Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MNS/R - Monday Night Soccer/Rovers

• 23-05-2011 7:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭

MNS is getting awfully shíte these past few weeks! My dog knows more about the League than some of the pundits they do have on. A half hour of every show is spent talking about Shams while the First Division gets about 20 seconds towards the arse of the show.

Serious over-haul is needed.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Haven't watched it in full in awhile, just flick through the goals on RTE player

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭strawberryb0y

Its absolute ****e. About ten minutes of footage a week, just watch the game highlights online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

yeah its muck alright. Used to be a lot better, too much waffling on and not enough action.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

About ten minutes of footage a week
    too much waffling on and not enough action.
    Definitely, they've a tendency to not show/not give more than one showing to important incidents

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

MNS is getting awfully shíte these past few weeks! My dog knows more about the League than some of the pundits they do have on. A half hour of every show is spent talking about Shams while the First Division gets about 20 seconds towards the arse of the show.

Serious over-haul is needed.

..which is never enough to be honest..

I like the show, considering they don't have many camera angles/quality camera footage to work with a scrutinising of the decisions. The one thing that can go is that Paper Talk monstrosity. In truth, for most games, all I'd watch is a brief summary of the goals. I'd rather 20 minutes of talking than 8 minutes given to each of Bray 0-0 UCDD and Drogheda 0-1 Galway

The League of Ireland podcast before it is very good too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I stopped watching over a year ago. They only seem to show about 1 minute of highlights from a match and spend about 5 minutes talking about it. Given it's a match highlights show i'd actually like to see more highlights.

Then there is the ****e filler they have in between like players doing karoake which they had a couple of years ago. All that stuff is absolute garbage.

The eircom league weekly program they used to do on tv3 at least used to have more highlights from the matches and no filler even though it was on at an ungodly hour of the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Load of sh1t. One hour per week is all the coverage the league gets and they spend time talking about the Ireland team. I don't get it.
    Way too much Shams talk every week too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

would agree totally.its pure ****e atm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Way too much Shams talk every week too.

Just like there would have been about Bohs or Shels in seasons gone by. Get over it.

Needs more footage -also a bit of first division action.

The Ireland thing is a pain but they're obviously trying to draw in new viewers - same with having the premiership lads on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭Sappy404

That it costs the FAI to show it is the worst thing. A simple highlights package on the internet would be considerably cheaper and would be far more appealing and accessible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭strawberryb0y

The eircom league weekly program they used to do on tv3 at least used to have more highlights from the matches and no filler even though it was on at an ungodly hour of the night.

I know it was on at ridiculous times and didn't exactly look slick but from a purely football point of view I think it was much better than MNS is now, the definition of style over substance

stovelid wrote: »
    Just like there would have been about Bohs or Shels in seasons gone by. Get over it.
    Nope. They dedicate a quarter of the show to the Ireland team and a quarter to showing and talking about Shams. That means theres about 20 minutes about the rest of the league plus the first division. This is why its a shit programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

I have a big gripe with the RTE Sports Dept. anyway but there are enough people on the gravy train to make this programme a lot better.

The matches are on Friday night.

They have 2 1/2 days to get the show together. No excuses for not getting extended highlights on every match. Don't tell me there is a lack of resourses. How many are on salary that could be contributing to the programme? The RTE sports Dept. must the most bloated in Western Europe.

Major kick in the holes needed.

Last night they had the highlights of Derry vs Bray with the caption "Sligo vs Bray at Showgrounds"...No excuses for that....:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Nearly everyone that has a gripe with the programme says its too much talk, not enough action. They havnt seem to have gotten the message. Its typical of RTE sport as well. Even the premier league coverage is mostly talk and a bit of action. Although admittedly they do have to try and compile the package in a few hours. They have to get their heads out of their arse and go back to basics. Its the football that is the main event not themselves. I used to just watch MNS on RTE player and try and get the goals but i dont even bother any more. Plus being a supporter of a Division 1 side, i couldnt be too bothered about the premier division either.

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Nope. They dedicate a quarter of the show to the Ireland team and a quarter to showing and talking about Shams. That means theres about 20 minutes about the rest of the league plus the first division. This is why its a shit programme.

So you're saying that 25 minutes of every show is exclusively dedicated to shamrock rovers?

I can understand that it hurts that you can't even wave your Rovers hoofball card around anymore, but you need to let it go. You'll be on the Bohs MB and fool.ie next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

also a bit of first division action.

Shels have a guy who films all our matches, home and away, in HD, quality is great.

Has been offered to RTE many times, and they've ignored him every time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

Des wrote: »
    Shels have a guy who films all our matches, home and away, in HD, quality is great.

Has been offered to RTE many times, and they've ignored him every time.

Same with us when we were in the first. If Shels get on, why not Cork, then Monaghan, then Longford, then Salthill...

Like it or not, more people tune in to watch the FAI XI build up and to see how Rovers are doing than any other club. That is life, deal with it.

I like the MNS product, and tis far better than we ever had before and the biggest compliment you can give it is that the Gah want it off the air. Barstoolers watch it and some have gone to games off the back of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

That is life, deal with it

I wasn't moaning or giving out, just stating a fact, after a Rovers fan said the 1st Division should feature.

They should definitely show more highlights from both divisions.

At least we have a prime time TV show for the league though and you can hardly blame them for trying to pitch it more at the unconverted by including Ireland stuff or having the premiership pundits on. The EPL heads are used to that kind of football whimsy and you can see why they try it. It's not perfect but I sometimes think some LOI supporters would moan about anything to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

Same with us when we were in the first. If Shels get on, why not Cork, then Monaghan, then Longford, then Salthill...

Like it or not, more people tune in to watch the FAI XI build up and to see how Rovers are doing than any other club. That is life, deal with it.

I like the MNS product, and tis far better than we ever had before and the biggest compliment you can give it is that the Gah want it off the air. Barstoolers watch it and some have gone to games off the back of it.

Most Gaa supporters I know including myself enjoy watching this show and are glad it's on the air. And I know an awful lot of Gaa supporters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Link Please ?

Het-Field wrote: »
    Link Please ?

There was a lot of comment about 6 months ago from the embedded Gah hacks that they didn't have a highlights programme on RTE. Yer man in the Indo was indignant that the lowly LoI had a primetime slot and they didn't.

The Gah demanded that slot from RTE, despite RTE not having the rights to the various other tournaments that they were expected to show and were told to whistle for it.

If the grand wizards of the Gah see MNS as the model they want to copy, thats good enough for me

There was a lot of comment about 6 months ago from the embedded Gah hacks that they didn't have a highlights programme on RTE. Yer man in the Indo was indignant that the lowly LoI had a primetime slot and they didn't.

The Gah demanded that slot from RTE, despite RTE not having the rights to the various other tournaments that they were expected to show and were told to whistle for it.

If the grand wizards of the Gah see MNS as the model they want to copy, thats good enough for me

Who are the "embedded Gah hacks" ? Do the GAA have an official position on this ? Do you have a link to that offical position. When did they demand the slot ?

"Yer man in the Indo" is not the "GAA"

The GAA does have a highlights programme on a Sunday. It is almost Prime Time, and it has a historical context to it. They also enjoy the Lion's Share of the coverage on RTE's Sunday Night sports show during the National League Campaigns.

Links Please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Friday night at 10 even on TG4 with goals from all the PL games 40 minute show, cba about the 1st.

Publicans would also gain from this so it would make sense :pac:

Who are the "embedded Gah hacks" ? Do the GAA have an official position on this ? Do you have a link to that offical position. When did they demand the slot ?

They are the Gah journo's who parrot the party line. The Gah have made repeated statements that they feel that they don't get enough airtime and on occasion have referenced the LoI.

About 6 months ago they had a meeting with RTE in relation to a league highlights programme. Obviously I cannot reference that as I heard it from someone involved in RTE.
    "Yer man in the Indo" is not the "GAA"
    He hasn't had an original thought in his life
    The GAA does have a highlights programme on a Sunday. It is almost Prime Time, and it has a historical context to it. They also enjoy the Lion's Share of the coverage on RTE's Sunday Night sports show during the National League Campaigns.

Sunday is the cup competitions. The Gah sold the league, international hybrid rules and assorted other competitions to TG3, Setanta, TG4 etc. They then had the arrogance to demand RTE show a 12 month generic Gah higlights show. Obviously that couldn't be done.
    Links Please.

To what?

This thread isn't about the Gah, other than a mention in passing that they covet the slot and the type of show. That to me is a backhanded compliment, but a compliement nonetheless.

They are the Gah journo's who parrot the party line. The Gah have made repeated statements that they feel that they don't get enough airtime and on occasion have referenced the LoI.

About 6 months ago they had a meeting with RTE in relation to a league highlights programme. Obviously I cannot reference that as I heard it from someone involved in RTE..

So it is simple hearsay on your part. Without attending the meeting you cannot evidence anything that happened or was said at that meeting.

I can also glean that you are extrapolating frrm intermittent newspaper references to the LOI in the context of alleged GAA complaints of insufficient airtime that the GAA as an organisation doesnt wish to see a programme like MNS.

He hasn't had an original thought in his life..

Says you

Sunday is the cup competitions. The Gah sold the league, international hybrid rules and assorted other competitions to TG3, Setanta, TG4 etc. They then had the arrogance to demand RTE show a 12 month generic Gah higlights show. Obviously that couldn't be done...

When was this demanded ?

To what?

This thread isn't about the Gah, other than a mention in passing that they covet the slot and the type of show. That to me is a backhanded compliment, but a compliement nonetheless.

Youra llegation that the "Gah wanted it off the air".

Hetfield, your pedantry is admirable, but I don't have the time or the inclination to humour it today.

Its not in dispute that the Gah and RTE had a public spat recently over the lack of a highlights programme.

Its not in dispute that this is because the Gah sold the rights to multiple broadcasters to spread their eveil tentacles while expecting RTE to show them all.

Its not in dispute that senior Gah figures and pundits have complained that they percieve rugby and football having a highlights show is 'unfair'.

One Gah pundit went as far as saying they should target the 19.00 to 20.00 prime time slot on RTE 2 and call it Monday Night Football.

Thats all I'm saying on it.

Some of the LoI fans on here need to get somewhat real. MNS is far superior to anything we have had before. Its not perfect, but its better than any other Irish sport has at the moment.

Hetfield, your pedantry is admirable, but I don't have the time or the inclination to humour it today.

Its not in dispute that the Gah and RTE had a public spat recently over the lack of a highlights programme.

Its not in dispute that this is because the Gah sold the rights to multiple broadcasters to spread their eveil tentacles while expecting RTE to show them all.

Its not in dispute that senior Gah figures and pundits have complained that they percieve rugby and football having a highlights show is 'unfair'.
    One Gah pundit went as far as saying they should target the 19.00 to 20.00 prime time slot on RTE 2 and call it Monday Night Football.

Thats all I'm saying on it.

Some of the LoI fans on here need to get somewhat real. MNS is far superior to anything we have had before. Its not perfect, but its better than any other Irish sport has at the moment.

While some of those matters may not be in dispute, you took the words of one journalist, and sought to portray them as the opinions of the GAA community. It is not pedantry, it is simple fact.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Friday night at 10 even on TG4 with goals from all the PL games 40 minute show, cba about the 1st.

7 0 clock is a opain, have to say. Would be ****ed without the Sky+

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

7 0 clock is a opain, have to say. Would be ****ed without the Sky+

The time it's on isn't too bad in fairness. A lot better than the 11:30 at night time that tv3 used to have their show on. At least having it on at 7 is at a time where kids might still be up and can watch and hopefully get sucked in. (Though that might be hard at the moment given they only show a minute or two of highlights from each match)

I can understand that it hurts that you can't even wave your Rovers hoofball card around anymore, but you need to let it go. You'll be on the Bohs MB and fool.ie next.
    Don't recall saying anything about hoofball but I'll let that one go. I'll ignore your rubbish maths while I'm at it.

Why would I ever be on a Bohs site? Think the Bohs obsession is limited to your lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

If Shels get on, why not Cork, then Monaghan, then Longford, then Salthill...

Well because ShelsTV record the matches in HD, do interviews, etc... therefore would cost RTE nothing, I'm not aware of Cork, Monaghan, Longford, Salthill equivalent.