Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How cool

• 23-05-2011 11:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭

How very awesome. I just had 900,000 people listening to my voice in New Hampshire in America. I listen to an American radio show and they were talking about Obama in Ireland. I sent the presenter a FB comment saying that I live in Dublin and that Dublin was all excited about him coming over and he's doing a speech around the corner from where I live etc...... So he sent a message back asking for my number so he could call me.... and he did and I was chatting to them for a few minutes about it. Great craic altogether. (none of the dumb yankee doodle dandees could understand my accent.... thicks!!!)

900,000 (1 million I think) people listening to me. How fabulous! Put me in a right good mood for the day :)

Now I need to calm down my nerves and vomit!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

Fair play.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Can I have your virtual autograph?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Hello Fran...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

good man, i'm sure you did us proud!

any link to their website for possible podcast of your performance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

62%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    62%

more listeners than Joe "tubbs" Duffy ever had listening to him.

In yo fat face Jooooooooooeeee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

You havnt made it unless you've talked to Joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Fago! wrote: »
    How very awesome. I just had 900,000 people listening to my voice in New Hampshire in America. I listen to an American radio show and they were talking about Obama in Ireland. I sent the presenter a FB comment saying that I live in Dublin and that Dublin was all excited about him coming over and he's doing a speech around the corner from where I live etc...... So he sent a message back asking for my number so he could call me.... and he did and I was chatting to them for a few minutes about it. Great craic altogether. (none of the dumb yankee doodle dandees could understand my accent.... thicks!!!)

900,000 (1 million I think) people listing to me. How fabulous! Put me in a right good mood for the day :)

can we hear it? have a nice cup of tea to settle the nerves. :)

well done you, flying the flag for Ireland.

hondasam wrote: »
    can we hear it? have a nice cup of tea to settle the nerves. :)

well done you, flying the flag for Ireland.

Thanks Sam. waaaaaaay ahead of ya. Tae beside me and cigarette in hand. I'm calming down now. I was brickin it nervous. He said he's gonna call me from time to time to "check up on Ireland".
    good man, i'm sure you did us proud!

any link to their website for possible podcast of your performance?

There's no listen back feature but if they podcast it in the next day or two, I'll post it or pm it or whatever. :)
    Pauleta wrote: »
    You havnt made it unless you've talked to Joe.

just.. no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Nice wan.

I was in the New York Paddy's Day parade a few years back. Performing in front of 2 million people who were on the streets :eek:

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Nice wan.

I was in the New York Paddy's Day parade a few years back. Performing in front of 2 million people who were on the streets :eek:

You win :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Nice wan.

Streaking isn't 'performing'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Thanks Sam. waaaaaaay ahead of ya. Tae beside me and cigarette in hand. I'm calming down now. I was brickin it nervous. He said he's gonna call me from time to time to "check up on Ireland".

Don't forget us when you become famous :D

hondasam wrote: »
    Don't forget us when you become famous :D

I shant,............ peasant :pac: :p
    Nice wan.

Out of interest, what were you doing in the parade?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

900,000 (1 million I think) people listing to me. How fabulous! Put me in a right good mood for the day :)

Too good for today fm?

Out of interest, what were you doing in the parade?

Streaking :(

Actually, I was in brass band back then. Only joined it so I could go to New York for free.

Paddy's Day over there is crazy, cops were handing out Irish coffee to us and I did the parade half cut :D

Too good for today fm?

Far too good! :pac:
    Streaking :(

Actually, I was in brass band back then. Only joined it so I could go to New York for free.

Paddy's Day over there is crazy, cops were handing out Irish coffee to us and I did the parade half cut :D

Ah that's cool. Free trip, free booze, God bless America.

Plus when we finished the parade and turned into a street there was a derelict building with these pieces of paper stuck all over it. I go over and read them and they all said that the building was reserved for a filming of Law & Order SVU for the following day.

Naturally, I took one of them :D

What radio station was it that contacted you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

900,000 listening but how many could understand you? O_O

Plus when we finished the parade and turned into a street there was a derelict building with these pieces of paper stuck all over it. I go over and read them and they all said that the building was reserved for a filming of Law & Order SVU for the following day.

Naturally, I took one of them :D

What radio station was it that contacted you?

ya should have hid in the building and tried to get into an episode of Law and Order. Or did you already do that? :pac:

oh some station in Keene, New Hampshire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

How very awesome.

It's OK. You're not talking to the Yanks now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

900,000 (1 million I think) people listening to me. How fabulous! Put me in a right good mood for the day :)

Well done Fago! Did you happen to mention boards.ie while you were on the radio show?
    You could have gotten a fair bit of free publicity for the site...

Also, now that you are a big yank celebrity, will you have stalkers rooting through your rubbish bin looking for stuff that they can sell to the British tabloids?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Fago, we can all say we knew ye when...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 FlowersByRay

wow

Kojak wrote: »
    Well done Fago! Did you happen to mention boards.ie while you were on the radio show?
    You could have gotten a fair bit of free publicity for the site...

Also, now that you are a big yank celebrity, will you have stalkers rooting through your rubbish bin looking for stuff that they can sell to the British tabloids?

Ye'know I was gonna mention that "a site called boards were all talking about it an the queen's visit, some complaining, some enjoying it" but they wouldn't know boards and they'd slag me for being on an internet forum. very quick these guys.
    Fago, we can all say we knew ye when...

Sure buzz upto JayZ's gaff with me on Friday. He's having a party for his close friends and celebs. I'll get ya on the guestlist with my new found powers.
    I'm workin on the door at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Well done Fago! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Theres always the possibility that 900,000 yanks thought you sounded like an ass you know.
    (just saying)

Pros and cons lad, pros and cons!

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Well done Fago! :)

danke MCXMXMXMXCMLXLXLXLXXXV :)
    Ghandee wrote: »
    Theres always the possibility that 900,000 yanks thought you sounded like an ass you know.
    (just saying)

Pros and cons lad, pros and cons!

Ah here now enough of that nonsense.... of course they thought I was an ass. But I care not a jott. Sure if the people on the show couldn't understand me, chances are the people listening on their way to work couldn't understand me and thought i was some Irish paddy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Pity the radio station wasn't in Fargo, Fago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

What did you say?

smokedeels wrote: »
    What did you say?

Just stuff about where he's doing his speech, that there's a free gig and who's playing at it and that lots of bus services are down and that 50000 people are gonna attend his thing at Trinity today. They're American so they were just interested to have someone Irish on the phone. After I got off the phone I turned back on the radio and heard one of them saying "I couldn't understand a word that guy was saying" haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 username_eh?

why is it that we can understand them perfectly whereas they cant understand a word from us? our accents cant be that bad :confused: era you still did us proud :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

That's brill:D Well done!!