Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Agri Contracting

• 21-05-2011 4:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7

I'm just starting out as an agri contractor and have a hedgecutter & 10ft mower myself and have access to a baler and slurry tank if needed. I'm still doing a lot of canvassing for work and this is why I'm turning to ye. I usually call to farms and try to meet the farmer in the yard but not always easy to catch someone. Not sure if this is the best way to approach people or let people know about what I'm doing. Have ye any suggestions on 1. the best way to let farmers know I exist! (door to door, marts, signs???) & 2. what I can do to convince farmers to give me their business.

I just want to say I'm not trying to drum up business on here, just looking for general advise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Grecco

Its a tough slow job building up customers; the best advertisement is from a customer who you do a good job for. Keep your appointments, phone them if your delayed and be fair with your pricing and you wouldn't go far wrong.

Definitely put up a few posters in the local shops, and use word and mouth

best of luck

Bye the way where abouts r u based

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 NH8360

Thanks for the response. I'm based in Meath. Ya have got some jobs through word of mouth alright.
    Rome wasn't built in a day I suppose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭stanflt

NH8360 wrote: »
    Thanks for the response. I'm based in Meath. Ya have got some jobs through word of mouth alright.

what part of meath-north south east west?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

If you can get a baler you could pick up work at straw etc.. a plough might help if lads were a bit stuck for extra help small things all add up.. if you're in a tillage area you'll pick up some work mayb using lads machines and your tractor to help out at planting spuds/harvesting.. Take it you've a 8360?, she'd be a good bus and will be able for most work you can get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

I've seen lads advertizing in the classifides of the local paper so you might want to try that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 NH8360

Thanks all. I'm based Kells/Navan/Trim area. Have tried classifieds but no huge response so far. Maybe donedeal might be worth a try?
    Another question..I have the supplement from the Farmers Journal a couple months ago that had contracting rates in it. How realistic are those figures? Some seemed high to me like baling/wrapping at up to €7.50 a bale without mowing? Not sure how many farmers willing to pay that price!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Agri contractor

word of mouth is the best advertising. We tried paper advertising years ago and it was a waste of money. Keep your business as local as you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭rliston

Another question..I have the supplement from the Farmers Journal a couple months ago that had contracting rates in it. How realistic are those figures? Some seemed high to me like baling/wrapping at up to €7.50 a bale without mowing? Not sure how many farmers willing to pay that price!

Those figures are handy for a guideline. The most important thing is to work out your exact running costs and then add in a wage for yourself. Too many fellas are charging the same as everyone else around and not thinking about their own actual running costs.

Around here its pretty hard to find someone that charges anything other than €5/bale for baling silage; how have they all the exact same running costs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭VNP

Theres baling contractors arguing amongst themselves round where i am cutting each others throat for buissness bad mouthing each other self promotions a skill :). Try getting clients that ll pay you and not working for the good of it, you might never get paid by some feckers if you take on a lot of work not worth the bad debts.