Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you do?

• 23-05-2011 2:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,

I'm nearly 24 right now and working since I left college as a software engineer so I have a fairly steady job for over 2 years now.

I've always wanted to see America and was wondering what you guys would do if in a similiar position:

Move to the states and if I like it, stay there.

Keep the job I have now and stay in Ireland and maybe just visit the states on holidays.

move to the states or stay? 35 votes

get a job in the states and stay there
    0% 0 votes
    keep job over here and stay in ireland
    71% 25 votes
    atari shaguar
    28% 10 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Go for it you might as well see the world while you're young there will always be a job somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Go for as long as you can, you will never ever regret travelling no matter if you come back or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

Ask about a career break, then you could go over for a year,check it out and still have a job to come back to if things didnt work out.

Win/win.

If you cant get a career break,try and line up a job over there and just go.Lifes too short.Much harder to do when you have a mortgage,a wife or sproggs.If youre a single lad(even if youre not :pac:),go for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

Go for it, you're young and if you're single, you've not much holding you here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Big difference between seeing and living. Have you ever spent time there, as in longer than a tourist visit?

If it was me then I would look for a temporary re-location package with the current job (or get a position with a multinational) and see if I liked it. At least then you would have the option of returning or making it more permanent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭Antomus Prime

If you've no kids, mortgage, commitments then you'd be foolish not to go!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭westies4ever

oh my god if i wasnt stuck here (big mortgage, negative equity) i'd be away like a rocket

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Go for it. Thats what I plan on doing when I leave college. Really can't wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

If you have the chance, go for it because you might end up not having it again. You can holiday first but the visa process can be long. You might end up getting a company sponsor you though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Take a career break, travel, come back. We'll keep the seat warm for ya :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Stay here and go on the dole with me :)

We'll hang around the local Centra eyeing the beours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,649 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Go for it, in your line of work, you'll get a job and vast experience in USA and would find it easier to get job here on your return(if you decide to return).
    Keep the Irish accent though!!!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

If you have nothing holding you in Ireland then go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

A secure job is a secure job.

Keep it. America will always be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

thanks for the replies! didnt think it would be such a landslide!

I was looking at california, san francisco area. I'm planning to a trip to cali with the lads next year so if I like it i might feck off over there! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭maupat

My advice is to definitely go for it.

As another poster said you'll never regret travelling. However, you may feel bitter in years to come mulling over all the 'what ifs'. You're still young enough to go to America albeit temporarily or on a permanent basis.

Sounds like the little trip you have planned will give you a taster too.

I travelled to Oz a few years ago and while I did return home broke I've never regretted going there. One of the best decisions I've made in my life(so far!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

GOOOOO!!!! I know so man y people that have done that. Just got work in a bar until they found something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

there is nothing in America you havent already experienced on the box at home or in the cinema, i lived in the states for 18 months and I would never live there, Canada is much nicer go there

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Other option if I was younger, move to an alternative country for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

At your age, no life decision is binding. If you are even entertaining the idea, it means that some part of you finds the idea attractive so why not try it out.

You can come back in days, months or years if you wish.

orourkeda wrote: »
    A secure job is a secure job.

Keep it. America will always be there.

Whats a secure job?:rolleyes:

Bet youre a funeral director,arent ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

Go for it, life is about taking risks! could be the best or worst thing you do but at least you wont be stuck in the same office few years down the line p1ssed off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭westies4ever

i have terrible regrets not following dreams like this - please go!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SadieSue

Go for a holiday and see if you like it... save up and plan a bit. There's no time limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭HUNK

get a states in the job and states and a job in the states and leave your Ireland and your states for a job in the US

HUNK wrote: »
    get a states in the job and states and a job in the states and leave your Ireland and your states for a job in the US

Ye wha?