Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RDF

• 22-05-2011 4:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭

Hi all i have a few questions about THE RDF........ if your able to help me with these it would be much appreciated.....
    -did the RDF used to go by the name FCA???
    -if so is there any differences to the RDF now???
    -if i wanted to join the RDF is it possible to join this summer for 2 or 3 weeks or are you assigned to the RDF for fixed period of time???
    (Can you join for a few weeks during summer???)
    -if i was to join how do i apply??? (western brigade)
    -And finally in the FCA few years back i was told that people signed up for 2 weeks.... can this still be done with RDF today????

lot of questions i know but i really would like to join for 2 weeks over the summer and to be honest i havent a clue how to join.... ive wanted a career in this since i was young lad and now that i can get a taste of it and that im over the age of 17 id love to give it a go.... so if ye can help it would be great thanks lads... :)
    Anto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭shanec1928

Anto... wrote: »
    Hi all i have a few questions about THE RDF........ if your able to help me with these it would be much appreciated.....
    -did the RDF used to go by the name FCA??? yes
    -if so is there any differences to the RDF now??? no
    -if i wanted to join the RDF is it possible to join this summer for 2 or 3 weeks or are you assigned to the RDF for fixed period of time??? cant just join for 2 weeks
    -if i was to join how do i apply??? (western brigade)contact your local unit.
    -And finally in the FCA few years back i was told that people signed up for 2 weeks.... can this still be done with RDF today???? no

lot of questions i know but i really would like to join for 2 weeks over the summer and to be honest i havent a clue how to join.... ive wanted a career in this since i was young lad and now that i can get a taste of it and that im over the age of 17 id love to give it a go.... so if ye can help it would be great thanks lads... :)
    Anto
    look at the other threads here. i sent my clearance in at the end of october and its only back now. im on the waiting list for a place which im at the top for. the west is to get some recruits under 15 i believe so you will be waiting a fair bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Anto...

whats the story so if you sign up and you get enrolled???? how long are you in the reserve for as im still in school nxet year??? this is only going to be for the summer and after school ill get into it right...... i just want to get a taste of what its like for few weeks....... any recommendations??? thanks forza

you have to get garda clearance which takes months, it wouldn't be done by the end of the summer. then your on a waiting list till a place is available. as long as you stay active within your unit. have you even checked military.ie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

-did the RDF used to go by the name FCA???
    -if so is there any differences to the RDF now???
    -if i wanted to join the RDF is it possible to join this summer for 2 or 3 weeks or are you assigned to the RDF for fixed period of time???
    -if i was to join how do i apply??? (western brigade)
    -And finally in the FCA few years back i was told that people signed up for 2 weeks.... can this still be done with RDF today????

Anto

- The RDF is the reorganised and renamed FCA.

- Sorry but joining for two weeks this summer is not going to happen, you'll likely be back at school before they take on any more recruits. And as for just a couple of weeks, the signing up process alone will take longer than that, much longer. For the most part it's just a two hour parade once a week, so you won't see or learn much in a couple of weeks.

As forza rovers said, have a look at the other recent thread about RDF recruitment here, you'll find plenty of info there.

- Sorry but joining for two weeks this summer is not going to happen, you'll likely be back at school before they take on any more recruits. And as for just a couple of weeks, the signing up process alone will take longer than that, much longer. For the most part it's just a two hour parade once a week, so you won't see or learn much in a couple of weeks.

As forza rovers said, have a look at the other recent thread about RDF recruitment here, you'll find plenty of info there.
    Thanks for that topper so basically there wouldnt be much point in joining untill im finished school???

being in school or not makes no difference

If it's something you're really interested in, there's no reason not to begin the process now. It won't take up much of your time and they'll understand if you can't make it to every parade in the lead up to and during your exams, just be sure to tell them in advance.

ok thanks for the info lads and yes forza ive checked miitary.ie.....
    so if i was to apply within the next month or so when do you think i would be signed up?? and if i was signed up lets say end of August (when im back in school in sept) would i be taking many days off from school.... I need to no that if im going to apply for this....
    Thanks a mill for the advice lads
    Anto..

so if i was to apply within the next month or so when do you think i would be signed up?? and if i was signed up lets say end of August (when im back in school in sept) would i be taking many days off from school.... I need to no that if im going to apply for this....
    Anto..

It depends on the unit you go to but in all liklihood it'll be September at the earliest before you'd be signed up, maybe later.

And you won't miss school. It would be one evening a week. And if it ever clashed with school, for the year that's in it, school comes first.

Anto..
    end of september by the time your forms are cleared then, waiting until theres a place available, its on in the evening so it wont clash with school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Brutus.

Cant sign up for two weeks anymore i believe, ive joined this year with 1st southern brigade and ive signed a contract for three years no alternative.

Apply to your local unit, find it on military.ie.. as far as i know my captain said they arent recruiting anymore because there were 12 of us tried joining up and only 6 of us remain and will be going to the camp during the summer, but once they are recruiting again they paperwork shud go right through.

and if you look around military.ie you will see what has changed in the FCA becoming the RDF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

Brutus. wrote: »
    Cant sign up for two weeks anymore i believe, ive joined this year with 1st southern brigade and ive signed a contract for three years no alternative.

Apply to your local unit, find it on military.ie.. as far as i know my captain said they arent recruiting anymore because there were 12 of us tried joining up and only 6 of us remain and will be going to the camp during the summer, but once they are recruiting again they paperwork shud go right through.

and if you look around military.ie you will see what has changed in the FCA becoming the RDF.

You were never able to sign up for two weeks. It's always been a multi-year contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭ruserious

Partly.
    The RDF also includes the Naval Service Reserve (formally An Slua Muirí).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

ruserious wrote: »
    Partly.
    The RDF also includes the Naval Service Reserve (formally An Slua Muirí).

They are two seperate entities afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,480 ✭✭✭davetherave

The Reserve Defence Forces comprises of the 1st line reserve (exer's) and 2nd line reserve (Army Reserve and the Naval Service Reserve).
    Much the same way that the PDF is made up of Army, AC and NS
    Then RDF & PDF make up DF as a whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭ruserious

They are two seperate entities afaik

Nope! The RDF comprises the Army Reserve and Naval Service Reserve. That is a fact.

has anyone previously being to any of the training camps? its in mullingar. it will be my first time going whats to be expected? other than weapons training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Barrt2

has anyone previously being to any of the training camps? its in mullingar. it will be my first time going whats to be expected? other than weapons training.

that is privileged information on a public forum i think:L ask one of your NCO's or other people in your unit about it. dont post it here though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

Barrt2 wrote: »
    that is privileged information on a public forum i think:L ask one of your NCO's or other people in your unit about it. dont post it here though

No, it's not. The 62nd have a decent run down on their site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Barrt2

fair enough :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Terrible food, cold showers and a big square to run around!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

glen fever

even when not actually in "the glen"

ah, and bring vaseline...

to fight off the wolf.