (they were upgrading the junction) ... I was forced to drive past Blanch, had to take the Finglas exit and then back-track through finglas to get home :mad:

Rang them up the next day and they weren't having any of it. I was nice and polite but they weren't having any of it.

What a f*cking racket that eFlow crap is. I try to avoid it as best I can now out of principle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

ION08 wrote: »
    I normally try to avoid those robbing B*stards as much as possible.

However, one night I was coming home from a friends on the southside. I normally take the lucan exit and back-roads to Blanch. As I was pretty tired and it was late at night I decided, screw it, may aswell use the bridge.

I pass the eFlow and low and behold, the blanch exit is closed (they were upgrading the junction) ... I was forced to drive past Blanch, had to take the Finglas exit and then back-track through finglas to get home :mad:

Rang them up the next day and they weren't having any of it. I was nice and polite but they weren't having any of it.

What a f*cking racket that eFlow crap is. I try to avoid it as best I can now out of principle.

i don't get it, you made the decision to use the bridge instead of going the backroads from the lucan junction and you wanted credit? i'd understand if the lucan exit was closed and you hadn't enough prior warning and had no choice but to use the bridge, but it wasn't.

What's not to get? .. the reason I was using the bridge was because I wanted to take take the Blanch exit and get home quicker - not have to drive up to finglas and backtrack through finglas as a result of having paid eFlow for their priveleges.

If there had been prior warning that Blanch exit was closed I would have happily taken the Lucan exit and saved my self the 3 quid and the petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

ION08 wrote: »
    What's not to get? .. the reason I was using the bridge was because I wanted to take take the Blanch exit and get home quicker - not have to drive up to finglas and backtrack through finglas as a result of having paid eFlow for their priveleges.

If there had been prior warning that Blanch exit was closed I would have happily taken the Lucan exit and saved my self the 3 quid and the petrol.

if that blanch exit was closed, couldn't you have gone up to finglas and then come back to the blanch exit from the northside?
    closing the blanch exit from the southside doesn't force you to use the bridge, but closing the lucan exit does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

The blanch exit also has nothing to do with e-flow so, for once, I don't see how they should be liable.

However, due to some very poor dealings with them in the past, I always avoid the M50 toll these days.

if that blanch exit was closed, couldn't you have gone up to finglas and then come back to the blanch exit from the northside?
    closing the blanch exit from the southside doesn't force you to use the bridge, but closing the lucan exit does.

Both blanch exists were closed ... and I wasn't taking the risk getting stung for another €3 only to be back at square one and have to take the lucan exit!

I know it didn't force me to use the bridge. But the reason I and a lot of other motorists decide to use the bridge is the convenience of being able to use the Blanch exit as opposed to having to go through Lucan.

Put it this way - if they had made people aware that blanch exit was closed before passing the bridge , i'm sure they would have lost out on few transactions.

The blanch exit also has nothing to do with e-flow so, for once, I don't see how they should be liable.

However, due to some very poor dealings with them in the past, I always avoid the M50 toll these days.

I suppose not, and I can see ballsymchugh's point aswell.

Theoretically you're paying to use the bridge not to use the exits (although, that's why most people use the bridge!) and I wasn't technically forced to use the bridge.

Regardless, they're still a bunch of cowboys running a money making racket with poor customer service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 MaryDub

The exit was probably closed as Obama was in town?! No? anyway, if you use the road you should pay the toll like everyone else. and I have to say that I wouldn't agree that the customer service is poor. I use it regularly and have never had a problem with eflow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,351 ✭✭✭alias no.9

MaryDub wrote: »
    The exit was probably closed as Obama was in town?! No? anyway, if you use the road you should pay the toll like everyone else. and I have to say that I wouldn't agree that the customer service is poor. I use it regularly and have never had a problem with eflow.

How're you doing Mary, quiet day over there at eflow today? Anybody forced to use the bridge as part of a diversion from the route they wanted to take should be quite rightly refunded their toll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

alias no.9 wrote: »
    How're you doing Mary, quiet day over there at eflow today?

:P:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

If anything, anyone who had to use the M50 bridge due to diversions should be asking the gov't or Gardai for a refund (good luck with that, btw). I don't see how this is possibly eFlow's fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Sharkefood

I was on my way to ballyfermot one of the days the queen was over and got diverted through that toll, there was no indication that there was no access to ballyfermot. I got a letter in the post from eflow saying I owed a penalty for not paying the toll, I am currently waiting to hear back from eflow. I think its an absolute outrage that the toll was kept in effect that day and what the feck is road tax for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭dell1211

-Chris- wrote: »
    If anything, anyone who had to use the M50 bridge due to diversions should be asking the gov't or Gardai for a refund (good luck with that, btw). I don't see how this is possibly eFlow's fault.

doesnt all the proceeds go to the government in the end

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Sharkefood wrote: »
    and what the feck is road tax for?

WTF is road tax?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Sharkefood

sorry, meant motor tax,

"Motor tax is a charge imposed by the Government on some motor vehicles. The revenue from this tax is used to maintain and upgrade the road network in Ireland. Motor tax is collected by your local authority on behalf of the Government."

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/motoring_1/motor_tax_and_insurance/motor_tax_rates.html