Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should I take a job working with a$$holes

• 23-05-2011 12:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I had a 2nd interview today with a company and it was like an interrogation. There was 2 people this time, one of whom had interviewed me first time round. First interview had gone well but I was really pushed on a particular point today and they just kept at me. I can't give too much info just in case but all I can say is I did feel quite pushed and I'd only be working with these two so the job became extremely unappealing.

My question is should I not continue with this (I've to send them ref details) or should I leave it? Both of them came across so badly so I've a horrible feeling that it wouldn't be a nice place to work. It's between me and someone else apparently and I think they're welcome to it. I know things are bad now but I'm ok for money for another month or so and I just don't get a good feeling about this and I'd normally be praying that I get the job.

Would it be so irresponsible of me to back out now? It's also crap money by the way and no perks at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

It sounds like you already have your mind made up.
    Getting a new job is supposed to be an exciting thing, but this sounds like it would be a nightmare.
    If you aren't getting good vibes off them in interviews (when most people, even the interviewers are out to impress), then it sounds like it would destroy your soul to work there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi OP,

I had a phone interview today and was interrogated as to why I have been job hopping! Trying to explain I was so young and couldn't find the right career was hard. They made me feel like crap on the phone but I know they are only dong it to see what type of a person I am. You say it's between you and someone else, what they are probably doing is testing you to see how far they can push you til you crack. The worst interview I ever sat was for the guards, it was hell came out more nervous than I went in. Like you on a particular question they kept trying to get me to change what I had said (basically that the company I had worked for previous were a horrible company to work for) I wouldn't give in. I said it made me a better and stronger person.

Anyways I passed that interview, turns out they were seeing how easily persuaded I was. I wouldn't make a rash decision of turning the job down. My advice, if you get the job take it, get some experience up and then start looking for another job. It's easier to find a job while in a job. I was out of work for 7months and I know how hard it is to live on the dole. Only you can make up your mind, but seriously they were probably dong it for your own good and theirs. Good luck

I had a 2nd interview today with a company and it was like an interrogation. There was 2 people this time, one of whom had interviewed me first time round. First interview had gone well but I was really pushed on a particular point today and they just kept at me. I can't give too much info just in case but all I can say is I did feel quite pushed and I'd only be working with these two so the job became extremely unappealing.

My question is should I not continue with this (I've to send them ref details) or should I leave it? Both of them came across so badly so I've a horrible feeling that it wouldn't be a nice place to work. It's between me and someone else apparently and I think they're welcome to it. I know things are bad now but I'm ok for money for another month or so and I just don't get a good feeling about this and I'd normally be praying that I get the job.

Would it be so irresponsible of me to back out now? It's also crap money by the way and no perks at all.

I'm actually starting to wonder if we've applied for the same job OP? lol
    Similar situation but in my case it was obvious there was no communication between departments, even though the interviewer tried to give the impression it was a lovely pally pally work environment, their actions and attitude to the interview made it very clear that it was far from the truth.

I guess it depends on if your fears are just a general anxious "new job" feeling when you've been out of work for a while, or if you really feel there's just a bad vibe about the company in question? Only you can decide that, but i'd be inclined to go with my gut feeling tbh. Having worked in an awful working environment before there's no way in hell i'd take a job like that again. As soul destroying as unemployment can be sometimes, I honestly couldn't put myself in the situation again where the thought of getting up for work in the morning made me feel physically sick.

If you're not receiving dole i suppose you always have the option of taking the job and quitting if you do hate it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

I'd take the job. I've been interviewed once or twice in the past by people who were pretty tough interviewers and did keep after me for certain points. Then when I got the job and had to deal with them as colleagues, they were grand. What have you to lose by taking the job?

I've been in jobs before that I've hated and it literally is soul destroying. Its just awful. I'm not out of work that long so I'm not going crazy just yet. It was totally the people interviewing that put me off and I know people say its easier to get a job when you have a job but what would I say to another potential employer? If I do take this job (if I'm offered it) and then start looking elsewhere, it'll look very odd that I'm only in a new job and looking around already wouldn't it? At least my last job was a contract so thats the reason for leaving that.

I sent my refs to them so I'll see if they get back to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Distorted

If you are unemployed and going to run out of money in a month, then you should take any job offered! (not sure if this is your situation or not). Interviews are often harder than the actual job and you are in a stronger position to find another job once you are in one. Its character building! Sometimes we do jobs which are not our ideal, but what doesn't break you makes you stronger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭I am a friend

Take the job, learn what you can and keep looking for a different job while you are there. Its not the time to be fussy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

My experience of tough, some very tough, interviews is that the people who interviewed you are the keenest to work with you, help you along and see you perform well, after all, their reputation as interviewers depends in part on you.

As one old boss said to me "I hope you're as good as the interview says you will be, 'cos only a fúcking eejit would give an eejit a job" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

Don't listen to people saying 'You can't be picky' or 'You're lucky to be offered a job'. I hate that and it's pure bollox and begrudgery.

I would take the job and assess the situation, if they are cúnts, just leave. I wouldn't just turn it down, in case they are just tough interviewers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Kimia, there are ways and means of getting your point across without resorting to bypassing the swear filter in order to use crass language.

Please take the time to read the [URL=" http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056181484"]forum rules[/URL] in the charter and abide by them.

Many thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

If you turn down a paying job over "working with assholes" you are acting like a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

Sorry! Just read over it there and lots of swearing, don't know what came over me! :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Im going to give you good advice.
    The harder the interviewer ,the better the job ,the better they will be to work for.They are being hard on you to see how far they can push you.
    If you succeed then you will be doing well.
    Dont even think about not taking it .If its that bad find another job then leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭nesbitt

An interview does give you a window to view the potential company and colleagues that you would be working with. You can get a vibe about the place and an impression of the people at the interview.

You can indeed suss out about your potential employer, it a two way window. While they are busy weighing you up well so are you. Your view of them is based on what you saw, heard and how it made you feel.

However, depending on what went on, try and trust your instincts, you are probably not that far off base in my view.

So do you take the job if you are offered it given your reservations gained during the interview process? That will be up to you and your circumstances. Bear in mind that leaving a job very soon after getting it and recording it on your CV could cause you hassle too....

Years ago I was in this very situation, so I took the job but purposely did not give in my official documents for payroll on the first day... I made my excuses and left after two days and never updated my CV...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Lucyx

Naikon wrote: »
    If you turn down a paying job over "working with assholes" you are acting like a child.

That's not true at all. The OP doesn't want to work with unpleasant people in an unpleasant environment and isn't prepared to take sh1t. There's nothing childish about that.

There's a HUGE difference between being unhappy in work and being happy in work. Being unhappy in work can badly effect everything else in your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

An interview environment is an artificial environment for both the interviewee and interviewer.

Interviewees will describe and try to sell themselves in ways they would never do to friends or people they know. They are under pressure to impress so are more likely to be extra sensitive to any body language, line of questioning or vibes that the interviewers give off and can sometimes have misconstrued impressions.

Likewise, because it is such a formal and professional setting, interviewers will act and conduct themselves differently to they would when working with their staff on the floor or part of a team. This may come across as domineering or clinical as they have to generally stick to a certain agenda of questions ie they will pose competency based questions ( ie provide an example of an x situation and how you dealt with it). Part of a good interview is to "stress test" an interviewee to see how competent and capable they are - not to stress them out. Interviews are never reflective of what a work environment is like.

I wouldn't judge what a job would be like on the basis of an interview. Job offers are precious few and far between and if you are lucky enough to be selected by them, that means you impressed them and they sense that you have the ability to do the job. They will not choose you so that they can have a doormat to make life miserable for - if they are your manager, their success is based on your success/happiness in the company - if you and others keep leaving because of them, they will come under fire from their managers.

Getting a job offer is rare - declining such rare offers on the basis of perceived bad impressions that haven't been proven could leave you in the ranks of the long term unemployed very quickly. Give the job a go if you get selected! You always have the option to leave down the line in the off chance it doesn't meet your expectations.

Lucyx wrote: »
    That's not true at all. The OP doesn't want to work with unpleasant people in an unpleasant environment and isn't prepared to take sh1t. There's nothing childish about that.

There's a HUGE difference between being unhappy in work and being happy in work. Being unhappy in work can badly effect everything else in your life.

I don't know what you are smoking, but work isn't supposed to be "pleasant". You "tolerate" work and maybe learn new skills. Personally, if you don't have any sort of skin to put up with assholes, you should not be working in the first place. As long as you are paid, what is the problem? You offer your services in return for compensation.

Being "Happy" in work is simply a modern illusionary tactic used by employers to project an image that you are simply more than just expendable. They may be s small number of jobs that don't fit the above profile, but I bet my left ballsack this job ain't one of em.

I can't even count the number of times I have dealt with assholes in work. Do I let these toerags bother me? No. Learn to twist their words and move on. Given how ****ed the economy is, my assertion still stands: You are an idiot to turn down a paying job over a mostly non existent issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

If you take the job, you'll likely have a few months probation. That should be long enough to figure out if it's a nice place or not, you can quit with like a weeks notice anyway. Plus it's time to look for another job while earning a living, hang onto that months-worth of cash for later.

What do you lose by spending a week in an office with asshats?

You gain a weeks wages :p
    Something for the ol' CV.
    Might make a few new friends.

I don't know what you are smoking....

...You are an idiot to turn down a paying job over a mostly non existent issue.

Please keep replies on topic and helpful to the OP and reply to threads in a civil and well phrased manner.

If you haven't already done so, please take the time to read the [URL=" http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056181484"]forum rules[/URL] in the charter.

Many thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Lucyx

I don't know what you are smoking, but work isn't supposed to be "pleasant". You "tolerate" work and maybe learn new skills. Personally, if you don't have any sort of skin to put up with assholes, you should not be working in the first place. As long as you are paid, what is the problem? You offer your services in return for compensation.

Being "Happy" in work is simply a modern illusionary tactic used by employers to project an image that you are simply more than just expendable. They may be s small number of jobs that don't fit the above profile, but I bet my left ballsack this job ain't one of em.

I can't even count the number of times I have dealt with assholes in work. Do I let these toerags bother me? No. Learn to twist their words and move on. Given how ****ed the economy is, my assertion still stands: You are an idiot to turn down a paying job over a mostly non existent issue.

The issue is not non existant to the op, hence this thread.

'learn to twist their words'.....so co-workers have said unflattering stuff about you :( that must have been tough.

You seem to have bigger problems than whats going on here, so we'll leave you to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Distorted

Well yes. I don't think its realistic to assume that you should have as nice a time at work as you do down the pubs with your mates. Do many people not have other things they would rather be doing or people they would rather be spending time with than at their work? I don't think its very realistic, and its part of being an adult, learning to deal with different people and toughening up and coping with situations outwith your comfort zone. But to give up at the interview stage, when jobs are scarce, seems rather precious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Reesy

OP, I've been in the situation where I thought the interviewer was a most unpleasant person. Bear in mind that I was working at the time. I let the interview process run its course, and got selected as the final candidate. At this point I took my chance to ask my potential line manager a few questions to test him out. I decided on the basis of this that I'd prefer not work for him in the process I put him off too, which was fine by me!). If I'd been unemployed I'd probably have played more nice & compliant, taken the job & tried to live with it.

I've also been an interviewer who gave one particularly interesting candidate a hard time - not rude, but insistent because I wanted to be sure she could handle herself in the role. After this, when I offered her the job she wasn't sure about me so she asked to meet me for a chat. We had lunch, she took the job and we were both v. happy with her choice. We're still friends.

I recommend you continue with the process, if you can. If you get to the stage where you have to make a choice, try to get more information before walking away.

Good luck.

'learn to twist their words'.....so co-workers have said unflattering stuff about you :( that must have been tough.

You seem to have bigger problems than whats going on here, so we'll leave you to it.

Tell that to the kid in sub saharan Africa. This is a chance to make money where most don't even have the chance. Fact is, your expected ideal "conditions" for a workplace will never really be met because people are not designed to operate in a predictable manner. Tis common sense.

You will have to put up with people you don't like. Such is life. My primary tactic is to blatantly ignore people you don't like. They mess with you, make it known you aren't a doormat. Within legal bounds, of course.

Speculation is unproven. Learn to ignore what speculative idiots think of you. It's pretty liberating to treat peoples opinions as just that, mere opinions. If you are good at what you do, you don't need an excuse to interact with these work "partners". Work is something you do to earn a wage for the most part.

Try insulting people at face value once in a while. The bonus is they tend to avoid confrontation the next time. It can be fun too. OP walks away from this job = they win. Challenge these idiots, or at least minimize your interaction with them.

Ok Doctor "Lucyx". I understand I do not corform to your warped idealistic expectations of the typical human being. I liked the part where you state I have a problem because I come across as a bit "harsh". I just can't deal with stupidity.

It's my personality, it's not indicative of any real problem. I guess by medical standards I suffer from "inability to put up with idiocy" disorder. A problem only exists where it actually impedes your overall physical/mental functioning.

People who know me don't have a problem if we mutually agree to be reasonable. I tend to scorn the majority of society however. Worrying over non issues is a slap in the face to people who are dealing with real problems.

Naikon infracted for ignoring moderator instruction to keep it civil, helpful and on-topic.

If you have no constructive advice to offer the OP then kindly refrain from posting and be aware that posting just to throw petty insults and argue with other posters are viewed as off-topic and unhelpful.

If you have an issue with a post or poster, please use the report function rather than dragging the thread off-topic.

Please read the [URL=" http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056181484"]forum rules[/URL] in the charter and abide by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭qwerty13

... My question is should I not continue with this (I've to send them ref details) or should I leave it? ... I know things are bad now but I'm ok for money for another month or so and I just don't get a good feeling about this and I'd normally be praying that I get the job. Would it be so irresponsible of me to back out now? It's also crap money by the way and no perks at all.

Two different answers:
    1) if you have a sh*tload of experience and/or loads of contacts, then probably you are ok to drop them. However, you never know who you will meet in which company again, so be careful how you do it. Names come up all too regularly in off the record conversations. And I don't mean social/pub conversations; I mean work related ones.
    2) if you don't have a sh*tload of experience and/or loads of contacts, then you are being quite naive, IMO, to think that you will be ok on 1 month's salary before you get another job. There's loads of candidates with a decent body of experience behind them who cannot get jobs. And if you brush off a potential job offer at a fairly late stage, you will be talked about in that company - and it will get back to people in competitor companies through off the record chats (unless you are very junior)

I think you should go for it for a year. Anything less looks silly on your CV - and I'd give it at least a 33% chance of getting back to the next person that interviews you, if you leave it off your CV, unless you change industry. I don't know your age or level; but at the moment I'm thinking that you are being a bit precious; especially given the way things are at the moment.

Fair enough if my read of your situation is wrong ... but if it were me, I'd take the job and learn as much as I could for a year, and then try the jobs market again if I really didn't like it. At the very least you will have extra contacts who you have hopefully impressed with your hard work over the course of a year ... instead of people who will never know your skills, but will have written you off with many question marks, refusing a job offer with no obviously concrete reason.

Good luck with your decision.

PS: Working for an employer that clearly values staff, and working with decent people in a learning environment is fantastic; especially given at it occupies a rather large proportion of 5 days of your week. But I think we all have to acknowledge the reality that it is absolutely and utterly an employer's market at the moment - and is likely to be for years to come. I don't think anyone with out a fair chunk of financial backing behind them can afford to be too choosy about working for "nice" employers right now. Small country/small town ... and very little opportunities out there.

PPS: Just wanted to add a note to say that you will never have the chance to correct the impression that an 'off the record' chat has created with the next company you interview for, because the person who has interviewed you can of course never refer to it! So think carefully about what impression you wish to leave with the present company you are interview for. I've been working in the same industry for years, and would often get asked "have you ever heard of x person" if the company they were in is one that I've been in, if a friend/close colleague were interviewing them. I've even been asked it by people 2 levels above me. So just be careful how you deal with this situation - my view is that it is unlikely that it will be viewed in isolation in your future career, unless you are very junior - and if you are indeed quite junior, then I think it would be more than a little naive to refuse the job.

Way to early to judge them. Take the job, do it for a week or two, if you don't like it, tell them its not working out. That way the other person will probably be still available for the job.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 506 ✭✭✭common sense brigade

Something similar happened to me before. I had a brilliant first interview for a compnay in South Dublin. Progresses to second interview which was with the lady who i would be working with. She interroagted me but i held my own. she came across so rude and downright frightening. She asked me towards the end what my notice period was in my present positon. Whish was 1 month. I am strict on adhering to that as it is best practice in business and will ensure a decent reference. anyway she railroaded me saying she neede me in 2 weeks if i got the job. i said no and interview ended. next day i got call from HR saying they really wanted me and would i take it. I said yes but i needed 1 mths notice. they said fine , contract would be in post. Low and behold that evening the crazy woman who had interoggated me rang and put immense pressure on me on the phone to give 2 weeks notice. needless to say i told her to keep her job.
    Go with your gut if you dont like the people then its unlikely to be an enjoyable work environment.