Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One paper willing to break the injunction.. well sort of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Why doesn't she just go round wearing jersey of the team the guy plays with and his name and number on the back! Sure she can't get done for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Go on the Herald.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

F***in' madness that this s***e would make the front page of any paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Deja Vu :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I really couldn't give a **** what footballers or any other celebrities does in their private lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭rockmongrel

Can I ask if Irish Papers can name the player? If not, why not? I've no interest in football or celebrities, just how the law actually works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

It's disgraceful what is going on at that club.

A Barcelona victory at the weekend will not only be a victory for football, but a victory for family values also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Yakult wrote: »
    I really couldn't give a **** what footballers or any other celebrities does in their private lives.
    I know. Who honestly gives a ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭dots104

I don't really care myself just thought it was funny how much trouble he went to block it from becoming public knowledge and it took twitter to break the "story"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

This thread needs a poll to see how much we all actually give a flying feck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

The Simpsons already did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Yakult wrote: »
    Yea. Why do papers think we care about this ****. It's ****ing boring.
    I had to stop buying papers because they're just full of absolute ****.

Giggsy has made a bigger deal out of this then if he had have just let yer one go to the paper.

Giggsy kills super injunctions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Bodhisopha wrote: »

A Barcelona victory at the weekend will not only be a victory for football, but a victory for family values also.

Uggh... I think I just vomited in my mouth a little.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

m@cc@ wrote: »
    F***in' madness that this s***e would make the front page of any paper.

It might not have as much if the silly boy didn't mess it all up by doing something more stupid than the first time.

This is you yeah?

http://13.media.tumblr.com/RaAhBBk4Tjkl01c4M5sZhRioo1_500.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Dub12Dave

Why are people pussyfooting around and not naming him?

Fair play to you Wolfe Tone you are the first person that I have seen that has actually named him (well sort of).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Lol. Are you for real?

Dub12Dave wrote: »

Fair play to you Wolfe Tone you are the first person that I have seen that has actually named him (well sort of).
    Well the paper has so we can all blame the herald now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

If the injunction is only law in England, how come no Irish papers have named the popular winger yet?

Dub12Dave wrote: »

I've been naming him for weeks and just posted about TSE (who is after jouro' Giles Coren) too - like thats a secret too LOL

CNNconsumernews have been naming Giggs too: http://img714.imageshack.us/img714/6089/20110522173102.jpg amid many other sites now.

Lol. Are you for real?

As real as penitentiary steel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Care to elaborate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,606 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

keano_afc wrote: »
    If the injunction is only law in England, how come no Irish papers have named the popular winger yet?

Fairly sure the injunction is actually the UK, not just England*. And all the Irish papers are sold up in Northern Ireland.

* Actually the judge phrased it as worldwide.

Also it's generally a good idea that if a judge in a powerful country (America, UK in particular) gives you an order that you obey it. Who wants to get into the difficulties of arguing jurisdiction etc. You might win but you end up burning time and money.
    Even for a small time website or newspaper theres a tiny risk that you'll be the one that the system tries to make an example of.

Just as regards Twitter:
    Twitter hasn’t commented on the lawsuit, but as an American company, it’s probably protected from the legal action. Here in the U.S., we have a law (Section 230 of the Communications Decency Act) that protects sites from liability from things said by their users.
    http://blogs.forbes.com/kashmirhill/2011/05/20/he-who-cannot-be-named-in-the-uk-sues-twitter-over-a-user-naming-him/

A CNN site and Forbes can openly name him besides many others.
    * http://gawker.com/5804037/soccer-player-takes-on-all-of-twitter-over-affair-rumor
    * http://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/news/2011/05/twitter-asked-to-stop-users-from-gossiping-then-gets-sued.ars?&utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=social-media&utm_campaign=addtoany
    * http://order-order.com/
    * http://www.caughtoffside.com/2011/04/14/revealed-premier-league-star-who-cheated-with-big-brother-star-imogen-thomas/
    ...To name a few.

Even his name was announced on BBC Radio 4 (http://img580.imageshack.us/img580/5476/capturegq.jpg)

m@cc@ wrote: »
    Care to elaborate?

No way. We all saw what happened to that poor Imogen Thomas when she cared to elaborate. No thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Only a Premiership player would be stupid enough to think he could stop the INTERNET.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Can ye all not get this , -

There is an important football match coming up next weekend and this guy will be playing .

This story must be put on hold , until after that match - I bet his club are really behind the gagging .

Then the player can retire into oblivion , and be front pages news for a change .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

No way. We all saw what happened to that poor Imogen Thomas when she cared to elaborate. No thanks.

Yeah that poor girl that was riding someone else's husband. The poor little sweetheart. There are a pair of them in it. It takes two to tango fukk on the sly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

strobe wrote: »
    Yeah that poor girl that was riding someone else's husband. The poor little sweetheart. There are a pair of them in it. It takes two to tango fukk on the sly.

...and a nice pair they are too, it has to be said.

strobe wrote: »

It takes two to tango but only one of them was hung out to dry. Where is the justice in that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

Its going on at every club. These men are paid millions a year and women just throw themselves at them.

It takes two to tango but only one of them was hung out to dry. Where is the justice in that?
    Well for his possible tainting of her (supposedly he said she was blackmailing him), she is now saying she going to try clearing her name in court: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-1389599/Imogen-Thomas-threatens-sue-footballer-blackmail-claims.html

She is just as guilt in their illicit actions - but she can't even stand up for herself because he wants to keep his image reportedly for fear of losing advertising deals and sponsorship deals for products.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Thats certainly knocked him off hes f***ing perch!

Lol at the years of bull we have had to put up with about the supposed good guy of football, the model family man my left b***x.

Can we now cancel the knighthood!

Biggins wrote: »
    Well for his possible tainting of her (supposedly he said she was blackmailing him), she is now saying she going to try clearing her name in court: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-1389599/Imogen-Thomas-threatens-sue-footballer-blackmail-claims.html

She is just as guilt in their illicit actions - but she can't even stand up for herself because he wants to keep his image reportedly for fear of losing advertising deals and sponsorship deals for products.

She is not without guilt but no way is she just as guilty as him. His marriage and family is much less her responsibility than his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

Thats certainly knocked him off hes f***ing perch!

Lol at the years of bull we have had to put up with about the supposed good guy of football, the model family man my left b***x.

Can we now cancel the knighthood!
    ^^Bitter man.

There's always Paul Scholes left.

She is not without guilt but no way is she just as guilty as him. His marriage and family is much less her responsibility than his.

Its a good point to consider alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Dean820 wrote: »
    ^^Bitter man.

There's always Paul Scholes left.

If one admires thugs...he fits the bill.

If the images match up to the names, supposedly Boy George and Piers Morgan (http://twitter.com/#!/welsh_gas_doc) Giggs is trying to shut them up too.
    Not that the Daily Mail make it un-obvious in their own pictures!: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1389689/Super-injunction-footballer-alleged-affair-Imogen-Thomas-revealed-newspaper.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Biggins wrote: »
    dailymail wrote:
    Revealed: In a Mail on Sunday poll 80 out of 35 people asked at random could name the player

Impressive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Darragh