Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dump truck / tipper self drive

• 23-05-2011 10:19pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭

I'm on the lookout for a dumptruck or tipper hire for self-drive. It seems almost impossible!

Any tipper hire places want you to sort out your own insurance, and no insurance company wants to know, and I havent come across a single hire place that has dumptrucks for hire. I found ONE place that hires a tractor and dump-trailer, but they insist on supplying their own driver, and they want E300 per day:eek:

Would anyone out there be able to help? I'm in Meath. I have about 200 lorryload (8 wheeler) to move about 2 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭scudster

I'm in the same boat. Can't find anything either. If you do find one post it up here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

No bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Buy a dump truck yourself, should only set you back about 30k second hand, and when you are finished doing your own work you can hire it out to other lads for them to drive the bag out of it moving their loads. Downside is that they will kill the transmission and tyres through lack of mechanical sympathy, rev the engine like a Honda civic and overload it all day long. They will then also whinge about how much you are charging them to hire it, and you will whinge about how the hell can I be expected to maintain a machine like that on only €....(insert any sum here). I'd say you have spotted a gap in the market that exists for a reason.

Solnskaya wrote: »
    Buy a dump truck yourself, should only set you back about 30k second hand, and when you are finished doing your own work you can hire it out to other lads for them to drive the bag out of it moving their loads. Downside is that they will kill the transmission and tyres through lack of mechanical sympathy, rev the engine like a Honda civic and overload it all day long. They will then also whinge about how much you are charging them to hire it, and you will whinge about how the hell can I be expected to maintain a machine like that on only €....(insert any sum here). I'd say you have spotted a gap in the market that exists for a reason.

Well there was ****all problem hiring them a year or two ago. Any fella who's still at it should be glad there's still people willing to pay them money to have their machine for a few days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

I very much doubt anyone would hire out a dumptruck on self drive. The chances of expensive damage being done would be waaaay to high.

TBH, tipper owner/drivers are stuck to the bollox, you should be able to get one to haul that for you fairly cheaply compared to a few years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,679 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Lots of plant has gone to Eastern Europe now, not hardly as many tippers and diggers about as there was a couple of year ago.

Got sorted now anyway. A friend of a friend got hold of a Massey 6490 and dump trailer. Scudster I'll PM you the details when I get them, you can talk to the man himself.

New problem, Slidey you might be able to help. There is an orange light coming on on the dash intermittently. I looked in the manual and it says its the "15 micron filter blockage indicator" light. What does that mean? Seeing as this is someone elses rig, I dont want to fcuk it up. I rang my friend who rang the owner, and HE doesnt even know what it is. He just said to keep filling her up with hydraulic oil. I dont even know where the hydraulic dipstick is!

@ CJhaughey, very true about plant leaving the country. I was on the lookout for an EX100 or EX130, a yoke near retirement, something suitable to be put out to pasture for a bit of farm work. Last year they were making around E16K. Now all I can find is an EX60 for that kind of money! If anyone knows of a suitable yoke, would yiz givvus a shout!

newmug wrote: »
    Well there was ****all problem hiring them a year or two ago. Any fella who's still at it should be glad there's still people willing to pay them money to have their machine for a few days
    Why?? If the machines operating at a loss (ie less than €475/€550) with a driver for the day, it would be better parked up. I think people may be overestmating the level of desperation, most guys who were muckshifting are either totally gone, or are still muckshifting, and those left are not the dummies, so they won't work for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Why?? If the machines operating at a loss (ie less than €475/€550) with a driver for the day, it would be better parked up. I think people may be overestmating the level of desperation, most guys who were muckshifting are either totally gone, or are still muckshifting, and those left are not the dummies, so they won't work for free.

Ya hit the nail on the head.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Milton09

New problem, Slidey you might be able to help. There is an orange light coming on on the dash intermittently. I looked in the manual and it says its the "15 micron filter blockage indicator" light. What does that mean? Seeing as this is someone elses rig, I dont want to fcuk it up. I rang my friend who rang the owner, and HE doesnt even know what it is. He just said to keep filling her up with hydraulic oil. I dont even know where the hydraulic dipstick is!

15 micron filter is a disposable transmission oil filter , if dash light is on it needs to be replaced ASAP

Milton09 wrote: »
    15 micron filter is a disposable transmission oil filter , if dash light is on it needs to be replaced ASAP

Where is it? How do you do that? Why is it only coming on intermittently?

filters not fully blocked, just restricted enuf to stifle flow at peak demand, ignoring them can easily lead to g.box bearing failure and costly rebuild-they are usually either a screw on type located between the box and the oil-cooler(check up near the rad), or a insert type behind an access panel on box -think yours is the 'tween box and cooler type but not positive, from distant memory the upper left side of the underbonnet would be a good place to look. If that ones blocked, chances are the rest are no better-as with most cases of borrowing big powerful things, tears can ensue.

Where is it? How do you do that? Why is it only coming on intermittently?

cant say for sure where it is on your tractor, depends on year, dyna4 or dyna6 etc, best thing is go to main dealer with serial number of tractor, they'll give you the right filter and show where it goes.

Milton09 wrote: »
    cant say for sure where it is on your tractor, depends on year, dyna4 or dyna6 etc, best thing is go to main dealer with serial number of tractor, they'll give you the right filter and show where it goes.

Its a 07, dyna 6. Where does the serial number usually be?

Usually on a plate on the back of the cab, close to where the spool valves are .

New feckin problem! This yoke doesnt have a "permit" to draw waste. Anyone have any experience with getting one? Where do you start, how much does it cost, how long does it take?

Contact your County councils head office and speak to the enviromental dept. They are 1200 euro IIRC.

That €300 a day is probably starting to slide into the "Hmm, maybe it wasn't too bad..." category:D
    Taking diesel, which if you burn it as fast as I do aint cheap, your own time, loss of income while sitting on a machine, how much slower you might be than a full-timer, well, those 200 tipper loads(about 5-600 dump trailer loads?) might start to grate a bit. Oh and I've been told you need a tax clearance cert and lots of other guff etc to get one of those permits, but I might be (and frequently am) wrong about that.
    This equation can usually be used:
    (Weight)+(distance to be moved)-(a good, big way of working)= a pain in the whole of your hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭scudster

@ newmug, It was a self driver tipper truck I was after but thanks anyway. The neighbour I used to do a bit of work for has tractors and dump trailers I could hire but the draw could be a bit long for a tractor. I'll figure somethin out or find some lad willing to let me have his rig for a few days with a few quid his way.

That €300 a day is probably starting to slide into the "Hmm, maybe it wasn't too bad..." category:D
    Taking diesel, which if you burn it as fast as I do aint cheap, your own time, loss of income while sitting on a machine, how much slower you might be than a full-timer, well, those 200 tipper loads(about 5-600 dump trailer loads?) might start to grate a bit. Oh and I've been told you need a tax clearance cert and lots of other guff etc to get one of those permits, but I might be (and frequently am) wrong about that.
    (Weight)+(distance to be moved)-(a good, big way of working)= a pain in the whole of your hole.

That 300 euro is very reasonable. I would be charging 50-60 euros per hour + VAT. I have all the certs and permits as well.

That E300 was for a tractor and dump trailer, exactly what I have. It wasn't including diesel which I would be getting the bill for, and it was including a driver, but why would I pay for a driver when I can do it myself. I'm not losing any any income because I dont have one at the moment. Because its only 2 miles (actually less!), I'm turning around in less than half an hour. I brought 20 load per day for the last 4 days. The permit end of things was only for another possible site I could draw from, but its looking like I wont need that stuff now.